Employer Notification to Employees of the Availability of
Unemployment Compensation

Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefits are available to workers who are
unemployed and who meet the requirements of state Ul eligibility laws. You may
file a Ul claim in the first week that employment stops or work hours are reduced.

For assistance or more information about filing a Ul claim,
call 1-844-224-5818 or visit www.jobs4tn.gov.

You will need to provide the state Ul agency with the following information in order
for the state to process your claim:

1. Your full legal name;
2. Your Social Security Number; and
3. Your authorization to work (if you are not a US Citizen or

resident. To file a Ul claim by phone call: (844) 224-5818

To file a Ul claim online, visit: www.jobs4tn.gov

If you have questions about the status of your Ul claim, you can call the state Ul
agency at 1-844-224-5818 or email lwd.support@tn.gov.
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STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF LABORAND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT SECURITY

SEPARATION NOTICE

1. Employee's Name: 2. SSN:
First Middle Initial Last

3. Last Employed: From: to Occupation:
(mm7/dd/yyyy) (mm/dd/yyyy)

4. Where was work performed?

5. Reason for Separation: ,:l Lack of Work D Discharge ,:l Quit
If lack of work, indicate if layoff is: EI Permanent ':I Temporary - Recall Date
(mm/dd/yyyy)
If temporary, report any vacation pay that will be paid. Week Ending Date Amount $
(mm/dd/yyyy)
If layoff is indefinite vacation pay should not be reported.
6. Employee received: ,:l Wages in Lieu of Notice D Severance Pay
In the amount of $ for period from to
(mm/dd/yyyy) (mm/dd/yyyy)
If other than lack of work, explain the circumstances of this separation:
Employer's Name:
Address where additional information may be obtained: Employer's Telephone Number:

Employer's Email Address:

. ) Number shown on State Quarterly Wage Report (LB-0851) and
Employer's Account Number: Premium Report (LB-0456)

| certify that the above worker has been separated from work and the information furnished hereon is true and correct.
This report has been handed to or mailed to the worker.

Signature of Official or Representative of the Employer Title of Person Signing Date Completed

who has first-hand knowledge of the separation and Released to
Employee

(mm/dd/yyyy)

NOTICE TO EMPLOYER
Within 24 hours of the time of seﬁaration, you are required by Rule 0800-09-01-.02 of the Tennessee Employment Security
Law to provide the employee with this document, properly executed, giving the reasons for separation. If you subsequently
receive a time sensitive request for separation information for the same information please give complete information in

your response.
NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE

YOU MAY BE INSTRUCTED TO MAIL OR FAX THE SEPARATION NOTICE TO TENNESSEE CLAIMS OPERATIONS IF YOU

FILE A CLAIM FOR UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS.
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STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF LABORAND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT SECURITY

INSTRUCTIONS
SEPARATION NOTICE

Rule 0800-09-01-.02 of the Rules and Regulations of the Tennessee Employment Security Law, requires all
employers to furnish each separated employee with a Separation Notice, LB-0489, within 24 hours of the
employee's separation from employment.

Separation Notices do not have to be given to any employee who has been in your employ for less than a week
or who will be recalled within seven days.

Separation Notices reduce the administrative costs of processing an unemployment insurance claim and helps
make a more accurate determination of the claimant's eligibility for benefits.

Please complete the Separation Notice in its entirety.

Item5

Check the appropriate block as to the reason the worker is separated. If the separation was for any reason
other than lack of work, give a clear explanation for the separation in the box provided. Please indicate
whether the separation is permanent or temporary, and, if temporary, when you expect to recall the worker.

Item 6

Wages in lieu of notice and severance pay affect Ul

The Unemployment Insurance Accountability Act of 2012 denies unemployment insurance benefits to any
claimant who is receiving or has received wages in lieu of notice equivalent to the wages he could have
earned in that week had he been permitted to work during the period of notice. Wages in lieu of notice are
wages paid under circumstances in which the employer did not give an advance notice of separation to the
employee and are paid irrespective of the length of service of the employee.

Ul benefits will also be denied to any claimant for any week in which he received a severance package that
includes an equivalent amount of salary the employee would have received if he were working during that
week.

Both the wages in lieu of notice and the severance provisions will not apply to claimants whose separating
employer filed notice of a reduction in operations, in accordance with Tennessee Employment Security law,
priortoJuly 1,2012.

To obtain Separation Notice forms, please:

B Make copies of the form, or

B Visit our website tn.gov/workforce
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