NEW! Online Renewals (See more information below for each license profession)
FORMS AND DOWNLOADS
Applications forms and information may be downloaded for: Contractors (New/Renewal/Revisions); Home Improvement; Limited Licensed Electricians (LLE); Limited Licensed Plumbers (LLP); and Pre-licensed Course Providers. Forms have been arranged in sections:
Browse sections below to obtain the following forms:
Sections 1 - 4: License Information and Requirements (Projects $25,000 and Up)
Section 5: License Information for Projects Less than $25,000 & Other Programs
Section 6: Consumer and Public Resources
Complaint Forms and Public Records Requests
In order to obtain a Contractor's license (required for projects $25,000 or more), the following is the "Application" and "Exam" information to download and print or you may call our office at 1-800-544-7693 and we will be happy to mail you an application package:
The above items are needed to obtain a contractor's license. The forms listed below provide additional information to specific inquires. Many of these forms are included as part of the "Contractor's License Application" instructions section.
Supplemental Forms & Information
Deadline: Contractor's license applications must be received by the Board office prior to the deadline date which is the 20th of the month prior, to the Board meeting. Please allow 5 to 7 business days for mail delivery. More Board meeting information is available at the "Calendar" on the website.
Types of Contractors (Prime, Subcontractors and Construction Managers)
NOTE: If you currently are licensed with a Tennessee Contractor's License and wish to make changes to your existing license, see the "Revision" information in "Section 3".
NEW! Online Renewal for Contractors (Allows "partial" Renewal - Allow 30 days for Processing)
Note: Must send financial statement; proof of GL insurance; workers' compensation; any outstanding renewal documents needed to complete the renewal process. There is not a means to retire a license online at this time. Out-of-state contractors, please ensure you are covered for performing work in Tennessee. You may verify coverage at: https://www.ewccv.com/cvs/ If it does not registered, your renewal may be delayed.
Renewal Resource for Contractors
NOTE: The "Online Renewal" process only allows a means to pay online and answer questions on the renewal form; it does NOT provide an option to attach required documents. Contractor licensees must mail, fax or email the outstanding required documents (proof of insurance, financial statements, and/or responses to questions requiring attachments, etc). Therefore, online renewals will be incomplete for these licensees until information is supplied to the Board. Please return outstanding documents with a copy of your confirmation of online payment to assist in quickly matching up for issuance. We apologize for this inconvenience. Allows allow 30 days for processing!
Supplemental Renewal Instructions and Information
WARNING: A contractor does not have a grace period to continue to contract once the license expires. The law requires renewals to be submitted to the Board 30 days prior to the expiration date in order to prevent working on an expired license, which is considered a violation of law. Renewals submitted without all the required information to renew, cannot be issued and an extension to contract on an expired license cannot be granted. In addition, a license with a "Retired" status is not legal to operate and the same as "unlicensed".
Renewal Due Date: Contractor licenses are renewed biennially and issued for two (2) years. The expiration date is on the last date of the month, in which the license was originally issued. You may check your expiration date online at: License Search and Verification. Renewals should be submitted to the Board's office 30 days prior to the expiration date. Please allow 5 to 7 business days for mail delivery. A license cannot be renewed if has been expired for 12 months; must apply for a reinstatement utilizing the initial contractor's license application.
Renewal Process: Once the renewal form has been received by the Department's Mail Room, it is forwarded to the Cashier's Office in order for the fee to be validated and entered into the computer system. It is then delivered to the Board office for audit, which includes: 1) checking the financial statement to ensure the working capital and net worth supports the current monetary limit; 2) checking for proof of insurance and making sure coverage includes Tennessee; 3) Corporate status is confirmed; and 4) check to see that the "Contractor's Affidavit" was completed, signed and notarized. Any renewal lacking information will be sent a letter notifying the contractor to respond within 30 days. For those not responding within 12 months of the expiration date, the renewal form is placed in archived filing. The Board office cannot fees in their office and must be provided to the Cashier. Send all mail (including express and over-night) to: Department of Commerce and Insurance; 4th Floor Davy Crockett Tower, 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243-1150.
Pending Renewals: Renewals received which lack the required financial supporting documentation, our staff will notify the contractor after the audit with options. It is your responsibility to follow-up to ensure the renewal has been issued. For more clarification to these options or access to the forms needed to complete the renewal, go to: "Renewal-Financial Options" This includes forms such as: Lower Limit Request, Line of Credit, Guaranty Agreement, Financial Statement (not used by CPA), and a Checklist/Worksheet. In order for Contractors to retain renewal rights, they must respond in writing within 12 months of expiration date or place license in "Retirement". Always allow 30 days for processing!
LICENSE REVISION REQUESTS (Most Require Board Review - Deadline date to provide to the Board office is the last day of the month prior to the next Board meeting)
2. Increase Monetary Limit (Raise limit on license)
4. Name Change Application (Change name on license)
5. Qualifying Agent (QA) Add / Change Request (Add or remove a Qualifying Agent)
OTHER - LICENSE CHANGES/UPDATES - SUPPLEMENTAL FORMS & INFORMATION
Deadline Date for License Revision Requests:
Last day of the month prior to the next Board meeting (requests requiring Board approval). See "Public Meetings Calendar" for dates.
Board Approval required for the following revisions: Adding a Classification; Increase Monetary Limit; Name Change; and Mode of Operation Change (transfers). An interview is not required, unless, there are complaints or felony convictions.
