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UNARMED GUARD REINSTATE APPLICATION
(For applicants who previously held an active Unarmed Guard Registration that has expired)

Only applicants with complete applications are eligible for consideration. You may attach additional

pages as necessary. Please type or print clearly in ink. Checks should be made payable to the
Department of Commerce & Insurance.

Send the completed application to:
Attn: PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES
The Department of Commerce & Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243

Section One: Applicant Identification and eligibility verification

Name of Applicant:

Last First Middle

Are you currently ficensed? Yes/No If Yes, License Number

Social Security Number OR Federal EIN

Mailing Address

City State Zip Code

Contact Phone Number:

Email Address:

IN-1840 (Rev. 1/6/2016) RDA 10222



STATE OF TENNESSEE

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & INSURANCE
DIVISION OF REGULATORY BOARDS
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES

500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY
NASHVILLE, TN 37243-1158

615.741.6382 FAX 615.532.2965
www.tn.gov/icommerce/

SECURITY GUARD/OFFICER - APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS

Please refer to the following link for PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES
Laws, Rules, and Policies

www.tn.govlcommerce
APPLICATION AND REGISTRATION FEES Application Fee Registration Fee  Total Fee
UNARMED SECURITY GUARD $50.00 $20.00 $70.00
Application Fee Registration Fee Total Fee
ARMED SECURITY GUARD $75.00 $30.00 $105.00
Application Fee Total Fee
DOWNGRADE FROM ARMED TO UNARMED $30.00 $30.00

[No fingerprinting or additional training required]

All Applicants:

Schedule electronic fingerprinting through L1-ldentoGo.
= Applicants in Tennessee can schedule electronic fingerprinting for a fee of $38.00 by scheduling online or calling L1-

Identogo 855-226-2937. You must have the correct ORI# when scheduling: TN920120Z. This service is only
available in the State of Tennessee. Out of state applicants should follow instructions for Tennessee submission
of fingerprint card directly to L1-ldentoGo. www.L1enrollment.com

=  Submit three (3) 1”x1” color passport-style photos with your name and Social Security Number printed on the back of
each photo. Place photos in a small envelope with your name printed on it and attach to the application.

= Application fees are NON-REFUNDABLE and must be submitted with the application.
= Submit a check, money order or cashier’s check payable to: Department of Commerce & Insurance.

e You may not begin work in the State of Tennessee as an Unarmed Guard/Officer until this application has been
completed and forwarded to the Private Protective Services Licensing Section for processing. You may not work
as an Armed Security Guard until either your Armed Conditional Card or your Armed Registration Card has been
issued by this office.

e Upon approval of your application, an approval notice will be forwarded to your last known address requesting the
registration fee. Registration fees must be paid within thirty (30) days of the date printed on the approval or your
application will be closed with no further notice from this office.

e An applicant for Unarmed or Armed Security Guard/Officer Registration may only work as an unarmed guard on the
completed application form for seventy-five (75) business days from the date that the application and required fees are
submitted to this office. You may not continue to work using a copy of your application after the application has been
CLOSED or DENIED by this office.

e You are required to carry a completed copy of your application while on duty as an unarmed security guard/officer until your
registration card is issued. Check website for your application status.

e Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-35-130, an applicant for a security quard registration who files an incomplete
application and who works on an incomplete application may be subject to disciplinary action which may include
the assessment of a civil penalty, the denial of the application, or the suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue
or renew any license, certification or registration card.




STATE OF TENNESSEE

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & INSURANCE
DIVISION OF REGULATORY BOARDS
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES

500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY
NASHVILLE, TN 37243-1158

615.741.6382 FAX 615.532.2965

www.tn.gov/icommerce
FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
File #
Xact#

SECURITY GUARD/OF

FICER - APPLICATION

Instructions: Please read this entire application carefully. Complete all sections and have notarized before returning with the
appropriate application fee to the above address. Please note: application fees are not refundable. Submit additional

information for any item on a separate sheet of paper.
1. TYPE OF REGISTRATION APPLYING FOR:

