Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities

The Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities shall advise the State on unmet needs, initiatives of the Council and consult with the Governor, the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education and the Assistant Commissioner of the Division of Special Populations, Tennessee Department of Education.

Annual Reports

Meeting Minutes

All interested persons are invited to attend Advisory Council Meetings. During the meetings opportunities for public input are available. The time available is limited and will be scheduled on a first come/first serve basis. Please contact the Secretary of the Council at (615) 532-6310 or the Council Chair at cjcheshier@ortn.edu

Current Membership

Name / City of Residence E-mail Address Area of Representation
Cynthia Cheshier, Chair - Knoxville cjcheshier@ortn.edu Teachers
Chip Fair, Vice Chair - Manchester fairc@rcschools.net Individual with a disability
Dawn Bradley - Lebanon bradleybd@wcschools.com Administrators of Programs for Children with Disabilities/ Parent of a Child with a disability
Brian Brown - Lenoir City brianbrown@charter.net Parent of a child with a disability
Paula Brownyard - Jackson pgbrwnyr@memphis.edu Institutions of Higher Education
David Craig - Columbia dcraig@tkds.org Administrators of Programs for Children with Disabilities/ Parent of a Child with a disability
Katie Culberson - Nashville katieculberson@yahoo.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Gayle Feltner - Nashville Susan.Feltner@tn.gov Other State Agencies involved with the delivery of related services (i.e. Vocational Rehab)
Alfred Hacker - Athens alfhacker@bellsouth.net Parent of a Child with a disability
Kyle Hauth - Chattanooga khauth@orangegrove.org Vocational Organization concerned with the provisions of transition services
Chantal Hess-Taylor - Cordova Tteachlaw@aol.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Mary Donnet Johnson - Knoxville formdj@earthlink.net Parent of a Child with a disability
Jeffrey Ker - Brentwood jeffrey.ker@hotmail.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Catherine Knowles - Nashville catherine.knowles@mnps.org McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act
Mary Meador - Nashville Mary.meador@tn.gov State Juvenile Agency/ Child Welfare Agency responsible for foster care
Hillary P. Simms hillarypsims@gmail.com Public Charter Schools
Sebrena St. John - Jonesborough stjohns@wcde.org Parent of a Child with a disability
Shannon Taylor - Henderson taylors@caywood.org Parent of a Child with a disability
Jim Topp - Collierville jamesetopp@me.com Individual with a disability/Parent of a Child with a disability
Jason Vance - Madisonville Vancej@loudoncounty.org State and Local Education Official
Darlene Walden - Denmark darwald@live.com Parent of a Child with a disability
Rhonda Whitt - Nashville rhonda.whitt@tn.gov State Adult Corrections Agency

Tentative Schedule

July 14, 2014 @ Scarritt Bennett Conference Center

October 13, 2014 @ SBCC

Last Update: July 21, 2014