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QUESTION 

 
When a registrant under the Industrial Loan and Thrift Companies Act makes 

a loan to a borrower pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403(b), can the registrant 
include the acquisition charge as part of the “principal” when computing the 
borrower’s loan charges? 

 
OPINION 

 
 No.   

  
ANALYSIS 

 
Industrial loan and thrift companies, industrial banks, and industrial 

investment companies in Tennessee are regulated by the Industrial Loan and Thrift 
Companies Act (“Act”), Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 45-5-101 to -612, and such an entity 
desiring to do business in this State must obtain a certificate of registration from the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions, Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-103.  Entities 
registering under the Act are described as “registrants.”  Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-
102(20). 

 
Registrants have the power to “[l]end money with or without security and to 

take as security real or personal property, or both.”  Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-301(1).  
They also have the power to charge interest, as well as loan charges.  Tenn. Code 
Ann. § 45-5-301(2) and (3).  Loan charges, though, are subject to the limitations set 
forth in Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-301(3).   

 
There are two sets of permissible loan charges under Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-

403—one set is contained in subsection (a) and the other is contained in subsection 
(b).  The set contained in subsection (a) can be traced to 1979,1 the year the Act was 
substantially rewritten.2  The set contained in subsection (b) was added by the 

1  See 1979 Tenn. Pub. Acts, ch. 204. 
 
2  In response to the 1978 amendment to Art. XI, § 7, of the Tennessee Constitution, the General 
Assembly enacted legislation reforming the statutes on interest and usury.  Included in the package 
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General Assembly in 2000 “for the sole purpose” of providing an “alternative set of 
charges.”  2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts, ch. 684, Preamble.  See Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-
403(b) (“As an alternative to the loan charges permitted under subsection (a) and 
interest permitted under § 45-5-301, a registrant may charge loan charges in amounts 
no greater than, the following: . . . .”). 

 
When subsection (b) was originally enacted, it established an alternative set of 

charges for loans up to $1,000.  The registrant was allowed an “acquisition charge” in 
an amount “not in excess of seven and one half percent (7.5 %) of the amount of the 
principal.”  The registrant was also allowed a monthly installment-account handling 
charge that varied depending on the amount of the loan.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-
403(b)(1) (2000).  The minimum term of a loan under subsection (b) was three months; 
the maximum term was 12 months.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403(b)(2) (2000).  All of 
these figures have since been increased.3   

 
The Act’s definition of “principal” includes certain loan changes.   
 
“Principal” means the total of money paid to, received by, or paid or 
credited to the account of the borrower, including loan charges as 
provided in Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403(1), (2) and (3), as applicable, and 
including insurance charges for which the borrower contracts to pay 
pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-305.  
 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-102(19).  If the phrase “loan charges as provided in Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 45-5-403(1), (2), and (3)” in this definition were to refer to the loan 
charges set forth in § 45-5-403(b), then a registrant would arguably be able to include 
the acquisition charge described in subsection (b) as part of the principal when 
computing a borrower’s loan charges under subsection (b).  But it does not.  

 
The phrase “loan charges as provided in § 45-5-403(1), (2) and (3), as 

applicable” refers only to the loan charges set forth in Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403(a).  
When the Act was rewritten in 1979, “principal” was defined as “the total of money 
paid to, received by, or paid or credited to the account of the borrower, including loan 
charges as provided in Section 11(1), (2) and (3) hereof, as applicable, and including 
insurance charges for which the borrower contracts to pay pursuant to Section 12 

of reform legislation enacted in 1979 was the Industrial Loan and Thrift Companies Act.  Hathaway 
v. First Family Financial Servs., Inc., 1 S.W.3d 634, 638 (Tenn. 1999) (citing Pacific E. Corp. v. Gulf 
Life Holding Co., 902 S.W.2d 946, 953-54 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1995)).     
 
3 In 2012, subsection (b) was amended to allow loans up to $2000.  The acquisition charge was 
increased to an amount “not in excess of ten percent (10%) of the amount of principal.”  The monthly 
installment-account handling charge was also increased.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403(b)(1).  And the 
permissible term of a loan under subsection (b) was lengthened to 25 months.  Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-
5-403(b)(2). 
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hereof.”  1979 Tenn. Pub. Acts, ch. 204, § 1.  Section 11(1), (2), and (3) of Chapter 204 
was codified in Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403(1), (2) and (3) (1980).  It was not until the 
Act was amended in 2000 that Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403 came to have a subsection 
(a) and a subsection (b).  The 2000 amendment designated the existing language of 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403 as subsection (a) and added a new subsection (b).  2000 
Tenn. Pub. Acts, ch. 694, § 1.   

 
The Tennessee Supreme Court has held that the adoption of a statute by 

reference is an adoption of the law as it existed at the time the adopting statute was 
passed.  Roddy Mfg. Co. v. Olsen, 661 S.W.2d 868, 871 (Tenn. 1983).  Subsequent 
modifications of the adopted statute do not affect the adopting statute unless clear 
legislative intent to do so is manifested.  Id.  There is no such intent in this instance.  
When the General Assembly amended Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-5-403 in 2000, it made 
clear that the new set of loan charges in subsection (b) was an “alternative set” of loan 
charges.  Therefore, the loan charges in subsection (b) should not be construed to be 
“loan charges as provided in § 45-5-403(1), (2) and (3).”  See Shore v. Maple Lane 
Farms, LLC, 411 S.W.3d 405, 420 (Tenn. 2013) (statute should be read “without any 
forced or subtle construction which would extend or limit its meaning”); Houghton v. 
Aramark Educ. Resources, Inc., 90 S.W.3d 676, 678 (Tenn. 2002) (statute is not to be 
construed in manner that unduly expands or restricts the statute’s intended scope).  
Consequently, a registrant making a loan to a borrower pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. 
§ 45-5-403(b) cannot include the acquisition charge as part of the principal when it 
computes the borrower’s loan charges. 
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