Notification Options Are Now Available!
You can now get notifications from your licensing board or commission related to the following:
New or Amended Statutes - New or Updated Rules
Changes to Fees - Rulemaking Hearings related to Fees
Significant Changes Impacting Your License - Changes to Policies
FYI - A Tennessee contractor's license is required first prior to bidding, contracting or offering a price to perform work! (...more info)
A Contractor's license is required for projects $25,000 or more, when acting as one of the following:
*Roofing subcontractors must be licensed as a contractor, effective January 1, 2014, in addition to performing work currently as a prime.
2013 Legislative Changes
See more updates at "Laws and Rules"
Licensees may renew the following licenses online: Limited Licensed Electricians; and *Limited Licensed Plumbers! Always allow 30 days for processing!
Contractor and Home Improvement Contractors may partially renew by making the renewal payment and responding to the renewal questions. However, outstanding requirements such as the financial statement, proof of insurance, bonds, etc., cannot be uploaded and must be sent by mail, fax or email in order to complete the renewal process. Licensees will continue to be sent a renewal 90 days prior to expiration date. You may continue to utilize the Board's renewal form or financial balance sheet from the "Forms and Downloads" or see the "Contractor or Home Improvement for paper renewals. Always allow 30 days for processing!
COMPLAINT FILING RESOURCE
A Tennessee license is first needed before offering to perform or bid work. Reciprocation is not with the license and is only a "TRADE EXAM" waiver with out of state participating agencies.
New! Online Renewals
Online renewals is now available for LLE and LLP. Home Improvement and Contractor licensees may "partially" renew online to pay fees and answer renewal questions. However, to complete the process, the additional required documents, such as the financial statement, proof of insurance, bond, etc., must be mailed, emailed or faxed to the Board office to complete the renewal process. Please send 30 days prior to expiration to allow time to process. Other options to renew are available as follows:
Contractor Renewal Form [pdf]
FAQ's (Frequently Asked Questions)
Revision Resource (Amend or Change a Contractor License)
Secretary of State (Corporate Registration)
Exam Prep Courses
The following schools have been licensed by the Board to offer exam prep courses, which are not required, but available to assist with taking the Board's licensing exams which are provided by PSI Exam Services
Provider Certification and Licensing
The law requires the Board to license and approve schools offering exam preparation courses and those offering medical gas certification. If you are a school and wish to be approved, see the following:
Alarm and Security Systems (Alarm Systems Board)
Asbestos Contractors (TDEC)
Fire Sprinklers (Division of Fire Prevention)
Secretary of State (Corporate/LLC/Partnership Registration)
Well Drillers - Geothermal (TDEC)
Workers' Compensation (Labor and Workforce)
Industry related information for licensing and resources to perform work in Tennessee. See also "FAQ's"
Board for Licensing Contractors
4th Floor, Davy Crockett Tower
500 James Robertson Pkwy.
Nashville, TN 37243-1150
Toll Free: 800-544-7693
500 James Robertson Pkwy
(Unable to accept credit or debit cards, except for "Online Renewals")
NOTE: The Board office is now located on the 4th Floor of the Davy Crockett Tower, located on 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243.
(Eff. May 8, 2013)
The mission of the Board for Licensing Contractors is to assure quality and fair construction practices exist in all phases of the industry in order to protect the safety and welfare of the public. The Board was originally established in 1931, and today remains a bridge between the consumers and contractors of Tennessee. Licensing offers the consumers a mechanism to voice their concerns.