These four (4) types of license revision requests must be approved by the Board at their regularly scheduled meetings. Staff must receive in the Board office prior to the deadline date (last day of the month prior to the Board meeting) in order to have in time to process (review, audit, copy for members, add to meeting books, etc.). Please allow 5 to 7 days for mail delivery when submitting prior to the deadline date. Those needing a license revised prior to the Board's next meeting may qualify as a "Hardship" (request for early/emergency review) if the owner of the project needs and supplies the request.
A contractor may apply for the restricted residential license (BC-A/r) and in lieu of taking the exams, may take the course from participating Tennessee state community colleges. Limited to small residential construction of less than $70,000 (based upon financial statement). Cannot joint venture and must include land, materials and labor as part of the total cost.
1. Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) (for projects less than $25,000)
Steps to Applying for an LLE License (Electrical Licensing Website)
LLE Application (Limited Licensed Electrician)
CEU - Continuing Education is not required
Education - Continuing Education is NOT required
Electrical Installation Law (Division of Fire Prevention, TCA 68-102)
Electrical Installation Rules (Division of Fire Prevention)
Electrical - LLE Licensing Rules (Contractors Board)
Exam Information for Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE)
Fire Marshal's Office (Division of Fire Prevention oversees inspections)
>>Note: Proof of insurance is not required for LLE "licensing", however, if you have an employee or work on a project as a sub, you may be required to have coverage according to the labor law.
Reinstatement of Expired LLE (Expired 90 days or more)
>>Note: Proof of insurance is not required for LLE "licensing", however, if you have an employee, you are required by law to provide coverage. In addition, the employer or owner(s) of the electrical business may be required to cover themselves or obtain an exemption as a "Construction Services Provider".
2. Limited Licensed Plumber (LLP) (for projects less than $25,000)
Steps to Applying for an LLP Licenses (Plumber Resource Website)
Education - Continuing Education is NOT required
3. Home Improvement License (Projects $3,000 to $24,999)
NOTE: The following counties have adopted the Home Improvement license law: Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Haywood, Knox, Marion, Robertson, Rutherford and Shelby (Eff. 9/24/10
Steps to Applying for a Home Improvement License Effective August, 2010, all HI applications must be reviewed and approved by the Board at their regular Board meeting (see "Public Meetings Calendar" for schedule). A personal interview is not required, unless, there are descrepancies with the application; felony conviction; or complaint concerns.
Home Improvement License Forms
4. HVAC (Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning)
Check with your local municipality and codes office. There is not a specific state license HVAC license for projects less than $25,000; a contractor's license with CMC-C classification is required for HVAC projects $25,000 or more. A Home Improvement license may be required in the above counties, where there is not a separate HVAC trade license required.
Local jurisdiction may have their own permit, licensing and inspections. Projects $25,000 or more must obtain a Contractor's license (see section 1) with the CMC or CMC-C classification, as a prime or subcontractor.
5. Contractor Pre-License Course Providers
- Application -Contractor Pre-License Course Provider [pdf]
- Revision Request/Report Changes [pdf]
- Rules and Regulations
- Approved Providers [pdf]
- Complaint Info
- Disciplinary Action [pdf]
- Pre-License Course Provider Website
Note: State of Tennessee schools are exempt from obtaining a license with the State as a course provider!
6. Medical Gas
Contractor's License - Must be received by the 20th of the month prior to the Board meeting. This includes new, reinstatements, second or additional license requests, and mergers/reorganziations applicants for a new contractor's license to be issued.
Renewals - Due 30 days prior to the expiration date (to prevent working on an expired license). If fee is submitted prior to the expiration, your renewal status will remain active, however, you cannot contract or perform work where a license is required, until the expiration date is updated showing the license was approved and issued. Licenses with a deliquent status are typically those who owe a late fee.
Contractor Revisions - Contractor's requests to revise or upgrade their license are due by the last day of the month prior to the Board meeting. If Board meets in January, the deadline would be December 31st. Revision requests for Board approval include: Add Classifications; Increase Monetary Limit; Change Mode of Operation; and Name Changes.
Home Improvement Licenses- Must be received by the 20th of the month prior to the Board meeting to ensure it is reviewed at the next meeting.
The only applications with a deadline for receipt, are those which require Board approval and are presented at their regular meetings listed on the "Public Meetings Calendar". "Contractors" and "Home Improvement" are the only license applicants requiring Board approval, unless, there have been complaints, felony convictions; or reinstatements of LLE or LLP to waive the exam. Pre-License Exam Course Provider applications are also approved by the Board. A personal interview is not required unless notified to appear.
A deadline date is required due to the timely review process it takes by staff to ensure the file is in correct order and complete to present at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting. (Rule 0680-1-.02) Those who cannot make the deadline or need the license prior to the next Board meeting, may provide a "Hardship" request if it meets the criteria as a hardship to an owner/consumer.
See "Public Meetings Calendar" for meeting dates.
If you have suggestions for other forms and information, please send an email to: Contractor Suggestion
Return to "Contractor's Home Page"
"Laws and Rules" (Check for changes relative to bidding, licensing and insurance)
Notifications: Sign up on the website to be notified by email of important changes in legislation, newsletters, etc. at: Email Notification List
Disclosure: License applicants are required to provide their Social Security Number (SSN) which will be used for identification purposes, only, and will not be part of public record. This is under the authority of 42 USC 666.
Contact the Board office at 800-544-7693.