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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

HMS is under contract with the State of Tennessee Bureau of TennCare as Tennessee's Medicaid 
Recovery Audit Contractor (RAC), pursuant to Section 6411 of the Patient Protection and 
Affordable Care Act of 2010.  Accordingly, HMS is authorized to audit provider payments and 
associated financial records for Fee-For-Service and Medicaid Managed Care claims to identify 
underpayments and overpayments, and to recover any overpayments made to providers. 

 
 

1. 

As specified by federal regulation 42 C.F.R. § 455.508(f), the RAC “entity must not review 
claims that are older than 3 years from the date of the claim, unless it receives approval 
from the State”. As allowed by 42 C.F.R.§ 455.516, Exceptions from Medicaid RAC programs,  
TennCare has received approval of the State Plan Amendment (SPA) authorizing the RAC to 
go back 5 years from the date of payment.  This extended look-back period is pursuant to 
federal law and preempts the State pharmacy law limiting the look back to a period of two 
years. 

How far back can the RAC go in reviewing claims? 

 

2. 

 The RAC will be conducting ongoing data mining of transactions that were processed by TN 
Medicaid.  Providers will not be notified when their claims are being data mined; they will 
receive notification when their claim is selected for a review.   

Will the RAC be conducting data mining and if so, will providers receive notice that their 
claims are being data mined? 

 

3. 

 The RAC may look at any claims submitted by a facility.  For example, if data mining reveals 
questionable billing patterns with a subset of the claims submitted by a facility, some or all 
the claims submitted by a facility may be audited. 

Will the RAC audit all the claims submitted by a facility? 

 

4. 

No.  The focus of the audits will include all provider types, both institutional and individual 
providers.  This includes, but is not limited to: hospitals, laboratories, long-term care 
providers, pharmacies, physicians, therapists, and home health providers.  

Will the audits focus only on institutional providers? 

 

5. 

 An automated review is used when improper payments can be identified from claim data 
elements and well established policies and rules, without examining medical records or 
other documents. 

What is an automated review? 
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6. 

 A complex review requires the examination of medical records or other documents, and may 
also involve on-site auditing. 

What is a complex review? 

 

7. 

 Yes.  The letter from the RAC requesting records will state that the RAC will accept provider 
submissions of electronic records on CD/DVD, secure transmission or fax and how to submit 
the records.  

Can I submit records electronically? 

 

8. 

 Please visit 

How do I sign up to use the provider portal? 

https://ecenter.hmsy.com and follow the User Registration instructions. 
 

9. 

 Contact HMS Provider Services at 855-809-3984. 

What is the provider relations number for Tennessee RAC? 

  

10. 

Yes, there is a maximum limit of 300 records for any 45 day period. However, the limit may 
be lower for your facility based on the number of claims filed to TennCare by your facility in 
the year of the audit. To calculate the limit for your facility, multiply the number of claims 
filed to TennCare by your facility for the year covered by the audit by 1%, then divide the 
result by 8 to determine the record request limit for any 45 day period. 

Is there a limit to the amount of medical records the RAC may request from me? 

 
There is also a minimum limit of 35 records that the RAC may request for any 45 day period. 
In the event that the calculation for the maximum number of record requests results in a 
number less  than 35, the RAC may request the minimum of 35 records for any 45 day 
period. 
 
If your facility is comprised of multiple locations, the locations are considered one facility if 
they share the same federal tax ID number and they have the same first three digits of their 
zip codes for each provider location. 

 

11. 

No. Federal regulations state that the RAC is not required to pay for copying records.   

Will the RAC pay for copying medical records? 

  

https://ecenter.hmsy.com/�
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12. 

Providers have 30 calendar days to respond to a records request for automated and complex 
reviews. 

How long do I have to respond to a record request? 

 

13. 

  For automated reviews, 30 calendar days, and for complex reviews, 60 calendar days. 

How long does the RAC have to audit after the initial letter? 

 

14. 

The provider must inform the RAC of any delay and the reason for such delay.  If an 
extension is desired, the request for such must be submitted in writing to the RAC.  Any 
extension to provide the requested documentation will be granted at the sole discretion of 
the State’s Contract Manager. 

What happens if I am unable to submit the requested documents to the RAC within 30 
calendar days? 

 

15. 

 Yes, a preliminary findings letter will be sent to you.  You will have 30 calendar days to 
respond to the preliminary findings letter for an automated or complex review. 

