The theme for this year’s conference is “Improving Communications: they Key to Improving Outcomes” and it will be conducted June 13-15, 2017.
Remember: We have moved to the beautiful and spacious Embassy Suites Nashville Southeast—Murfreesboro. This site has much more space for presenters, attendees, exhibitors, and tons of free parking! We have arranged a special conference hotel rate of $159.00 per night, available by calling 615-890-4464 and asking for the “TWC” conference rate.
As of May 9, rooms at the $159.00 group rate are sold out. Check with the hotel for cancellations or standard rate rooms. There are numerous nearby hotels; a partial list is provided for your convenience.
Continuing Education applications have been submitted for attorneys (CLE), human resource professionals (SHRM) and rehabilitation providers (CRC, CDMS, CCM).
3rd Annual Physicians/Attorney Education Conference
Registration is now open for the 3rd Annual Physicians/Attorney Education Conference. Please join as The Guest House at Graceland in Memphis hosts us on June 10-11, 2017. Saturday's sessions will teach the proper application of the AMA Guides™ to Permanent Evaluation, 6th Edition. Sunday's session will cover medical and legal aspects of a workers' compensation claim, including how to determine medical causation.
Attorneys: This event has been approved for 13.42 hours of general CLE credit.
Physicians: Both Saturday and Sunday sessions have been approved for CME, 8 and 4 hours respectively.
The Bureau Welcomes Memphis Judge, Deana Seymour!
The Bureau of Workers’ Compensation announces the appointment of Deana Seymour as a trial judge on the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims. Ms. Seymour will sit in Memphis after her swearing-in on April 5, 2017. One judge currently sits in Memphis: the Honorable Jim Umsted, who will retire the first week of April.
Get BWC Updates via Email!
Want to stay up to date on all thing workers’ compensation for Tennessee? Interested in upcoming Bureau events, legislative changes, and rule revisions? If so, subscribe to our external newsletter today! You'll find a slew of informational gems with each edition. Highlighting breaking news, updates, and event notices, plenty of resources are provided to make it easier than ever to stay in the loop with what's happening at the Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation.
Medical Form Update: Attending Physician's Report is No Longer Necessary
Updated Medical Forms: Please note that the Form C-30 | Attending Physician's Report" has been removed and is no longer necessary. The revised forms C-30A | Final Medical Report, C-32 | Standard Form Medical Report for Industrial Injuries, and C-35A | Notice of Appeal Rights for a Utilization Review Denial should be used.
Congratulations Administrator Hudgens!
Abbie Hudgens was recently elected to the 2016 - 2017 IAIABC Board of Directors!
New rules for Mediations and Hearing Procedures take effect November 30, 2016
New rules regarding mediations and hearing procedures take effect November 30, 2016.
The 2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act has been in effect for two years. When the General Assembly passed the Act, there were questions about its potential impact. Answers to many of those questions are emerging and today, Tennessee’s workers’ compensation system is more balanced and consistent, less costly, and resolves conflicts more rapidly.2016 Annual Report to the General Assembly
Important Announcement Regarding Training Requirements for the Drug-Free Workplace Program
Are you also interested in cutting your workers’ compensation claims and premiums? If so, you might be interested in knowing as a result of the Public Chapter No. 1056 passage, requirements for being certified as a TN Drug-Free Workplace Program (DWFP) have been simplified.Drug-Free Workplace Program
New Rules for Case Managers Effective August 29, 2016
New rules for case managers involved in workers' compensation claims go into effect on August 29, 2016. Most provisions will be effective on January 1, 2017.Frequently Asked Questions
New Program Allows Public Registration for Notification Service Regarding an Employer's Early Cancelation of Worker's Compensation Insurance Coverage
Tennessee Bureau of Worker's Compensation is proud to offer the ability to register and receive notification of worker's compensation insurance policies that have been canceled prematurely.
Important Announcement Regarding EDI Claims Filing
The Bureau of Workers’ Compensation will begin tracking the number of rejected EDI filings that are not corrected and re-filed.
Historical Maximum and Minimum Comp Rate Table
2016 Legislative Update
This is a general overview of workers' compensation legislation passed by the 109th General Assembly.
Coverage Verification App
NCCI Announces Workers Compensation Coverage Verification Service Mobile App
NCCI’s mobile application called “Workers Compensation Coverage Verification” is now available through the Apple Store.
Workers Compensation Coverage Verification (WCCV) will be the mobile answer to verifying workers compensation coverage on the go in over 30 states. Whether you’re an employee, doctor, lawyer or a general contractor and you need to determine if workers comp insurance is in force or was in force on a particular date in time, the WCCV app will provide insight to coverage information.
Look for the app in the Apple Store now!