Skip to Content

Achievement Test Items

The TCAP Achievement Test includes only criterion-referenced items for students in grades 3 through 8 in Reading/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies.

View Reporting Categories and State Performance Indicators

View Number of Items per Reporting Category and Cut Scores

The kindergarten (K) through 2nd grade tests will include norm-referenced items for Reading/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies. See K-2 Achievement on left toolbar for Objectives and Sub Skills assessed by the K-2 subtest.

Criterion-Referenced (CRT) Items

Criterion-referenced items measure a student's performance according to specific standards, rather than to the performance of other test takers.

The 3-8 Achievement Test assesses student performance on items directly aligned with the State Curriculum Content Standards. Performance information is grouped by Reporting Categories. Each Reporting Category measures student performance on items linked to specific State Performance Indicators.