Will I have an opportunity to respond to any audit findings? 

 

16. 

 Yes.  A provider may request an additional review within 30 calendar days of receiving the 
preliminary findings letter. For automated or complex reviews, the RAC will have an 
additional 30 calendar days to review the provider’s response to the preliminary findings 
letter.     

After I have read the draft report, may I ask for an additional review? 

 

17. 

 Yes, a provider will have 30 calendar days to respond to a final report of automated and 
complex reviews. 

Will I have an opportunity to respond to the final audit report? 

 

18. 

 If the provider disagrees with the final audit report and notifies HMS within 30 days of such, 
HMS shall notify the State’s Contract Manager.  The provider may then request an appeal no 
later than 35 days from the date of the final determination letter. 

What happens if I disagree with the final audit report? 
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19. 

 If the provider files an appeal or asks for a pre-hearing conference, no payment of the 
overpayment will take place until there is an agreement on the amount of the overpayment 
between the provider and TennCare or the appeal process has concluded. 

If I file an appeal or ask for a pre-hearing conference, will I still have to pay back the amount 
of the overpayment in the final report? 

 

20. 

 The RAC will notify the State’s Contract Manager and the claims involved will be subject to a 
technical denial.  

What happens if I fail to respond to a final audit report? 

 
 If the provider continues to fail to respond to the RAC or TennCare, the provider’s 
participation in the TennCare program may be terminated and TennCare will pursue the 
overpayment as allowed by law 

 

21. 

 The RAC cannot audit the claim if the claim in question: 

Can the RAC audit a claim that was audited by someone else? 

• Was or is currently being audited involving the same issue or service, and 
• Is being audited by either a: 

− State or Federal agency, or  
− Contractor working for a state or federal agency. 

 

22. 

 If the requested records are not received within 45 calendar days, the RAC will attempt to 
contact the provider.   

What happens if I fail to respond to a medical record request? 

 
If another 10 calendar days pass without either the records being produced or an 
explanation as to why they have not been produced, the claims involved in the audit will be 
subject to a technical denial.   
 
If the provider continues to fail to respond to the RAC or TennCare, the provider’s 
participation in the TennCare program may be terminated and TennCare will pursue the 
overpayment as allowed by law. 
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23. 

 Overpayments occur when a RAC audit determines that claims should be either fully or 
partially denied pursuant to a law or rule. 

How does the RAC calculate overpayments? 

 
A full denial occurs when the RAC determines that: 

1) The submitted service was not medically necessary and no other service (for that type 
of provider) would have been medically necessary; or  
2) No service was provided. 

A partial denial occurs when the RAC determines that:  
1) The submitted service was not medically necessary, but a lower level of service would 
have been medically necessary: or  
2) The submitted service was upcoded (and a lower level of service was actually 
performed): or 
3) An incorrect code was submitted that caused a higher payment to be made. 

 

24. 

Yes. As the RAC identifies provider underpayments, the identified claims will be forwarded to 
the State’s Contract Manager to coordinate the payments back to the provider.  The RAC will 
not report underpayments in situations where the provider failed to include a provided 
service on a claim.  The RAC will not process or report underpayments self-disclosed by 
providers. 

Will providers be paid for underpayments? 

 

25. 

 Yes.  Where the RAC reviews a sample of claims, the RAC may extrapolate to determine the 
total amount of the overpayment. The overpayment amount will be based on a statistically 
valid sample. 

Will extrapolation be applied to determine the amount of overpayments? 

 

26. 

Unless otherwise stated, overpayments will be recovered with payment by check to: 

How will overpayments be recovered? 

Bureau of TennCare 
Dept #2136 

State of Tennessee 
P.O. Box 11407 

Birmingham, AL 35246-2136 
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27. 
If the provider does not refund the funds to TennCare for identified overpayments within 60 
days of identification, Interest may accrue as allowed by Tennessee State law. 

Will interest be charged when payment is not made in full? 

Further, section 6402 of PPACA requires providers to report and return over-payments within 
60 days of identification. Failure to repay an “identified” overpayment within 60 days may 
open the provider to liability under the False Claims Act. 
 

28. 

 Yes, each overpayment notice will include a detailed description of each error and will also 
include an offer by the RAC to provide education with respect to the billing errors that were 
found.  Education may be offered by written correspondence, telephone conference, 
webinar, or in person.  

Will the RAC provide education if I want to understand more fully the billing errors that it 
determines resulted in an overpayment? 


