
 

 

                                            
STATE OF TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 
Insurance Division – Agent Licensing 

500 James Robertson Parkway  
Nashville, TN  37243-1134 

615 741-2693 
Fax:  615-532-2862                        ce.agent.licensing@tn.gov 

 
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR 

RESIDENT INSURANCE PRODUCERS REQUIRED TO TAKE EXAMINATIONS 
 

An “Insurance Producer” is a person required to be licensed under the laws of Tennessee to Sell, Solicit or Negotiate insurance. 
 

General Requirements 
 

1. The applicant is at least eighteen (18) years of age. 
2. Resides in Tennessee. 
3. The applicant is competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and has a good business reputation. 
4. The applicant is required to pass a written examination and complete a prelicensing course of  study thru an approved education 

provider for each line of insurance for which an insurance license is requested.  Such course of study must consist of the following 
minimum number of hours.  Approved education providers can be found at Pearsonvue.com.  

 
Lines of Insurance    Number of Hours 
 
Life        20  

  Accident & Health            20 
  Property                  20 
  Casualty       20 
  Title                 20 
  Personal Lines             20 

 
Application Procedure 

 
1. Complete prelicensing education requirements through an approved prelicensing education provider for the line(s) of insurance for 

which you wish  to be licensed (Provider will complete prelicensing certification.)  
2. Schedule your examination with PearsonVue.  (Phone:  (800) 274-4957) 
       You must present your Prelicensing Education Certificate at the exam site on the day of examination. 
3. Fingerprint based background check is required -- see attached instructions. 
4. Pass the required examination.  PearsonVue will electronically submit your scores to the department. 
5. Submit your application and filing fee ($50.00) to the TN Department of Commerce and Insurance electronically at www.nipr.com 

OR file the paper Uniform Application.  YOU MUST WAIT 48 HOURS FROM TAKING THE EXAMINATION TO SUBMIT 
YOUR APPLICATION ELECTRONICALLY.  Processing time for paper applications is 15 days from receipt in the Agent 
Licensing Section. 

6. You will be issued a license by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance once you pass your examination and the 
Department of Commerce and Insurance is satisfied that you meet all other licensing requirements.  THE TENNESSEE 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE MAKES THE FINAL DECISION AS TO WHETHER TO LICENSE 
ANY APPLICANT UNDER TENNESSEE INSURANCE LAW. 
 
An insurance producer shall not act as an agent of an insurer unless the insurance producer becomes an appointed agent of that 
insurer.  The appointing insurer shall file within fifteen days from the date the agency contract is executed or the first insurance 
application is submitted. 
 
TCA 56-6-101 – 56-6-126 
Departmental Rule 0780-1-56                                                                                                                                                                      Revised 8/2011 
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Registering for Fingerprinting 
 

 
 
Online Registration  
 
Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  
 
      1. Go to www.identogo.com  
      2. Click on Tennessee map  
      3. Enter required information: name, agency (Department of Commerce and Insurance), choose type:    
 
            TN Insurance Producer - ORI # TN920680Z  (Transaction Type – IP) 
 
            TN Public Adjuster – ORI# TN920560Z  
 
            TN Navigator/CAC - ORI# TN920783Z 
 
       4. Follow prompts for locations and payment   
 
 
 
If you need assistance, call 1- (855) 226-2937 to speak to a representative.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Insurance Producers - Departmental Rule 0780-1-56, Rev. 4/14  
Public Adjusters - T.C.A. 56-6-901 – 56-6-920 
Procedures Rev. 08/2011 
Navigators/CAC –T.C.A. 56-6-1301 - 1305 
T.C.A. 56-1-107 
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FINGERPRINTING 
 

APPLICANT RECORD NOTIFICATION 
 

 
 
Notification 
 
Fingerprints submitted will be used to check the criminal history records of the TBI and FBI. 
 
 
 
Obtaining Copy 
 
Procedures for obtaining a copy of FBI criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR), Section 16.30 through 16.33 or go to the FBI website at http://www.fbi.gov/about-
us/cjis/background-checks 
 
 
 
Change, Correction or Updating 
 
Procedures for obtaining a change correction or updating of an FBI criminal history record are set forth at Title 
28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 
STATE OF TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 
 

PRELICENSING EDUCATION 
PROOF OF COMPLETION 

 
 

(Form Must Be Completed by Prelicensing Provider and Presented at the Exam Site)  
 
 
Name:_______________________________   Social Security No. ___________________  
 
Address:_____________________________ 
  
              _____________________________ 
 
 
     Name of Provider    Authorization No.                           No. of Hours                                Lines of Insurance                             Date Completed 

 
1. ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3. ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

TYPE OF LICENSE REQUESTED 
 
 

___Life     ___Accident & Health     ___Property     ___Casualty     ___Personal Lines     ___Title 
 

 
I certify that I personally completed the above   I certify that the above named student has  
course (s).          successfully completed the prelicensing  
                                                                                                            course listed above.  
 
 
______________________________________   __________________________________ 
Student’s Signature       Instructor’s Signature 
 
______________________________________   __________________________________ 
Date         Name of Instructor (Typed or Printed)  
 
         __________________________________ 
         Date 
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