Who Needs One?
What Information Must I Provide?
How Will My Application be Processed?
What Fees are Required?
What are My Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
What are the Division's Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
Whom do I contact for assistance?
Division of Solid and Hazardous Waste
TDEC Rule Chapter 1200-1-11-.11: The Standards for the Management of Used Oil
TCA § 65-15-113 Tennessee Water Quality Control Act of 1977
Registered Used Oil Transporters
» All used oil management permits are 'permit-by-rule', meaning that facility operation and maintenance standards are established by regulations and not developed for facilities on an individual basis.
» Applicants use either the Registration or Notification forms to apply for approval to operate a used oil management facility in Tennessee
» Transporters also submit additional documentation for Certification.
» Used oil generators are not required to complete an application; however, they are accountable for meeting generator standards described in the regulations.
» Used Oil Collection Centers are only required to Register.
» All other facilities including transporters, transfer facilities, processors, re-refiners, marketers, and burners of off-specification used oil fuel must complete the Notification process.
» Transporters must provide additional documentation to become Certified in Tennessee.
» All information must be provided to the Used Oil Management Program prior to facility operation.
» Facilities filing a Notification must also submit an application for an EPA ID # if they do not already have one for the physical location of the facility.
|Used Oil Installation Registration and Notification||Form HN-O – CN-1003|
|Used Oil Transporter Certification Requirements||CN-1303|
|Hazardous Waste Generator Notification Fee for EPA ID #||Form NF – CN-1033|
|Used Oil/Universal Waste Annual Fee Determination Sheet||CN-1344|
Once all information has been submitted and approved, you will receive an approval letter and a registration number. All facilities will receive a UOP number.
There is a one-time fee of $150 for each EPA ID number that is issued for transporters, transfer facilities, processors, re-refiners, marketers, and burners of off-specification used oil. Used oil transporters, transfer facilities, processors and re-refiners must also pay an annual maintenance fee.
The rights and responsibilities of the registrants are specified in the Standards for the Management of Used Oil. Basically the applicant has the right to proceed with approved activities according to the rules and conditions specified by the Division. The applicant must notify the Division of Solid Waste Management in writing of changes in facility operation, as described by regulation, within 30 days of the changes. Transporters and processors of used oil must also file an annual report with the Division by March 1st of each year.
It is the responsibility of the Division of Solid Waste Management to regulate the storage, transportation, processing or re-refining, marketing, and burning of off-specification used oil to protect public health and the environment. This includes the right to inspect facilities, issue a Notice of Violation, and pursue further enforcement action if warranted by failure to meet standards established by regulation.