[J ARMED SECURITY GUARD (MUST BE 21 YRS OF AGE)
[] UNARMED SECURITY GUARD (MUST BE 18 YRS OF AGE)
[] UNARMED PROPRIETARY SECURITY ORGANIZATION (PSO) GUARD

] DOWNGRADE TO UNARMED SECURITY GUARD

All application fees must accompany this application. The registrati
an application “approval” letter from this office.

on fee may be paid along with the application fee or upon receipt of

2. PERSONAL DATA: Date:
Social Security Number Last Name First Name Middle Name
Residence (Street) Address, Apt. No. [From Mo/Yr To Mo/Yr]
City State Zip Code
( )
(Area Code) Home Phone Number E-mail address (If available)
/ /
Date of Birth (M/D/Y) Place (City,State) of Birth Sex(M/F) Race Height Weight  Hair Eyes
a. Are you a United States Citizen? Yes [ No [
If you are NOT a US Citizen or resident alien your application will be denied. Resident Alien applicants must provide
documentation of their citizenship status.
b. Have you ever used a name other than the one by which you are applying? Yes O NoO

If yes, give the name(s):

Explain why the name(s) was used:

Company Name

City State

IN-1142 (Rev )

Name the Guard Company or the Proprietary Security Organization (PSO) you will be working for:

Street Address
(

)
Zip Code (Area Code) Telephone Number
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3. PREVIOUS APPLICATIONS/REGISTRATIONS:

a. Have you previously applied for security guard registration in Tennessee? YesOd NoO

olf yes, was your registration card issued? (If no, please explain on separate sheet of paper YesO NoO
and attach.)

olf yes, has your registration ever been suspended or revoked? (If yes, please explain on separate sheet of paper and

attach.) Yes O NoO

b. e Have you been licensed or registered as a security guard in another state? Yes O NoO
olf yes, what state(s)? Registration Number(s):

c. Has this license or registration ever been suspended or revoked? (If yes, please explain on separate sheet of paper

and attach.) Yes O NoO

4. OTHER RESIDENCES: If you have lived at your current residence less than five (5) years, you must list all
residences where you have lived for the past five (5) years. (Attach a separate sheet of paper, if necessary.)

Street Address City State Zip Code [From Mo/Yr To Mo/YT]

Street Address City State Zip Code [From Mo/Yr To Mo/Yr]

5. PAST EMPLOYMENT RECORD: If you have worked at your current employment less than five (5) years, list all jobs
or occupations you have held in the immediate past five (5) years. (Attach a separate sheet of paper, if necessary.)

Company Name Address City State Zip Code [From Mo/Yr To Mo/Yr]

Company Name Address City State Zip Code [From Mo/Yr To Mo/YT]

**NOTE: ARMED APPLICANTS ONLY: You do not qualify to obtain an armed registration if you have ever been
convicted of a felony or a crime involving domestic violence against a spouse, a live-in partner, or a child.

6. STATEMENT OF CRIMINAL RECORDS: [ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS PORTION]

Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-35-116(a)(1) requires that all applicants provide a statement of all convictions and pending
charges of a felony or a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction. Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-35-117(4) requires that persons
convicted of any of the following offenses must have completed serving sentence or court ordered probation at least five
(5) years prior to making application. Conviction of the following crimes shall disqualify an applicant if the applicant has not
completed serving sentence or court ordered probation at least five (5) years prior to making application: Any felony; or
any misdemeanor involving shooting a firearm or other weapon, shoplifting, assault and battery or other act of violence
against persons or property, crimes involving the sale, manufacture or distribution of controlled substances, drugs or
narcotics, theft of property or theft of services. Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-35-130(a) states that the Commissioner may deny
an application for registration upon finding that the applicant has been convicted by a court of competent jurisdiction of any
felony or of a misdemeanor, if the Commissioner finds that such conviction reflects unfavorably on the fitness for such
registration.

You must answer the following questions completely. Information you provide may not disqualify you for guard registration.
However, all arrests or charges, regardless of disposition, appear on record returns from the Tennessee Bureau of
Investigation (TBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

If you answer yes to any of these questions, you are required to provide certified documents of the final court
disposition or judgement with this application, including dismissed, suspended or deferred sentences, as well as,
a written explanation of the events that surrounded the charges. If the court no longer has these records on file,
you must obtain a letter from the judge or court clerk stating so.

