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Where to Find Additional Information 
This handbook is a guide to Tennessee boating laws for 
recreational boaters. 

 ■ To stay up to date on new boating laws, contact the 
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency: 
• Call us at 615-781-6682.
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 ■ For federal boating laws, visit the U.S. Coast Guard’s 
boating safety website at www.uscgboating.org.

Information in this handbook does not replace what is 
specifically legal for boating in Tennessee, which is found in the 
Tennessee Boating Safety Act and federal laws.
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Before going out on the water, take steps to make 
the outing safe and enjoyable.

Vessel Length Classes
 ■ A vessel’s length class determines the 

equipment necessary to comply with federal 
and state laws. 

 ■ Vessels are divided into length classes:
• Less than 16 feet 
• 16 feet to less than 26 feet
• 26 feet to less than 40 feet
• 40 feet to less than 65 feet

 ■ Length is measured from the tip of the bow 
in a straight line to the stern. This does not 
include outboard motors, brackets, rudders, 
bow attachments, or swim platforms and 
ladders that are not a molded part of the hull.

Vessel Capacity
 ■ Always check the capacity plate, which is usually found 

near the operator’s position or on the vessel’s transom. This 
plate indicates the maximum weight capacity and maximum 
number of people that the vessel can carry safely.

 ■ Personal watercraft (PWC) and some other vessels are 
not required to have a capacity plate. Always follow the 
recommended capacity in the owner’s manual and on the 
manufacturer’s warning decal.

Fueling a Vessel
Never fuel at night unless it is an emergency. If you must refuel 
after dark, use only electric lights. Try to refuel away from the 
water or on a commercial fueling ramp. 

Before Going Out

Le
ng

th
Le

ng
th

Inboards

Outboards

Copyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com



Boating Basics  5

 ■ Before beginning to fuel:
• Dock the boat securely and ask all passengers to exit.
• Do not allow anyone to smoke or strike a match.
• Check all fuel lines, connections, and fuel vents. 
• Turn off anything that might cause a spark—engines, fans, 

or electrical equipment.
• Shut off all fuel valves and extinguish all open flames, such 

as galley stoves and pilot lights.
• Close all windows, ports, doors, and other openings to 

prevent fumes from entering the boat.
• Remove portable fuel tanks and fill them on the dock.

 ■ While filling the fuel tank:
• Keep the nozzle of the fuel-pump hose in contact with the 

tank opening to prevent producing a static spark.
• Avoid spilling fuel into the boat’s bilge or the water. 
• Never fill a tank to the brim—leave room to expand.
• Wipe up any spilled fuel.

 ■ After fueling:
• Open all windows, ports, doors, and other openings.
• Before starting the engine, sniff the bilge and engine 

compartment for fuel vapors.

Additional Safety Procedures for PWC
 ■ Do not tip the PWC in order to fill it all the way up. If the 

tank is overfilled, the fuel may expand and spill into the 
water.

 ■ After fueling, open the door of 
the engine compartment and 
sniff to check for any evidence of 
gas fumes. Do this before starting 
the engine. If you do smell gas 
fumes, determine the source and 
make repairs immediately.

The most important safe fueling practice…
If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes after fueling and before 
starting your engine to remove gas vapors in the bilge.

Copyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com



6  Boating Basics

Fuel Selector Switch on a PWC
This switch can help you avoid 
becoming stranded without fuel. 

 ■ Use the “Off” position when the 
PWC’s engine is turned off.

 ■ Use the “On” position while you are 
underway.

 ■ Use the “Reserve” position if you run out of fuel while 
underway. This will allow you to return to shore. Don’t 
forget to switch back to “On” after refueling.

Preventing Theft
Defend against theft of your vessel and equipment.

 ■ Store your vessel so that it is not easily accessed. 
• Store your vessel and trailer in a locked garage or  

storage area.
• Park another vehicle in front of the trailer, or lock the 

trailer to a fixed object in a well-lit area.
• Secure the vessel and trailer to a fixed object with a good-

quality chain and lock. If moored, secure the vessel to the 
dock with a steel cable and lock.

• Remove a trailer wheel if parked for an extended time.
• Purchase a quality trailer hitch lock and use it.

 ■ Chain and lock the motor and fuel tanks to the vessel.
 ■ Mark or engrave all equipment with an identifier such as 

your driver’s license number.
 ■ Photograph or videotape the interior and exterior of your 

vessel, showing all installed equipment and additional 
gear and equipment. Make a complete inventory of your 
equipment, vessel, and trailer.

 ■ Remove expensive electronics or other valuables if the vessel 
is left unattended. 

 ■ Cover your vessel and always remove the keys.
 ■ Title and register your vessel.
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Filing a Float Plan
Before going out on a vessel, it is always a good idea to leave 
a float plan with a relative or friend, or at least with a local 
marina. A float plan should: 

 ■ Describe the vessel, including its registration number, length, 
make, horsepower, and engine type.

