Mathematics standards for instruction apply to all mathematics courses in all grades K-12.  Standards set high expectations for all students to ensure that Tennessee graduates are prepared for the rigorous demands of mathematical understanding for college and career.

Tennessee’s State Standards

The Tennessee State Board of Education adopted new state standards in 2010 for mathematics for grades K-8 and the first three high school courses (Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2, and Core Math 1, 2, and 3), and in 2014 adopted new standards for the further high school mathematics courses. These standards represent three fundamental shifts: focus, coherence, and rigor. 

  • Focus:  The standards are focused on fewer topics so that students can learn more. 
  • Coherence:  Topics within a grade are connected to support focus, and learning is built on understandings from previous grades.
  • Rigor: The standards set expectations for a balanced approach to pursuing conceptual understanding, procedural fluency, and application and modeling.

The eight Standards for Mathematical Practice are an important component of the mathematics standards for each grade and course, K-12.  The Standards for Mathematical Practice describe the varieties of expertise, habits of minds, and productive dispositions that educators seek to develop in all students.

  •  Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
  • Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
  • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
  • Model with mathematics.
  • Use appropriate tools strategically.
  • Attend to precision.
  • Look for and make use of structure.
  • Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning.

For graduation requirements for mathematics, please visit the Tennessee State Board of Education High School Policy.

K-8 Standards

The State Board of Education (SBE) has the authority to adopt academic standards for each subject area in grades K-12. Click on the course title/grade level to view a description of the course and the standards adopted by the SBE. View the academic standards guidelines adopted by the state board.

High School Standards

The SBE sets the requirements for high school graduation. Per SBE Rule, students must achieve four high school level units of math in order to graduate with a high school diploma, including Algebra I, Algebra II, and Geometry (or the equivalent courses, Core Math I, II, and III) and one additional mathematics course beyond Algebra I. View a list of the courses required for high school graduation.

Instructional Resources

For curricular resources for math, please visit

Last Update: April 17, 2015