Be advised: If you check "no" to any of the following questions regarding arrests or charges and there is an
arrest record listed on your TBI or FBI report, your application could be denied for a material misstatement.
Misdemeanor citations and charges for "bad checks”, cases where you may not have been fingerprinted and
booked but were required to pay court costs or fines, are reported to the TBl and FBIl as an arrest. These charges

must also be disclosed on your application.

Record Expungements: If you were told that a charge or arrest would be expunged from your record, and you
would not need to report the charge as an arrest, you should verify with the court clerk or your attorney that the
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record was expunged and that you have "no arrest record” for the charge or arrest before completing your
application for registration. Failure to report charges or arrests that were not expunged from your record and are
still listed on your TBI and/or FBI report could result in the denial of your application for a material misstatement.

a. Have you ever been arrested in Tennessee or any other state? YesONo O
If yes, what state(s)?

b. Were you transported to or surrendered at a police station, sheriff's office or other law enforcement facility?

YesONo O
¢. Once there, were you fingerprinted, photographed and booked into jail? YesONo O
d. Were misdemeanor or felony charges filed against you? Yes ONo O
If yes, please list the charges below. (Attach a separate sheet of paper, if necessary.)
Date Charge City State
Date Charge City State
e. Did you appear before the court and enter a plea of guilty, not guilty or no contest? Yes O NoOO
f. Did the court dismiss the charges against you? Yes OO NoO
If yes, you are required to provide this office with certified court documents showing the disposition of these

charges.

g. Have you ever been convicted of a felony offense? (A felony is an offense for which a jail sentence or probation of
one (1) year or more could have been imposed.) YesONo O

h. Have you ever been convicted of an offense, which involved domestic violence against a spouse, a live-in partner, ora
child? Yes O No O

i. If you pled guilty or were found guilty, what was the sentence of the court? (Indicate the fine, time in the county jail
or penitentiary, deferred sentence, suspended sentence, or period of probation. List the sentence below and
provide all final court dispositions with this application.)

Date Charge Sentence Probation Completed Date
Date Charge Sentence Probation Completed Date
j. Areyou currently on a deferred sentence or on probation? Yes O NoO
k. Do you currently have charges pending against you? Yes OO0 NoO

If yes, you are required to provide this office with certified court documents showing the disposition of these charges within
thirty (30) days of these charges being resolved by conviction or dismissal, you must also provide a written explanation of
the circumstances surrounding the charge(s), and a copy of the arresting officer's report. (Attach a separate sheet of

paper, if necessary.)

Date of Arrest Charge City and State Arraignment/Court Date

Date of Arrest Charge City and State Arraignment/Court Date
Have you ever been declared incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease? Yes O No O
Are you currently suffering from habitual drunkenness or any narcotic addiction? Yes O No O
If yes, attach proof (if applicable) of having completed treatment program(s).

Have you ever served in Military Service? Yes O NoO
a. Did you receive an Honorable discharge? Yes O No O

(If other than Honorable discharge, attach a separate sheet of paper explaining the discharge, and a copy of your DD214.)
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10. Have you read the Tennessee statutes pertaining to Private Protective Services and the corresponding
Administrative Rules and do you understand your responsibilities? Yes O No O

STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE AND UNDERSTANDING:
(Application must be signed under ocath and notarized)

e | understand that it is my responsibility to know and understand the laws and rules regulating private security guard/officers in the State of Tennessee
and that | may obtain this information through my employer and/or through training required for this registration.

o | understand that | am to receive the proper security guard unarmed training within sixty (60) days of submitting this application.

o | understand that | may not begin work in the State of Tennessee as an unarmed guard until this application has been completed and forwarded to the State
of Tennessee, Private Protective Services for processing. | may not begin working as an armed security officer until | have been issued an armed registration
card. Beginning work prior to submitting this application is a direct violation of the law, and you and your employer may be subject to violations and penalties.

o | understand that | am to carry a completed copy of this application with me while on duty as a security guard/officer until my registration card is issued by the
State. And, | am to make the application or registration card available upon request to State or local authorities.