 ■ State where you are going, the detailed route, your planned 
departure time, and your expected return time.

 ■ Give the name, address, and telephone number of each 
person on board and an emergency contact. 

Pre-Departure Checklist
You can help ensure a good time while operating your vessel 
by performing this pre-departure check.

 ✓ Check the weather forecast for the area and time frame 
during which you will be boating.

 ✓ Make sure that the steering and throttle controls operate 
properly and all lights are working properly.

 ✓ Check for any fuel leaks from the tank, fuel lines, 
and carburetor.

 ✓ Check the engine compartment for oil leaks.
 ✓ Check hose connections for leaks or cracks, and make sure 
hose clamps are tight. 

 ✓ Drain all water from the engine compartment, and be sure 
the bilge plug is replaced and secure.

 ✓ Check to be sure you have a fully charged engine battery 
and fire extinguishers. 

 ✓ If so equipped, make sure the engine cut-off switch (ECOS) 
and wrist lanyard are in good order.

 ✓ Make sure you have the required number of personal 
flotation devices (PFDs), and check that they are in 
good condition.

 ✓ Leave a float plan with a reliable friend or relative.
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Safe navigation on Tennessee waterways is everyone’s 
responsibility. All operators are equally responsible for taking 
action necessary to avoid collisions.

Encountering Other Vessels
Even though no vessel has the “right-of-way” over another 
vessel, there are some rules that every operator should follow 
when encountering other vessels. It is the responsibility of both 
operators to take the action needed to avoid a collision. 

To prevent collisions, every operator should follow the 
three basic rules of navigation.

 ■ Practice good seamanship. 
 ■ Keep a sharp lookout. 
 ■ Maintain a safe speed and distance.

Encountering Vessels With Limited Maneuverability
 ■ When operating a power-driven vessel, you must give way 

to:
• Any vessel not under command, such as an anchored or 

disabled vessel
• Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, such as a 

vessel towing another or laying cable, or one constrained by 
its draft, such as a large ship in a channel

• A vessel engaged in commercial fishing
• A sailboat under sail unless it is overtaking

 ■ When operating a vessel under sail, you must give way to:
• Any vessel not under command
• Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver
• A vessel engaged in commercial fishing

For the Tennessee regulation about encountering a law 
enforcement vessel, see “Enforcement.”

On the Water 
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Navigation Rules 
There are two terms that help explain these rules.

 ■ Stand-on vessel: The vessel that should maintain its course 
and speed 

 ■ Give-way vessel: The vessel that must take early and 
substantial action to avoid collision by stopping, slowing 
down, or changing course

TWRA adopts the Inland Navigation Rules Act of 1980, 33 
CFR Parts 83–90.

Give 
way! Give 

way! Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Power vs. Power Power vs. Sail
Meeting Head-On
Power vs. Power: Neither 
vessel is the stand-on vessel. 
Both vessels should keep to the 
starboard (right).

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel.

Crossing Situations
Power vs. Power: The vessel on 
the operator’s port (left) side is 
the give-way vessel. The vessel 
on the operator’s starboard (right) 
side is the stand-on vessel. 

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel. 

Overtaking
Power vs. Power: The vessel that 
is overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.

Power vs. Sail: The vessel that is 
overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.
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10  Boating Basics

Nighttime Navigation
Be on the lookout for the lights of other vessels when boating at 
night. Several types of lights serve as navigational aids at night. 
There are four common navigation lights.

sternlight

sidelights 
(combination)

masthead light 
(225 degrees)

sidelights 
(combination)

all-round white light 
(360 degrees)

 ■ Sidelights: These red and green lights are called sidelights 
(also called combination lights) because they are visible 
to another vessel approaching from the side or head-on. 
The red light indicates a vessel’s port (left) side; the green 
indicates a vessel’s starboard (right) side. 

 ■ Sternlight: This white light is seen from behind or nearly 
behind the vessel.

 ■ Masthead Light: This white light shines forward and 
to both sides and is required on all power-driven vessels. 
A masthead light must be displayed by all vessels when 
under engine power. The absence of this light indicates a 
sailboat under sail.

 ■ All-Round White Light: On power-driven vessels 
less than 39.4 feet in length, this light may be used to 
combine a masthead light and sternlight into a single 
white light that can be seen by other vessels from any 
direction. This light serves as an anchor light when 
sidelights are extinguished.
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Encountering Vessels at Night

When you see only a white 
light, you are overtaking another 
vessel. It is the stand-on vessel 
whether it is underway or 
anchored. You may go around it 
on either side.

When you see a green and a 
white light, you are the stand-on 
vessel. However, remain alert 
in case the other vessel operator 
does not see you or does not 
know the navigation rules.

When you see a red and a white 
light, you must give way to the 
other vessel. Slow down and 
allow the vessel to pass, or you 
may turn to the right and pass 
behind the other vessel.

