Skip to Content

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an amusement device?


What are examples of equipment/devices not considered amusement devices?

 

What does the Department of Labor require to be on file before an amusement ride can be operated?


What are the requirements for registration and commissioning of amusement ride/attraction inspectors in Tennessee?

 

How long is an operator's permit effective?


Why does the Department inspect a ride if it has already been inspected by one of the national organizations?

What happens if an inspector deems a ride is unsafe?

How do I obtain a third-party qualified inspector?


What is an amusement device?
Any mechanical or structural device that carries or conveys a person, or that permits a person to walk along, around or over a fixed or restricted route or course or within a defined area, including the entrances and exits to the device, for the purpose of giving persons amusement, pleasure, thrills or excitement. "Amusement device" includes, but is not limited to, roller coasters, Ferris wheels, merry-go-rounds, glasshouses, and walk-through dark houses.

 

What are examples of equipment/devices not considered amusement devices?
The following are not considered amusement devices: go karts, bungee jumping, water slides, skateboard ramps, and coin-operated rides.

 

What does the Department of Labor require to be on file before an amusement ride can be operated?
State law (Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-121-101) requires amusement ride operators to provide the Department of Labor a certificate of insurance, annual permit, inspection history, and proof that operators are adequately trained.

For specific operation requirements, click here.

 

What are the requirements for registration and commissioning of amusement ride/attraction inspectors in Tennessee?

Prior to submitting inspection reports on amusement rides or attractions in tennessee, each inspector is to be registered and commissioned by the Amusement Device Division of the TN Department of Labor. The following information must be submitted:

  • Inspector's name, address, and phone number
  • Inspector's Social Security number
  • Photocopy of inspector's current AIMS/NAARSO work card
  • Check or money order to cover the fee
    $50 for the initial registration and commission
    $25 for each year's renewal


Current inspectors must be an AIMS/NAARSO level I (minimum) inspector and have a Tennessee commission to insipect amusement rides/attractions.

How long is an operator's permit effective?
A permit to operate an amusement ride is good for one year from the day the permit is issued.


Why is the Department required to inspect a ride if it has already been inspected by one of the national organizations?

The advantage of the required inspection is another set of eyes looks at the amusement ride. Third-party inspections are a measure to make the industry safer. The Department makes the same inspection and makes sure what was found is completed so that everyone who rides a ride in the state of Tennessee will be on a safe, inspected ride.

What happens if an inspector deems a ride is unsafe?
The inspector has the authority to "red tag" the ride, shutting it down until repairs are made.

How do I obtain a third-party qualified inspector?
Persons interested in obtaining a qualified inspector may access the following links, Amusement Industry Manufacturers and Supplies (AIMS) or National Association of Amusement Ride Safety Officials (NAARSO), which provide an up-to-date list of third party certified inspectors who are members of the above-referenced organizations.