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Instructions for Preparation of the Tennessee Health Care
Liability Reporting Form for Facilities and Providers for
the Reporting Period of January 1, 2015 through
December 31, 2015

Reporting Entity

To determine whether an individual, company or other entity qualifies as a “reporting
entity” under the law, please refer to the Tennessee Health Care Liability Reporting Act
(“Act”), TENN. CoDE ANN. 88 56-54-101, et seq.

TENN. CODE ANN. 88 56-54-101, et seq., may be viewed by entering the statute number
in the “Search” box at the following web address:

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/tncode/.

Determining the applicability of the Act is the responsibility of each reporting entity.

Penalties

Failure to submit all required information in the reporting form prescribed by the
Commissioner on or before the March 1 deadline may subject a reporting entity to a
penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) per day in accordance with TENN. CODE ANN. §
56-54-109. For those reporting in a timely manner, the Division will notify you if there
are questions or if corrections are necessary. You will be allowed seven (7) days from
the date of the notification to answer or correct the issues before penalties of one hundred
dollars ($100) per day may begin accruing.

Submit Claims Information

All entities who have claims information to report must compile the data on the 2015
reporting form prescribed by the Department. The Tennessee Health Care Liability
Reporting Form for Facilities and Providers (“reporting form”) can be found at the
Department’s website at http://www.tn.gov/commerce/article/ins-health-insurance-
information. Reporting entities must use Excel 2010 software and format extension
XIsx when completing this form. The completed and compliant reporting form must be
submitted on compact disk (“CD”) to the address listed at the end of these instructions.
The reporting entity name must be clearly marked on the CD. Please be assured that the
report shall not identify any individual entity or health care provider pursuant to TENN.
CODE ANN. 8 56-54-111.



http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/tncode/
http://www.tn.gov/commerce/article/ins-health-insurance-information
http://www.tn.gov/commerce/article/ins-health-insurance-information
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The CD containing a complete and compliant report must be received at the address listed
at the end of these instructions on or before March 1, 2016.

If there are no new or closed claims for 2015 and no previous pending claims, there is
nothing to report. Send an electronic notice to the address listed on the back page of
these instructions stating the facts.

Information and Guidelines for the 2015 Reporting Form due March 1,
2016:

e The reporting form is a Microsoft Excel workbook that contains three (3) separate
worksheets for pending claims, closed claims, and multiple attorneys. It is
essential that the reporting entity use the appropriate worksheet to report all
claims. Once the form is opened, folder-like tabs should be seen at the bottom of
the screen, identifying “pending,” “closed,” and “multiple attorney” tabs.

e A separate reporting form must be submitted for each individual reporting entity
in the format prescribed by the Commissioner. Group reporting cannot be
accepted.

e All data submitted in the reporting form must be submitted on a CD in the form
prescribed by the Commissioner. Reporting entities must use the updated form
dated 2015 in Excel 2010 software. If any other form is used, it will be rejected.
Rejected submissions will cause the reporting entity to be in non-compliance and
penalties set forth in the Act may apply. DO NOT cut and paste from software
previous to Excel 2010. Previous software such as Excel 1997-2003 is not
compatible with Excel 2010.

e DO NOT delete rows within the form or all the formula checks established will
not work appropriately. Rather than delete the row entirely, delete the
information entered in the row. It is permissible to leave a row blank when
necessary, as long as every field in the row is blank.

e No encrypted reports will be accepted.

e Instructions have been embedded within the reporting form. To view the
instructions for filling out the form, hold the cursor over each row under the
column heading. These instructions explain the correct formatting and type of
data required. In some instances if the reporting entity attempts to include
information in a format other than the established format, an error message will
occur.

e The reporting form will expand to include additional rows as needed to
accommaodate the number of claims to be reported.

e No column which requires currency data should contain a negative number. No
currency data field should be left blank. If no currency data is applicable to a
specific field, leave the dash (-) already in the field or enter a zero (0). The
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currency fields are programmed in an accounting format; so, when zero (0) is
entered, it will automatically be replaced with a dash (-).

e Do not enter a space at the beginning of any column. Use the tab key to navigate
across the row.

e When drop down menus are available, choose from the selections provided. Do
not type in these fields.

e All data located in columns should be in alpha-numeric format unless otherwise
stated. When using numeric data, only use zero (0) or round to the nearest dollar
amount.

e In addition to any new or closed claims, the reporting form shall contain
information identifying any claims which were contained in a prior report as a
pending claim. If a claim was disclosed on the previous year’s report and the
claim number was changed, identify the old and new claim numbers in a cover
letter.

e Reporting entities must complete the contact information at the top of the
reporting form on the pending and closed worksheets. This portion of the
reporting form includes shaded areas. This information is required to confirm
compliance with the Act.

e When a claim has been filed against more than one defendant (companion claim),
each subsequent claim must include an incident identifier. The incident identifier
for each companion claim must be identified with a hyphen (-) and a letter of the
alphabet beginning with A, B, C, etc.

e All licensed healthcare providers and facilities have a license number issued by
the Tennessee Department of Health (DOH) or by the Tennessee Department of
Mental Health & Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS). The DOH license
number should be expressed numerically without any other characters [e.qg. --
hyphens (-)] or spaces within the license number.

