INITIAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE MINUTES

Committee Minutes	Initial Education Committee
Date	Tuesday December 12 th , 2017
Time	1:00 PM CST
Location	Iris Room 665 Mainstream Drive
Participants	 Members Present: DeVette Carter (Cleveland State); John Reeves (Walter State); Jeffrey Roberts (Chattanooga State); Drew Hooker (Motlow State); David Cauthen (Columbia State); Erik Jesse (Volunteer State); Bryan Kesler (Jackson State); Merry Mattix (Southwest State) – on phone; Steve Fort (Memphis Fire Dept.); John Dodson (Knoxville Fire Dept.); Chris Massingale (Livingston Vo-Tech); Danny Schekles (Oneida Voc Tech); Randy White (MTSU); Mark Walker (Medical Center EMS); Jonathan Woods (Medical Center EMS); Brian Tompkins (EMS Region 4 Consultant); Lee Anne Boeringer (EMS Consultant Region 6); Donna Tidwell State EMS Director; Ray Cook Assistant State EMS Director; Paul Richardson Legal Counsel; Randall Kirby EMS Consultant at Large Members Absent: David Bryant (Northeast State); David Blevins (Roane State); Roger McDiffett (Dyersburg State); David McBurnett (Chattanooga Fire Dept.); Fred Smith (Nashville Fire Dept.); Joseph Chaston (Cookeville Regional Med. Ctr); Mike Carlton (St. Thomas Hospital); Levo Phillips (Vanderbilt University Med Ctr.)

Overall Lead	Торіс	Summary/Decisions	Assignments / Next Steps	Responsible Person	Time Frame
Donna Tidwell (Chairman Tim Strange out on sick leave)	Roll Call/Introduction	Roll Call (results are listed above) a quorum was deemed present.	N/A	N/A	N/A
Donna Tidwell	Minute Approval	Motion to approve the minutes from September 19 th , 2017 meeting. The motion carried on a voice vote.	N/A	N/A	N/A
Donna Tidwell	NREMT Pass Rates	3 rd Quarter Pass Rates for NREMT were presented	N/A	N/A	N/A
Donna Tidwell	National Representative for NREMT Practical Examinations	All programs were reminded when requsting a Practical Examination from NREMT to select the Regional EMS Consultant as the Representative,not Randall Kirby.	N/A	N/A	N/A

INITIAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE MINUTES

Overall Lead	Topic	Summary/Decisions	Assignments / Next Steps	Responsible Person	Time Frame
Overall Lead Kirk Harris Instructor Qualification Sub-Committee Chairman	Topic	Reported no comments from the group as to the proposed instructor rules. Mr. Harris did present some definition changes from the Continuing Education Committee for Instructor Coordinator for EMT, AEMT and Paramedic. A discussion was held on EMR Instructor requirements. Mr. Harris did read some concerns from Mrs. Mattix on EMR Instructors. A motion was received from Mr. Cauthen to accept the document as presented and pass it to the EMS Board. Steve Fort seconded the motion. A roll call vote was requested: DeVette Carter : Aye John Reeves: Aye Jeffrey Roberts: Aye Drew Hooker: Nay David Cauthen: Aye Erik Jesse: Aye Bryan Kesler : Aye Merry Mattix: Aye Steve Fort: Aye John Dodson: Aye Chris Massingale: Aye Danny Schekles: Aye	Next Steps	-	Time Frame
		Randy White: Aye Mark Walker: Nay Jonathan Woods: Nay	Change be sent to the EMS Board		

INITIAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE MINUTES

Overall Lead	Торіс	Summary/Decisions	Assignments / Next Steps	Responsible Person	Time Frame
		Brian Tompkins: Aye Lee Anne Boeringer: Aye Results: 14 Ayes and 3 Nays Motion carried			
Donna Tidwell	Liaison Between this Committee and Continuing Education Committee	There is to be liasons from each of the two committees to attend the meetings. The Continuing Education Committee has chosen Jonathan Wood to attend this meeting. Since the Chairman is not present it was decided to wait until the next meeting to pick the one from this committee.			03/28/2018
Donna Tidwell	Old Business	A report was received from Mr. Richardson concerning the pending Rules on Community Paramedicine and EMT Training in High Schools.			
Donna Tidwell	New Business	Steve Fort announced he is retiring from Memphis Fire and introduced his successor Rodger McGee for Memphis Fire EMS Program Director. John Dodson with Knoxville Fire announced his replacement Mike Terrell. Ambulance Strike Team member training is to take place sometime in the February 2018 – April 2018 time frame.			
Donna Tidwell	Next meeting	The next meeting was announced as Tuesday March 27 th , 2018 at 1:00 pm CDST and the Continuing Education Committee meeting at 10:00 am CDST the same day.			
		Multiple motions to adjourn was received and multiple seconds were heard. Motion passed on voice vote.			