Skip to Content

Tennessee Do Not Fax Program

The Tennessee Do-Not-Fax Program is a consumer protection initiative passed into law by the Tennessee General Assembly. Administered by the Tennessee Regulatory Authority (TRA) the program was established to provide relief to Tennessee citizens from unwanted fax advertisements.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: What qualifies as an "unwanted fax advertisement?"
The Do-Not-Fax law defines it as "any material advertising the commercial availability or quality of any property, goods, or services, that is transmitted by fax to any person located within the State of Tennessee without such person's prior express invitation or permission, and is transmitted from Tennessee or elsewhere for the purpose of offering the extension of credit or encouraging the purchase or rental of, or investment in, property, goods, or services."

Q: Who can participate in the program?
Everyone. The Tennessee Do Not Fax program protects all residents, businesses, schools, etc. within the state.

Q: Is there a fee to participate?
No. The program is free of charge!

Q: How do I sign-up?
You don't! The law that governs the program's operation requires that advertisers sending fax transmissions must obtain your permission before a fax advertisement is sent.

Q: I receive an unwanted fax after I have notified the fax advertiser to stop, what should I do?
If you receive a fax transmission from an advertiser that has not obtained your permission, you may contact the TRA to file a formal complaint.

Q: How do I file a complaint?
Complaints can be filed with the TRA by downloading the complaint form (scroll to the bottom of this page for the form) and mailing it to the TRA. Please send a copy of the original fax with your complaint form.

The DNF complaint form can be mailed or faxed to you by calling toll-free 1-800-342-8359 or 615-770-6897

Q: What should I expect from the TRA after my complaint is filed?
Every consumer complaint filed with the TRA is addressed and is replied to by a member of our staff. We will investigate your complaint and respond back to you with the results of our findings.

Q: What is the penalty for sending unsolicited fax advertisements?
The law that governs the operation of this program has authorized the TRA to initiate proceedings relative to the violation of the state's law. Violators of the law may face a civil penalty of up to a maximum of $2,000 for each violation. Each page of each unsolicited fax transmission may embody a separate violation. Moreover, the state law permits the TRA to seek additional remedies in any court of competent jurisdiction that we deem necessary.

Q: What happens if an advertiser continues to send faxes after they have been instructed to cease?
The law that governs the operation of this program has authorized the TRA to initiate proceedings relative to the violation of the state's law. Violators of the law may face a civil penalty of up to a maximum of $2,000 for each violation. Each page of each unsolicited fax transmission may embody a separate violation. Moreover, the state law permits the TRA to seek additional remedies in any court of competent jurisdiction that we deem necessary.

Q: Exemptions - What is NOT covered by this program?

  1. The Tennessee Do-Not-Fax Program does not cover transmissions delivered to an email address. That would qualify as "spam".
  2. The Tennessee program does not cover every unsolicited fax transmission only advertisements.
  3. A not for profit membership organization exempt from paying taxes is exempt if the fax is made by a bona fide member, volunteer, or direct employee of the organization to its current membership.

Q: What are the requirements for business fax advertisements?
  1. Any transmission by facsimile machine shall include in a margin at the top or bottom of each page or on the first page of the transmitted page the date and time of the transmission;
  2. An identification of the business, other entity, or individual sending the message; and
  3. The telephone number of the sending machine or of such business, other entity or individual.

For non-registration questions, call 615-770-6897 or 1-800-342-8359.