To verify a DOH license number for a facility, please visit the DOH website at
https://apps.health.tn.gov/Facilities_L.istings/facilities.htm.

To verify a license number for a provider, please visit the DOH website at
https://apps.health.tn.gov/Licensure/default.aspx.

To verify if a TDMHSAS facility is licensed, please visit the TDMHSAS website
at
https://mh.tn.gov/Licensure/Inquiry.aspx?RPT=TDMHSAS%20L.icense%20Inqui
ry.

If the facility or provider is not required to have a DOH or TDMHSAS license,
enter not applicable as “NA” in this field.

e Choices for columns 4 (Specialty), 10 (Location) and 12 (City/Town) are
contingent upon the related prior columns being completed first. For instance,
drop-down menu choices for column 4 (Specialty) will not be available until a
choice is made for column 3 (Provider Type).

e If a lawsuit was filed and a specific dollar amount was claimed in the lawsuit,
enter the dollar amount claimed in column 20. If the lawsuit states, “...in excess



https://apps.health.tn.gov/Facilities_Listings/facilities.htm
https://apps.health.tn.gov/Licensure/default.aspx
https://mh.tn.gov/Licensure/Inquiry.aspx?RPT=TDMHSAS%20License%20Inquiry
https://mh.tn.gov/Licensure/Inquiry.aspx?RPT=TDMHSAS%20License%20Inquiry
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of...” and then a specific dollar amount, enter this dollar amount as the damages
claimed by the lawsuit.

e If there is no lawsuit filed, the docket number should be left blank. If a date field
is not applicable, such as date of judgment when no lawsuit has been filed, it may
be left blank. Also, if there is no judgment, the column that would indicate to
whom the judgment favored should be left blank. If there was no judgment, the
column that would indicate whether there was a resolution prior to trial should be
left blank. No other columns should be left blank.

e The Non-Economic Payments should be the insuring entities best estimate.

e The reporting form shall contain the name and mailing address of the claimant’s
attorney. This must be the name of the individual attorney, not the name of the
law firm. If there was more than one (1) attorney who worked on the claim, the
word “multi” should be placed in each name and address field of the attorney;
then, each attorney’s information should be provided on the multiple attorney tab
of the worksheet. If the case was “pro bono” or “pro se,” the appropriate words
should be placed in each name and address field of the attorney. If there was no
attorney, enter none or “NA,” as appropriate in each name and address field of the
attorney.

e There is an embedded formula in columns 56-100 (pending tab) and 57-102
(closed tab) checking for the presence of a correct entry in columns listed in their
individual headings. If information has been correctly entered in each column, a
prompt of “Good” should appear on each row under the columns listed above. If
“Good” does not show in the prompt columns, check the column heading showing
“Not Good” or “Required” and change information in those specific columns.
“Good” should, then, appear in the prompt columns. If “CHECK” appears in the
prompt column, review the heading column showing the affected columns and
ensure accuracy of the data entered in these fields. If not, repeat the process until
the incorrect information is located and corrected, and “Good” or “CHECK”
appears in all prompt columns listed above.

Information Not in the Reporting Entity’s Control

If information is not reported because it is not within the control of the reporting entity,
the reporting entity should document the action(s) it undertook in an effort to obtain such
information and provide such documentation to the Department. The Department expects
the reporting entity to use due diligence to discern the facts required to be reported.

Please note that the above instruction does not apply to the license existence or license
number of the healthcare provider or facility. Such license information is readily
accessible on the Tennessee Department of Health or Tennessee Department of Mental
Health & Substance Abuse Services websites as noted above and must be included in the
reporting form. Failure to provide such information will cause the reporting entity to be
in non-compliance and penalties outlined in the Act may apply.
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Contact Information

A completed and compliant reporting form should be marked “Confidential” and mailed
to the address listed below.

Questions should be sent in writing via U.S. Mail, hand delivered, facsimile, or electronic
message to the following:

Tennessee Health Care Liability Reporting

c/o Ms. Jacquie Fortenberry

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Insurance Division — Policy Analysis Section

Davy Crockett Tower

500 James Robertson Parkway

Nashville, Tennessee 37243-1133

Telephone: (615) 532-5340

Facsimile: (615) 741-0648
Jacquie.Fortenberry@tn.gov



mailto:Jacquie.Fortenberry@state.tn.us

