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l. PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

In conformance with Section 402 of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Public Law 104-193), the Tennessee Department of Human Services
(DHS) shall operate the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Program, known as
the Families First program in Tennessee.

Assistance payments shall be made on a monthly basis for all eligible assistance groups using a
standardized budgeting and payment method per assistance group size. The state has a gross
income test, a consolidated standard of need, and a maximum standard payment amount per
assistance group size. Some assistance groups receive a higher differential maximum payment
amount, based on caretaker work exemptions. Disregards include a $250.00 earned income
disregard, a mandatory household member and income disregard for a three month period
beginning with the month following the month of marriage for new spouses (marriage during
receipt policy), and child care disregards of $200.00 per month for children under two years of
age and $175.00 per month for children two years of age or older, for parents who choose a
deduction rather than having their child care paid directly to the provider by DHS.

The income standards are included in the attachments to the State Plan.

The state will continue to use fill-the-gap budgeting. Current month child support will be paid to
the caretaker using the fill-the-gap budgeting method as permitted in Section 302 (e) of the
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996.

Payments shall be made through Tennessee’s Electronic Benefit Transfer system to the caretaker,
alternate payee, or protective payee. The payment will be made available on the first of each
month for continuously eligible cases. Payments will be made from the date the signed
application is received in the local office for all eligible applicants. Auxiliary payments will be
issued to all assistance groups that have been underpaid.

a. Eligibility
Eligibility for Families First benefits will be determined based on the following criteria:

» The Assistance Unit (AU) lives in Tennessee.

AU includes either:
0 A child under age 18;
0 A child under age 19 who is expected to complete high school or an equivalent

vocational/technical training before his/her 19th birthday;

0 A pregnant woman in her last trimester; or
o0 The otherwise eligible parents or caretakers of a SSI child.

= The children live in the home of a parent or a relative who maintains care and control of
the child.

= All members of the AU are citizens or qualified aliens and have provided a Social
Security Number.

= Child meets Deprivation standards based on the absence, death, incapacity or
unemployment of a parent.

= Households meet income eligibility, including an income test and a resource test.

All AUs will be subject to a 60-month lifetime limit of Families First assistance. Months of
TANF-funded assistance received in another state will count toward the lifetime limit unless the



family was on Families First on July 1, 2007. Those AUs that reach their 60-month limit and are
otherwise eligible may be considered for an extension. No more than 20% of the caseload can be
on an extension at any given time.

b. Work Requirements

AUs with eligible adults who are not exempt must engage in 30 hours a week of countable work
or training activities with the exception of those individuals who require a reduction in activity
hours due to an Americans with Disabilities Act modification. The federally countable work
activities being utilized in Tennessee are:

= Unsubsidized employment;

= Subsidized employment in the public or private sector when funding is available;
= Job Search and Job Readiness Assistance;

= Community Service;

=  Work Experience;

= Vocational Education;

= Job skills training directly related to employment; and

= Adult Education (education directly related to employment).

Families First uses the federal definitions for the countable work activities. AUs with a work
requirement will receive cash assistance as long as they comply with program requirements.

All provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act will apply to Work Experience and Community
Service activities, including maximum number of hours and displacement safeguards.

Work activities will be provided on a performance-based contracted basis. Tennessee is divided
into five regional Contractor Zones for the provision of these activities. Contractors are required
to provide transportation and will also provide other support services to help move their clients
toward economic security and self-sufficiency. Contractors will negotiate and sign an
Individualized Career Plan with each client that outlines specific work requirements.

Certain AUs will be exempt from the work requirement based on the following criteria:

= The caretaker is 65 years old or older;

= The caretaker is disabled;

» The caretaker is temporarily incapacitated;

= The caretaker is caring for an in-home disabled relative;

= The single caretaker is caring for an infant less than 1 year of age; or

= The two-parent household is caring for an infant less than 16 weeks of age.

Exempt AUs may volunteer to work and will receive Families First support services.

Child-only cases are cases with an eligible child in the home, but no eligible adult in the
Assistance Unit. The caretaker is either:

= A non-parental relative;
= A parent whose immigration status precludes him or her from receiving assistance; or
= A parent who receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI).