o | understand that | may not continue to work as a security guard/officer using a copy of my application after the application has been closed or denied by the
Private Protective Services Licensing Section.

o | understand that this application will not be processed without the proper non-refundable application fee, and that upon approval of my application a
registration fee will be due prior to issuance.

e | hereby certify that | understand that should | be charged with an offense other than a minor traffic offense, | am required to notify the State of Tennessee,
Private Protective Services Licensing Section within thirty (30) days of any such charge(s) and of any disposition of said charge(s).

o | hereby certify that should | now be applying for an Armed Guard Registration, or should | determine to apply for one in the future, that | am required to
complete training as required by Tennessee Code Annotated 62-35-118(b).

NOTICE, AUTHORIZATION AND RELEASE FOR THE PROCUREMENT OF A CONSUMER AND/OR INVESTIGATIVE CONSUMER REPORT

1, the undersigned applicant, do hereby authorize the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Division of Regulatory Boards, Private
Protective Services to procure a consumer report and/or investigative consumer report on me. | understand that this authorization and release shall be valid for
subsequent consumer and/or investigative consumer reports during my period of certification, licensure or registration by this agency for the purpose of
investigating my credit references, and any workplace misconduct or criminal activity for which | am alleged to have been involved in.

These above-mentioned reports may include, but are not limited to, information as to my character, general reputation, and personal characteristics,
discerned through employment and education verifications, personal references, personal interviews, my personal credit history based on reports from any
credit bureau; my driving history, including any traffic citations; a social security number verification; present and former addresses; criminal and civil
history/records; any other public record.

| further authorize any person, business entity or governmental agency who may have information relevant to the above to disclose the same to the
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, including but not limited to any and all courts, public agencies, law enforcement agencies and credit
bureaus, regardless of whether such person, business entity or governmental agency compiled the information itself or received it from other sources.

| understand that any false statement(s) and/or misrepresentation(s) given by me on this application or on any attachments will be punishable under
Tennessee Code Annotated § 62-35. Therefore, | certify that all answers, statements, and information given herein and on any attachments, are true and
correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

(Signature of Applicant)

Subscribed and sworn to, before me on this day of .20

[NOTARY SEAL]

(Signature of Notary Public)

My commission expires;

| HAVE ENCLOSED: (***Required for Processing***)

O Three (3) 1 x 1 color passport-style photos: (with your name and Social Security Number printed on the back of each)
Place the photos in a small envelope with your name printed on it and attach to the application.

O Copy of your receipt for electronically scanned prints.

O Final Court dispositions (judgements) on any and all charges/arrests.

O Required Application and Registration Fees.
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STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES
500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY
DAVY CROCKETT TOWER
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243-1158

Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act Attestation Instructions
The attached form must be completed and submitted with each application

INSTRUCTIONS: If you are a natural person applying for a license, registration, certification or other benefit
you must:

1.

Attest, under penalty of perjury, to your status as either a United States citizen, a qualified alien as
defined in Tennessee’s Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act, or a foreign national not physically
present in the United States, by selecting your status in Part A below signing on the line labeled
“Applicant’s Signature,” printing your name on the line labeled “Printed Name” and putting the current

date on the line labeled “Date.”

AND

Do one (1) of the following:

2,

If you are claiming United States citizenship, present one (1) of the forms of identification provided for
in Part B below. If you provided your Social Security Number as part of your application for
licensure, registration, certificate or other benefit, no additional documentation is required;
however, please be aware that efforts may be made to verify any such number.

If you are claiming qualified alien status, present two (2) forms of documentation of identity and
immigration status, as determined by the United States Department of Homeland Security to be
acceptable for verification through the SAVE program, as provided in Part C below.

If you are claiming qualified alien status but you are unable to present two (2) forms of documentation
provided for in Part C of this form, then you shall present at least one (1) such document that shall then
be verified through the SAVE program.

or

If you are claiming you are foreign national not physically present in the United States, contact the
program issuing the license, registration, certification or other benefit for which you are applying to
provide such documentation as may be required to verify such status.

