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Disability Benefits 

The benefits provided under Tennessee's workers' compensation law are set out in 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 50, Chapter 6. Basically the benefits are:  

Payment of temporary disability benefits until you are able to return to your job, 
Payment of permanent disability benefits if your compensable injury permanently lessens your ability 
to perform your job  

If your doctor, in the course of treating your compensable injury, determines that you are temporarily 
unable to return to work, then you are eligible for temporary total disability benefits. These benefits, 
also called lost time pay, are intended to replace part of the income you may lose as a result of your 
compensable injury. To receive temporary total disability benefits, you must be on a leave without 

pay status from your employer during the time you wish to receive the temporary total disability 

benefits. You may choose to use your accumulated sick and annual leave instead of or prior 
to requesting temporary total disability benefits since workers' compensation benefits will be 
less than the amount you would receive if you use your sick or annual leave. This is a choice to be 
made by the employee.  

To qualify for temporary total disability benefits, you must be out of work due to your compensable 
injury for seven days. Your temporary total disability benefits would then begin to accrue on the 
eighth day of disability. If you are out of work for 14 days or more, then you are eligible to receive 
temporary disability benefits for the full period of disability. The amount of temporary total disability 
benefits you receive is equal to 66 and 2/3 percent of your average weekly wage at the time of your 
accident, subject to the following maximum amounts: 

For Accidents Occurring Maximum Weekly Payment  

July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2012 $867.90 

July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2013 $886.60 

July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014 $918.50 

July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2015 $932.80 

July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016 $943.80 
 

 

 

You should be aware that disability benefits are not subject to federal 
withholding tax or FICA tax, so the amounts shown above represent "take 

home" amounts. If you elect to file for temporary total disability benefits, 
you will only be paid those benefits for the period of time during which your 

doctor prohibits you from returning to work or until you have reached 
maximum medical improvement. During any period for which you are 

receiving temporary total disability benefits, your department will also pay 
the full premium for your health insurance.  

Payment Of Temporary Partial Disability Benefits  

If, during your treatment and before you are fully recovered, your physician 



determines that you can work on a part-time basis, then you are eligible for 

temporary partial disability benefits. The workers' compensation law 
provides for payment of 66 and 2/3 percent of the difference between the 

employee's wage at the time of the injury and the wage that the employee is 
able to earn while in a partially disabled condition, subject to the statutory 

maximums.  

Payment of Permanent Disability Benefits  

If your compensable injury results in a permanent reduction in your ability to 

perform work for which you are suited by education, age and training, then 
you may be eligible for permanent disability benefits. The decision on 

whether to offer you a permanent disability benefit will be reached after 
reviewing the recommendations of your treating physician. In addition, you 

may be required to be examined by an independent physician whose 
recommendations will also be considered. The benefit payable, if any, is 

based upon the degree to which you are permanently disabled. The degree 
of your disability (which eventually determines the amount of your disability 

benefit) is subject to agreement between you and the state.  

For Accidents Occurring Maximum Weekly Payment  

July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2012 $789.00 

July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2013 $806.00 

July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014 $835.00 

July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2015 $848.00 

July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016 $858.00 
 

 

  

Permanent disability benefits are generally paid biweekly over the period of 

time necessary to pay the entire amount agreed upon by you and the state. 
In certain exceptional cases, the state may agree to pay permanent 

disability benefits in a lump sum. The maximum amount of benefits which 
may be paid to you depends on the date your compensable injury occurred. 
 

For additional information, see http://www.treasury.state.tn.us/wc/BeneTempDisability.html.   

 

http://www.treasury.state.tn.us/wc/BeneTempDisability.html