There is no work requirement or time limit on assistance for child-only cases. Once they are
deemed eligible, they begin receiving assistance. A child-only case is an AU with a non-parent
grantee relative who is not included in the AU and who is not included as a recipient of Families
First. Child-only cases do not include cases where the parent is excluded from the AU because he
or she is ineligible due to illegal alien status or because he or she is fleeing a felony.

Families First will employ the following strategies for work and self-sufficiency:

= Families First participants will have goal-oriented, time-limited, Individualized Career
Plans that carry them through logical and productive steps to self-sufficiency;

= Sanctions will be imposed when a family fails, without good cause, to comply with the
Individualized Career Plan ;

= Cash benefits will be limited to 60 months of eligibility in a lifetime, with some
exceptions;

= Participants who go to work and lose cash benefits will continue to receive transitional
benefits, including child care assistance. Families may also qualify for transitional Food
Stamps.

No specific numerical goals have been set to move families off Families First. Rather, outcome
goals have been set for all activities and all providers of services to assure clients receive the best
available services in the shortest time possible. Client goals will be set, keeping in mind the
60-month time limit.

Work Activity Contractors who provide Families First work activities receive payment for
achievement in client job retention, and are required to maintain contractor Work Participation
Rates or face fiscal penalties.

The Secretary was sent a notification from the Governor of Tennessee opting out of the provision
to require a parent or caretaker receiving assistance for two months who is not exempt and who is
not engaged in work to participate in community service employment. The State plan requires all
non-exempt individuals to have an Individualized Career Plan.

c. Diversion Program

Tennessee will operate a Diversion program to serve families who do not need ongoing
assistance, but could achieve self-sufficiency and economic security with a one-time lump sum
payment.

An Assistance Unit (AU) must meet all of the following criteria to receive a Diversion payment:

» The Assistance Unit has not been on TANF assistance or received a diversion payment in
any state in the past 2 years and has demonstrated residency in Tennessee for 6 months;

= The primary caretaker has a recent job history;

= The Assistance Unit does not face any major barriers to employment, such as
drug/alcohol abuse;

= The primary caretaker has at least a high school diploma or equivalent;

= The household is facing a one-time financial need, and the Diversion payment would
prevent ongoing need for TANF assistance. Money can be used for housing,
transportation, child care, or job needs.



Those who accept the Diversion payment will be ineligible for Families First for a year, unless an
emergency arises. Employed Diversion recipients are eligible for 3 months of subsidized child
care.

d. Sanctions

Sanctions shall be applied to all cases that are not in compliance with their Personal
Responsibility Plans. A sanction may result in a percentage reduction in benefits for failure to
provide immunizations, health checks, or attend school; and total assistance group ineligibility
when the family does not cooperate with child support or Individualized Career Plan activities
without good cause.

e. Other Program Policies

Families First AUs have access to child care. AUs with an eligible adult can access Families First
Child Care if they are engaged in countable work and/or training activities and must have child
care in order to participate. In addition, individuals who are exempt from a work requirement but
wish to volunteer for work/training activities may have access to child care. There is no co-pay.

Certain child-only cases are eligible for At-Risk Child Only (ARCO) child care if funding is
available. Former Families First recipients who are working at least 30 hours a week can receive
up to 18 months of Transitional Child Care (TCC) after their cases are closed. After the
18-month TCC period, clients who are determined to be “at-risk” of returning to the program or
losing employment due to lack of child care are eligible for At-Risk Child Care (ACC). There is
a co-pay for ARCO, TCC and ACC child care.

AUs will be reviewed annually for continued eligibility.

If a single parent marries during the receipt of Families First assistance, he/she may choose to
exclude the new spouse from the AU for 3 full months, regardless of income. Following the 3
months, the AU must meet TANF eligibility requirements to continue to receive assistance.

A Family Cap will be applied when a child is conceived and born during a period of eligibility. It
may also be applied to a child born after or during a period of ineligibility, but within 10 months
of a reapplication month. Exceptions will be granted when the birth is the result of rape or incest
or when the birth is the first child born to a minor in an assistance group.

