Supervisor Study Council

The purpose of the Supervisors’ Study Council is to:

  • Promote professional growth through participation in in-service activities specifically designed for supervisory personnel in cooperation with the Tennessee Department of Education;
  • Provide an opportunity for the continuous study of problems of the profession;
  • Jointly evaluate, with the Tennessee Department of Education, ongoing instructional programs and recommend changes designed to improve those programs;

Participate in the development of innovative instructional practices so that instructional supervisors can assume statewide leadership roles under the auspices of the council.

Membership

Membership in the Supervisors’ Study Council is open to persons who perform instructional supervisory duties for a school system within the state.

Council Organization

In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in its activities, to keep the council responsive to the needs of its members and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the Department of Education and the supervisors of the state, the Supervisors’ Study Council is organized into nine District Study Councils for meeting purposes.

2013-2014 Membership

DeAnna McClendon

dmcclendon@scsk12.org

Shelby County Schools

Southwest/Memphis

John Cary

Caryj1@k12tn.net

West Carroll Special School District

Northwest

Dr. Vivian McCord

vmccord@dcbe.org

Dickson County

Mid Cumberland

Vicki Mattox

vmaddox@lcss.us

Lawrence County

South Central

Marcia Melton, Secretary

Marcia.Melton@ccstn.com

Cannon County School System

Upper Cumberland

Milburn Harmon

milburn@meigsboe.net

Meigs County School System

Southeast

Jane Morton

Jane.Morton@blountk12.org

Blount County Schools

East Tennessee

Rosie Bailey

Rosie.Bailey@hck12.net

Hawkins County Schools

First Tennessee

Debbie Wiles, Past Chair

wilesd@mauryk12.org

Maury County School System

Tim Rogers, Chair

Henderson County Schools

rogerstim@k12tn.net

Paul Fleming, TDOE Liaison

paul.fleming@tn.gov

Brenda Dean, Chair Elect

brenda_dean@hcboe.net

Hamblen County Schools

Last Update: April 23, 2014