IN-1806 (Rev. 07/14) RDA 10222



Page 2 of 3

Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act Attestation

Tennessee Private Protective Services

Part A. Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act Attestation

I hereby attest under penalty of perjury that I am (select one):

A United States citizen;
A qualified alien as defined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-58-102;'

A foreign national not physically present in the United States. Further, I understand that should I ever
become physically present in the United States while I hold this license, registration, certification or
other benefit I agree to immediately contact the issuing agency and provide documentation to confirm
my status as a qualified alien.

Applicant’s Signature

Printed Name Date

Submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this
application or any violation of the Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act may result in the
revocation of any license, registration, certification or other benefit issued to the applicant. A person who
willfully makes a false, fictitious or fraudulent statement or representation of United States citizenship

may be prosecuted under 18 U.S.C. § 911 and/or the False Claims Act, T.C.A. §§ 4-18-101, et seq.

1 . . . .
Qualified alien means “A qualified alien as defined by 8 U.S.C. § 1641(b)” or “An alien or nonimmigrant eligible to receive state or local public benefits
under 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a).” Pursuant to those statutes, this includes, but is not necessarily limited to:

An alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1101 et seq.];

An alien who is granted asylum under section 208 of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1158];

A refugee who is admitted to the United States under section 207 of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C.A. § 1157];

An alien who is paroled into the United States under section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1182(d)(5)] for a

period of at least 1 year;

° An alien whose deportation is being withheld under section 243(h) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1253] (as in effect
immediately before the effective date of section 307 of division C of Public Law 104-208) or section 241(b}(3) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1231(b)(3)] (as amended by section 305(a) of division C of Public Law 104-208);

. An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to section 203(a)(7) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1153(a)(7)] as in
effect prior to April 1, 1980;

o An alien who is a Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980);

° A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. §§ 1101, et seq.];

) An alien who is paroled into the United States under section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1182 (d)(5)] for less

than one year.

IN-1806 (Rev. 07/14) RDA 10222
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Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act Additional Required Documentation
TENNESSEE PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES

Part B. If you are claiming United States citizenship, you must present one (1) of the following:

A valid Tennessee driver license or photo identification license issued by the Department of Safety;
A valid driver license or photo identification license from another state where the issuance requirements
are at least as strict as those in Tennessee, as determined by the Department of Safety;
e An official birth certificate issued by a state, jurisdiction or territory of the United States, including Puerto
Rico, United States Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Swains Island, or Guam;
provided that Puerto Rican birth certificates issued before July 1, 2010, shall not be recognized;
A United States government-issued certified birth certificate;
A valid, unexpired United States passport;
A United States certificate of birth abroad (DS-1350 or FS-545);
A report of birth abroad of a citizen of the United States (FS-240);
A certificate of citizenship (N560 or N561);
A certificate of naturalization (N550, N570 or N578);
A United States citizen identification card (I-197, 1-179);
Any successor document of those listed at Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-58-103(c)(4)-(9); or
A social security number that may be verified with the Social Security Administration in accordance
with federal law (if you provided your social security number as part of your application for
licensure, no additional documentation is required; however, please be aware that efforts may be
made to verify any such number).

Part C. If you are claiming qualified alien status, you must present two (2) forms of documentation of
identity and immigration status, as determined by the United States Department of Homeland Security to
be acceptable for verification through the SAVE program. Such forms of identification may include:

[-327 (Reentry Permit);

[-551 (Permanent Resident Card);,

[-571 (Refugee Travel Document);

1-766 (Employment Authorization Card);

Certificate of Citizenship;

Naturalization Certificate;

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language);

Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport or [-94);

Unexpired Foreign Passport;

WT/WB Admission Stamp in Unexpired Foreign Passport

I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status);

DS-2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status);

Any other document determined by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to be acceptable through the
Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) program created pursuant to the federal Immigration
Reform and Control Act of 1986.

Part D. If you are claiming qualified alien status, but you are unable to present two (2) forms of
documentation as described in Part C, then you shall present at least one (1) such document as described
in Part C, which shall then be verified through the SAVE program.

Part E. If you are claiming that you are a foreign national not physically present in the United States,
please contact the program issuing the license, registration, certification or other benefit for which you
are applying to provide such documentation as may be required to verify such status.

IN-1806 (Rev. 07/14) RDA 10222