REQUIRED STATE PLAN ELEMENTS
a. Privacy Provisions

The rules of the Families First program regarding the use and disclosure of information about
individuals and families receiving assistance are consistent with the rules that guided the program
under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act prior to the enactment of the Personal Responsibility
and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, thus protecting the rights of individuals and
permitting the release of information to programs operating in connection with the TANF
Program; i.e., federally funded or federally assisted programs providing assistance on the basis of
need, appropriate audit and appropriate local, state, and federal law enforcement officials.



b. Efforts to Reduce Out-of-Wedlock Pregnancies

The Department of Human Services has contracted with the Tennessee Department of Education
(DOE) to administer the Youth Empowerment Initiative (YEI), which provides nonacademic
services to children in grades five through twelve (5-12), who are at risk of dropping out of high
school and subsequently being in need of public assistance. Participating entities, which may
include public schools, public charter schools, or public and not-for-profit organizations that
provide afterschool activities within Tennessee, provide students with a safe environment in
which to gain personal management, life coping, and other skills needed to develop long-term
goals related to education, vocation, health, and relationships.

DOE ensures that participating entities:

employ a developmentally-based preventive approach to addressing the needs of at risk
students and their families as evidenced by a comprehensive array of academic, social,
mental, physical, and vocational programs/services tailored to the unique needs of
students being served; and.

form ongoing partnerships with public and private agencies to establish a network of
student and family supports within the community, involve parents in their efforts, and
impart skills to positively influence youth development.

c. Efforts to Reduce Statutory Rape

The Department of Human Services recognizes the correlation between teenage pregnancy and
the possible occurrence of statutory rape by men. DHS will serve as the lead agency in
administering an educational and training effort to increase the awareness of staff, contractors,
local law enforcement and men who may be predators of teenage girls. The program will address
preventive measures and the law, including the criminal punishment for individuals convicted of
the crime.

In Tennessee, statutory rape is defined as the unlawful sexual penetration of a victim by
the defendant or of the defendant by the victim when:

o0 The victim is at least thirteen (13) but less than fifteen (15) years of age and the
defendant is at least four (4) years but less than ten (10) years older than the
victim; or

o0 The victim is at least fifteen (15) but less than eighteen (18) years of age and the
defendant is more than five (5) but less than ten (10) years older than the victim.

Statutory Rape is a class E felony. Punishment for a Class E felony is a prison sentence
ranging from 1-6 years.

Mitigated Statutory Rape is the unlawful sexual penetration of a victim by the
defendant, or of the defendant by the victim when the victim is at least fifteen (15) but
less than eighteen (18) years of age and the defendant is at least four (4) but not more
than five (5) years older than the victim. Mitigated Statutory Rape is a class E felony.
Aggravated Statutory Rape is the unlawful sexual penetration of a victim by the
defendant or of the defendant by the victim when the victim is at least thirteen (13) but
less than eighteen (18) years of age and the defendant is at least ten (10) years older than
the victim. Aggravated Statutory Rape is a class D felony. Punishment for a class D
felony is a prison sentence ranging from 2-12 years.

Local DHS offices will provide printed material regarding statutory rape to be displayed in DHS
offices, contracted agencies, local schools and other prominent public places where clients and



related individuals, including the men who have allegedly committed the crime, can view the
material. Staff will notify the proper authorities of a possible occurrence of statutory rape when
an applicant for Families First or other program designed to provide related services is:

= Thirteen (13) years of age but less than eighteen (18) years of age; or
= A parent, legal guardian or custodian on behalf of such person.

d. Out-of-State families

The State will continue to apply Families First policies to all applicant/recipients who are
residents, including those families who were past recipients in another state and move to
Tennessee. The policies and procedures of the Families First program will be applied uniformly
to current state residents and to new state residents. Families seeking the Diversion payment
must demonstrate 6-months of residency in Tennessee.

e. Treatment of Non-citizens

The state will provide assistance to non-citizens using the rules outlined in the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, the Trafficking Victim
Protection Act of 2000, and federal rules regarding certain battered women and children. The
State has no State-Only funded programs for aliens. The current Families First (TANF) policy
allows eligibility for individuals with the following alien status and length of time in the U.S.

