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» Holders of the
Purple Heart may
purchase more
than the two free
plate limit

» Holders of the
Purple Heart are
able to be issued
special memorial
license plates

> Up to two free
license plates are
available for purple
heart recipients

> Additional license
plates may be
purchased

» Assistance is
available from
Revenue if you
have questions

% References:

T.C.A. § 55-4-202
T.C.A. § 55-4-203
T.C.A. § 55-4-239
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PURPLE HEART LICENSE PLATES

Vehicle Title and Registration Notice September 2008

INTRODUCTION

This notice is intended to provide county clerks and motor vehicle owners with
information concerning recent changes in Tennessee’s Motor Vehicle laws related to the
Purple Heart memorial license plates.

Effective July 1, 2008, a qualified holder of the Purple Heart Medal may
purchase additional plates exceeding the two free plate limit.

DISCUSSION

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-4-202, 55-4-203, and 55-4-239 allow recipients of the Purple
Heart Medal to receive special memorial license plates.

As of July 1, 2007, Purple Heart license plates are no longer subject to the $25.00
special fee, and should be issued or renewed free of charge after that date. The Purple
Heart recipient may elect to receive up to two (2) special Purple Heart memorial plates
free of charge for their motor vehicles or recreational vehicles.

Effective July 1, 2008, Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-4-239 was amended to allow a qualified
holder of the Purple Heart Medal to purchase additional plates exceeding the two free
plate limit. The initial cost of the additional plate is $25.75, with the renewal fee being
$21.50. These fees are subject to change each year and do not include local
county fees.

Additional Information:

For more information regarding vehicle registration in Tennessee, please call our vehicle
services call center at 888/871-3171 or 615/741-3101. Assistance for county clerks is
available by contacting Revenue’s county clerk support staff - Billy Trout (615/741-
4177), Kathy Duncan (615/532-6908), or Belinda Boddie (615/253-4073). More
information is available on our Web site, www.Tennessee.gov/revenue.

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions. While this notice is intended
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In
such cases, you should contact the department for further guidance.

For more information, call toll free 1-888-871-3171
Nashville area and out-of-state call (615) 741-3101
Email: Email. T&R@state.tn.us




