Public Transit Services

Sit back, relax and let someone else deal with the traffic. Compared to driving, public transportation is less expensive, safer, and better for the environment.  It reduces traffic congestion, saves energy, and benefits the communities it serves.

Public Transportation is available in every county in Tennessee, with a wide range of services.

Below are links to information about public transit services in Tennessee. Options include fixed-route service, demand-response service, express buses, local shuttles, and complementary paratransit in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

Urbanized and Municipal Systems

West Tennessee
Memphis Area Transit Authority (MATA)
: Transit service in Memphis, West Memphis, and parts of Shelby County

Middle Tennessee
Nashville MTA: Transit service in Nashville-Davidson County
Music City Star: commuter train connecting Nashville-Davidson County and Wilson County with stops in Martha, Mt. Juliet, Hermitage, Donelson, and downtown Nashville​
Regional Transit Authority (RTA) of Middle Tennessee:  Commuter service between downtown Nashville and outlying communities of Murfreesboro, Smyrna, LaVergne, Hendersonville, Gallatin, Springfield, Joelton, Pleasant View, Franklin, Clarksville, Dickson,  and Spring Hill​
Murfreesboro Rover: Transit service in Murfreesboro
Clarksville Transit System: Transit service in Clarksville
Franklin Transit Authority: Fixed route and on-demand transit service in Franklin

East Tennessee
Gatlinburg Mass Transit: trolley service in and around Gatlinburg and surrounding areas
Pigeon Forge Fun Time Trolley: trolley service in Pigeon Forge and Sevierville
Johnson City Transit: fixed-route service around Johnson City
Kingsport Area Transit Service: fixed-route service in the Kingsport area
Bristol Tennessee Transit: fixed-route service in the Bristol area
Chattanooga Area Regional Transportation Authority (CARTA): mass transit in the Chattanooga area
Knoxville Area Transit (KAT): mass transit in the City of Knoxville
Knox County Community Action Committee (CAC) Transit: on-demand transit service in Knox County
Cleveland Urban Area Transit System (CUATS): fixed-route service in the Cleveland area
Lakeway Area metropolitan Planning Organization (LAMPTO) Transit: door-to-door, non-emergency transportation services in Morristown, Jefferson City, White Pine, and Hamblen and Jefferson Counties
Oak Ridge Transit: door-to-door transportation services within the city of Oak Ridge


West Tennessee
Delta Human Resource Agency (DHRA): online resource for Fayette, Lauderdale, Tipton and non-urban Shelby Counties
Northwest Tennessee Human Resource Agency (NWTHRA): online resource for Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Henry, Lake, Obion, and Weakley Counties
Southwest Human Resource Agency (SWHRA): online resource for Chester, Decatur, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, and McNairy Counties

Middle Tennessee
Mid-Cumberland Human Resource Agency (MCHRA): online resource for Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
South Central Tennessee Development District (SCTDD): online resource for Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, Perry, and Wayne Counties
Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency (UCHRA): online resource for Cannon, Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Smith, Van Buren, Warren, and White Counties

East Tennessee
Southeast Tennessee Human Resource Agency (SETHRA): online resource for Bledsoe, Bradley, Grundy, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Polk, Rhea, and Sequatchie Counties
East Tennessee Human Resource Agency (ETHRA): online resource for Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier and Union Counties
Northeast Tennessee Rural Public Transit (NET Trans): online resource for Carter, Greene, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi and Washington Counties (operated by First Tennessee Human Resource Agency (FTHRA)