Refugee (admitted under Section 207) in the U.S. less than 5 years
Asylee (admitted under Section 208) in the U.S. less than 5 years
Deportation Withheld (under section 243(h)) in U.S. less than 5 years
Honorably Discharged Veterans
Armed Forces Active Duty
Spouse/Child/ of Veteran
Spouse/Child of Armed Forces Active Duty
Hmong or Highland Laotian
Spouse of Hmong or Highland Laotian
Dependent Child of Hmong or Highland Laotian
Filipinos who are considered US Armed Service Vets
Legal Permanent Resident (LPR) with 40 Qualifying Quarters
Legal Permanent Resident (LPR) in US more than 5 years
Amerasian Immigrant in U.S. less than 5 years
Cuban/Haitian Entrant admitted under Section 212(h)(5) in U.S. less than 5 years
Conditional Entrant (admitted under INA Section 203 (a)(7) in eligible status for more
than 5 years
= Parolee (status granted under INS Section 212 (d)(5) for 1 or more years — entry date on
or after 8/22/96) after in “parolee” status for 5 or more years
» Trafficking Victims in accordance with 107(b)(1)of the Trafficking Victim Protection
Act of 2000
= Certain Women and Children in battered status and in the U.S. less than 5 years

f. Ensuring Program Integrity

Program integrity is twofold. It includes both the provision that benefits must be provided timely
and provided correctly and that recipients are provided with an avenue to voice their
complaints/concerns through an appeal process.



Appeals are handled by our Appeals and Hearing Division, an entity whose only purpose is to
fulfill the function of determining whether the correct action was taken on a case when that action
has resulted in client dissatisfaction. Any applicant for, or recipient of, Families First may file an
appeal through the county office, district office, State Office or our Family Assistance Service
Center. Every applicant/recipient is informed of his/her right to appeal if he/she is aggrieved by
an action or lack of action by DHS. Anyone who applies or wants to apply for Families First
benefits is given an informational pamphlet that explains the right of Appeal and Fair Hearing,
the method by which a hearing may be obtained and that his/her case may be presented by a
household member or a representative. All applicants/ recipients are informed about these rights.

Resources that were previously used for quality control purposes in the AFDC program were
redirected to monitor and evaluate Families First. Focusing on outcomes rather than process will
continue to ensure accountability. A method remains in place to ensure that payment accuracy
and standards of promptness are achieved. The method involves a review of a statistically valid
sample of cases that are actively receiving Families First (those not slated for closure), and is
conducted by a separate third party, an Active Case Review team, to ensure policy and payment
accuracy and that appropriate case management services are provided. The results of these
reviews are provided to the management team of each area in the State and are used to determine
areas where additional training may be needed. Individual errors found in cases are also
addressed and corrected.

g. Public Involvement

Local governments have numerous opportunities to be involved in Families First and many serve
as service contractors for education, training or child care services. Urban county governments
provide education and training services through sub-contracts with Families First work activity
contractors. Local Human Services offices are used in many instances for co-location of local
government and in some instances, Human Services caseworkers are stationed in local training
centers.

In 2004, a Governor’s task Force comprised of business leaders, former and current Families First
clients, advocates, program contractors, and senior Department of Human Services officials came
together to recommend ways to improve the program with the goal of “enabling even more
Tennesseans to become self-sufficient, tax-paying citizens.” Another goal of this group, in
anticipation of the loss of Tennessee’s waiver in June 2007, was to ensure a smooth transition
into compliance with all anticipated Federal requirements. The findings and recommendations of
this group helped shape the current post-waiver Families First program in Tennessee.

h. MOE Programs

Tennessee has discontinued providing Families First assistance and services to some eligible
families under a separate state program, using only state Maintenance of Efforts (MOE) funds.

i. Americans with Disabilities Act Provisions
The Families First program, including any contracting agencies providing services to Families

First clients, will comply with all ADA provisions in the application of policy and provision of
services.



CERTIFICATIONS

The State will operate a program to provide Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) so
that children may be cared for in their own homes or in the homes of relatives, to end dependence
of needy parents on government benefits by promoting job preparation, work, and marriage, to
prevent and reduce the incidence of out-of-wedlock pregnancies and establish annual numerical
goals for preventing and reducing the incidence of these pregnancies; and encourage the
formation and maintenance of two-parent families.

