Principal Study Council

The purpose of the Principals Study Council is to promote the continuous improvement of public education in Tennessee by communicating to the State Board of Education and/or the department suggestions for improving education, including task force reports, position papers, and recommendations. Providing in-service education opportunities that are designed to develop the leadership skills of principals is key.


Membership in the Principals’ Study Council is open to every public school principal, assistant principal and administrator in a similar position.



In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in its activities, to keep the council responsive to the needs of its members, and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the principals of the state, the Principals’ Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for the purpose of disseminating and gathering information.

There are eighteen (18) Area Study Councils presently functioning across the state. Areas are identified in the following map (click to enlarge).


2014-15 Steering Committee

PSC Area Representative School District Contact Info
Area 1 Mike Edmonds Boones Creek Middle Washington Co. 423-283-3520
Area 2 Joseph Ely Lincoln Heights Hamblen Co. 423-581-3200
Area 3 Dr. Donna Singley Jellico High School Campbell Co. 423-784-9455
Area 4 Lori Collins South Clinton Elementary Clinton City 865-457-2684
Area 5 Neelie Parker East Lake Elementary Hamilton Co. 423-493-0366
Area 6 Danny Coggin Walker Valley High School Bradley Co. 423-336-1383
Area 7 Kevin Eady Mt. Pleasant Middle Maury Co. 913-379-1100
Area 8 Lance Taylor Guild Elementary Sumner Co. 615-452-5583
Area 9 Kim Aaron Coffee County Middle Coffee Co.


Area 10 Jeff Quirk Culleoka School Maury Co. 931-987-2511
Area 11 Janet Staggs Woodlawn Elementary Clarksville-Mongumery 931-648-5680
Area 12 Marlena Gross Taylor Heritage Middle Williamson Co.
Area 13 Donald Ray High Sharon School Weakley Co. 731-456-2672
Area 14 Charlotte Shivley East Elementary Humboldt City 731-784-4171
Area 15 Danny Adkisson Decaturville Elementary Decatur Co. 731-852-4616
Area 16 Varissa Richardson Munford Middle Tipton Co. 731-837-5760
Area 17 Tricia Marshall Tara Oaks Elementary Collierville City 901-853-3337
Area 18 Stephanie Beach Millington Elementary Shelby Co. 901-873-8433

2014-15 Executive Board

Position Board Member School District Contact Info
Chair Dr. Patton Gamble West View Elementary Washington County


Vice-Chair Karen King West Side Elementary Cannon County


Secretary Dr. Myrna Sumner Central Middle Morgan County


Past Chair Troy Kilzer Chester Co. High School Chester County


East Region Danny Coggin Walker Valley High School Bradley County


Middle Region Kurt Dronebarger Northfield Elementary White County


West Region Marty Pettigrew Colonial Middle School Memphis City

(901) 416-8980

TDOE Liaison Pennye Thurmond    

(615) 636-7537

Last Update: February 25, 2015