Student Assessment in Tennessee

Application for the Recruitment for Range PLD Committee

Students’ skills and academic progress are measured by a set of statewide assessments called the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program, or TCAP.

  • High school students take End of Course exams
  • Students in grades 3-8 take the Achievement Test
  • For districts who choose to participate, students in grades K-2 take the K-2 Assessment Test (formerly SAT-10)

The results of these assessments are reported to parents, teachers and administrators and can be found on the TCAP Results page or the annual Report Card, released each fall.

News & Updates


In November 2014 the State of Tennessee completed the process to replace the state’s current TCAP (Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program) assessments in English language arts (ELA) and math. The new measurements of learning for ELA and math will be called Tennessee Ready (TNReady) and will be administered beginning in the 2015-16 school year.