The program is known as Families First.
The Executive Officer of the State is the Governor of Tennessee.

In administering and operating a program that provides Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
with minor children under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act, the State will:

A. Specify which agency or agencies will administer and supervise the program under part A in
all political subdivisions of the State:

= The Tennessee Department of Human Services is the agency responsible for
administering the program;

»= The Tennessee Department of Human Services is the agency responsible for supervising
the program.

B. Assure that local governments and private sector organizations have been consulted regarding
the plan and design of Families First services in the State so that services are provided in a
manner appropriate to local populations; and have had at least 45 days to submit comments on the
plan and the design of such services:

= The Families First program will be guided by State Rules. As changes are needed for
policy, proposals for changes to the State Rules are submitted as needed.

= Since Families First was implemented, DHS staff has met periodically with statewide
advocates on the continued progress of the program.

= Public Notice of the Tennessee TANF Plan availability for comment is
November 1, 2010 — December 15, 2010.

C. Operate a Child Support Enforcement program under the State plan approved under
Part D.

D. Operate a Foster Care and Adoption Assistance program in accordance with Part E, and certify
that the State will take all necessary actions to ensure that children receiving assistance are
eligible for medical assistance.

E. Provide each member of an Indian tribe, who is domiciled in the State and is not eligible for
assistance under a Tribal Family Assistance plan approved under Section 412, with equitable
access to assistance under the State program funded under this part attributable to funds provided
the Federal Government.

F. Establish and enforce standards and procedures to ensure against program fraud and abuse,
including standards and procedures concerning nepotism, conflicts of interest among individuals



responsible for the administration and supervision of the State program, kickbacks, and the use
of political patronage.

G. Make available to the public a summary of the State plan.
H. The State has established and is enforcing standards and procedures to:

= Screen and identify individuals receiving assistance under this part with a history of
domestic violence while maintaining the confidentiality of such individuals;

= Refer such individuals to counseling and supportive services; and

= Make accommodations to other program requirements as listed below for individuals
receiving assistance in cases where compliance with such requirements would make it
more difficult to escape domestic violence or would unfairly penalize such individuals
who are or have been victimized by such violence, or individuals that are at risk of
further domestic violence.

The State will apply special provisions to victims of domestic violence.

Accommodations will be made to program requirements where compliance makes it more
difficult for individuals receiving assistance to escape domestic violence or would put such
individuals at risk of endangerment. Those requirements could include:

= Work requirements;
= Child support cooperation; and/or
= Family cap provision.

Accommodations will be made based on need as determined by individual assessment by a
person trained in domestic violence counseling. The needs of these individuals will be reassessed
as needed.

Families First requirement accommodations will be accompanied by appropriate documentation.
Families First will continue to work with these families to help them move into work activities to
the extent consistent with the basic provisions of the Family Violence Option (FVO).

The State will provide clinical social workers/counselors trained in domestic violence. Services
will be available at least as long as the participant is receiving cash assistance.

The State will provide an aggregate figure of the total of good cause domestic violence waivers
granted.

CERTIFIED BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF THE STATE

Date Phil Bredesen, Governor

10



IV. FUNDING

Section 403 (a)(1)(A) Of the Social Security Act provided that each eligible State shall be entitled
to receive a grant in an amount equal to the State family assistance grant as defined in section
403(1)(1)(B).

Section 7101(a) of the Deficit Reduction Act provides that activities authorized by Part A of Title
IV of the Social Security Act shall continue through September 10, 2010 or a subsequent date as
amended.

A. Payments to Agency Administering the TANF Program

Payments for the TANF Program in Tennessee will be made to the Tennessee Department of
Human Services.

B. State Payments for TANF Program

Section 405 requires that grants be paid to States in quarterly installments, based on State
estimates. The State’s estimate for each quarter of the fiscal year by percentage is:

For FY 2007 and Future Years

State Payments for TANF Program

O Quarter 1
m Quarter 2
0O Quarter 3
O Quarter 4

C. Contingency Funds

Tennessee may seek to access TANF Contingency Funds when triggers and requirements are
met.
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