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	Tennessee Department of Human Services

Families First Administrative Disqualification Waiver


	     
	  /  /    

	Name
	Date Mailed to Member

	     
	     

	Apartment Number
	Case Number

	     
	     
	     
	     

	Street Address
	City
	State
	ZIP


We believe you committed an Intentional Program Violation as defined in 45 CFR 235.110 and the Rules of the Department of Human Services Chapter 1240-1-22-.01 by:

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Intentionally making a false or misleading statement,

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Intentionally misrepresenting, concealing or withholding facts.
Summary of violation and evidence:

	The specific alleged violation(s) is:      


	The following evidence supports this allegation:      


An Intentional Program Violation will result in your disqualification from the Families First program. You have the right to an Administrative Disqualification Hearing prior to any action taken by the State of Tennessee to disqualify you from receiving Families First benefits. You will receive at least a 30 day notice of the hearing from the Division of Appeals and Hearings.  Upon receipt of the notice, you will have 10 days from the date of the hearing to provide good cause for failure to appear in order to receive a new hearing. If you do not show up for your hearing, the Hearing Official’s decision will be based solely on information provided by the Department of Human Services.  If you wish to have a hearing rather than signing this form you would have the right to:
· Look at the evidence that will be used at the hearing both before and during the hearing and receive a free copy of relevant portions of your case file upon your request.
· Present your own case or have someone present your case for you such as a lawyer, a friend, a relative or a community worker. If you want a lawyer and cannot pay for one, you can ask for free legal help at the closest Tennessee Legal Services Program or Legal Aid Office.  The can be reached at one of the phone numbers below:  
	Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee and the Cumberlands
	(800)238-1443

	Legal Aid of East Tennessee
	(865)637-0484

	West Tennessee Legal Services
	(731)423-0616

	Memphis Area Legal Services, Inc. 
	(901)523-8822


· Bring your own witnesses.

· Argue your case freely. 

· Question any evidence or statements made against you.

· Bring any evidence to the hearing that would support your case. 

· Remain silent concerning the charges, as anything said or signed by you could be used against you in a court of law.

· Obtain a copy of the State agency’s published hearing procedures per 7CFR § 273.16(e)(3)(iv) by contacting the agency or you can look them up online at the following web address: http://www.tennessee.gov/sos/rules/rules2.htm 
If you wish, you may waive this hearing. If you waive the hearing, your household will have a reduction in benefits and you will be disqualified from receiving Families First for the following time specified:
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Six (6) months because this would be your 1st violation.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 One (1) year because this would be your 2nd violation.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Permanently because this would be your 3rd violation.

Whether you have a hearing or not, it does not preclude the District Attorney from prosecuting you for an intentional program violation in a civil or criminal court action, or from the agency collecting an overpayment. You and the members of your assistance unit during the period of overpayment will be responsible for the repayment of the incorrect benefits issued.
If you sign this waiver, you must also choose one of the following statements to indicate whether or not you admit to the facts as presented above. You do not have to admit to any of the charges. You have the right to remain silent concerning the charges, as anything said or signed by you could be used in a court of law.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 I admit the facts as presented and understand that a disqualification penalty will be imposed if I sign this waiver.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 I do not admit that the facts as presented are correct. However, I have chosen to sign this waiver and understand that a disqualification penalty will result.

The head of household must also sign this agreement if you are not the head of household.

The Respondent or head of household, by his own signature below, understands his or her household is liable to repay the over issuance in the amount of $      either by:

1. Cash if not currently receiving SNAP benefits, a signed Repayment Agreement being attached to and incorporated in the Waiver and Agreement.

2. Grant reduction of 10% of the assistance unit’s monthly entitlement commencing      .
To avoid the holding of a hearing, this signed waiver must be returned to Name/address of the Special Investigator by: Set date two weeks prior to the appointment date.
 If you have questions, you may contact the Special Investigator at    -   -    .

	_____________________________________________________
	          /  /    

	Respondent’s Signature
	            Date

	_____________________________________________________
	  /  /    

	Head of Household’s Signature – (if different from Respondent)
	Date


TDHS staff should check the “Forms” section of the intranet to ensure the use of current versions. Forms may not be altered without prior approval.

Distribution:  Original: Special Investigator; Copy: N/A
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