Give way

Stand on, but 
be prepared 
to give way!

Give way

Encountering a  
Sailboat at Night
When you see only a red light 
or only a green light, you may 
be approaching a sailboat under 
sail and you must give way. 
The sailboat under sail is always 
the stand-on vessel. Give way

Give way
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12  Boating Basics

U.S. Aids to Navigation System (ATON)
Buoys and markers are the “traffic signals” that guide vessel 
operators safely along some waterways. They also identify 
dangerous or controlled areas and give directions and 
information. As a recreational boat or PWC operator, you will 
need to know the lateral navigation markers and non-lateral 
markers of the U.S. Aids to Navigation System (ATON).

Lateral Markers
These navigation aids mark the edges of safe water areas; for 
example, directing travel within a channel. The markers use 
a combination of colors and numbers, which may appear on 
either buoys or permanently placed markers.

Red colors, red lights, and even numbers 
indicate the right side of the channel  

as a boater enters from the open  
sea or heads upstream. 

Green colors, green lights, and odd 
numbers indicate the left side of the channel 
as a boater enters from the open sea or heads 
upstream.

Red and green colors and/or lights indicate 
the preferred (primary) channel. If green is 
on top, the preferred channel is to the right 

as a boater enters from the open sea or heads 
upstream; if red is on top, the preferred 

channel is to the left.
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Nuns are red cone-shaped buoys 
marked with even numbers.

Cans are green cylindrical-shaped buoys 
marked with odd numbers.

Lighted Buoys use the lateral marker colors 
and numbers discussed above; in addition, they 
have a matching colored light.

Daymarks are permanently placed 
signs attached to structures, such 
as posts, in the water. Common 

daymarks are red triangles (equivalent 
to nuns) and green squares (equivalent 

to cans). They may be lighted also.

Red Right Returning
is a reminder of the correct course when returning from open 

waters or heading upstream. 

open waters open waters
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14  Boating Basics

Western Rivers System
This system of markers is used on the 
Mississippi River and its tributaries above 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and on some other 
rivers that flow toward the Gulf of Mexico. 
The major difference from the ATON's 
lateral markers is that navigation markers 
on the Western Rivers System are not 
numbered. The numbers that are displayed 
below the daymark shape are not associated 
with the right or left side of the channel. 
On the Western Rivers System, these numbers indicate distance 
from a river mouth.

Non-Lateral Markers
Non-lateral markers are navigational aids that give information 
other than the edges of safe water areas. The most common are 
regulatory markers, shown on the next page, which are white 
and use orange markings and black lettering. These markers are 
found on lakes and rivers.

Mooring Buoy
Mooring buoys are white with a blue 
horizontal band and are found in 
marinas and other areas where vessels 
are allowed to anchor.
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Information
Squares indicate where to find food, supplies, 
repairs, etc. and give directions and  
other information.

Controlled
Circles indicate a controlled area such as speed 
limit, no fishing or anchoring, ski only or no 
skiing, or “slow, no wake.”

Exclusion
Crossed diamonds indicate areas off limits  
to all vessels such as swimming areas, dams, 
and spillways.

Danger
Diamonds warn of dangers such as rocks, 
shoals, construction, dams, or stumps. Always 
proceed with caution.

Other Non-Lateral Markers
Safe Water Markers are white with red 
vertical stripes and mark mid-channels 

or fairways. They may be passed on 
either side.

Inland Waters Obstruction Markers are 
white with black vertical stripes and indicate an 
obstruction to navigation. You should not pass 
between these buoys and the nearest shore.
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Weather Emergencies
Weather can change very rapidly and create unexpected 
situations for boat operators. Even meteorologists have trouble 
predicting rapid weather changes. You should always monitor 
weather developments. 

What to Do if Caught in Severe Weather 
 ■ Prepare the boat to handle severe weather.

• Slow down, but keep enough power to maintain headway 
and steering.

• Close all hatches, windows, and doors to reduce the 
chance of swamping.

• Stow any unnecessary gear.
• Turn on your boat’s navigation lights. If there is fog, sound 

your fog horn. 
• Keep bilges free of water. Be prepared to remove water by 

bailing.
• If there is lightning, disconnect all electrical equipment. 

Stay as clear of metal objects as possible.
 ■ Prepare your passengers for severe weather.

• Have everyone put on a USCG–approved personal 
flotation device (PFD). If passengers are already wearing 
their PFDs, make sure they are secured properly. 

• Have your passengers sit on the vessel floor close to the 
centerline for their safety and to make the boat more 
stable. 

 ■ Decide whether to go to shore or ride out the storm.
• If possible, head for the nearest shore that is safe to 

approach. If already caught in a storm, it may be best to 
ride it out in open water rather than try to approach the 
shore in heavy wind and waves.

• Head the bow into the waves at a 45-degree angle. PWC 
should head directly into the waves.
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• If the engine stops, drop a “sea anchor” on a line off the 
bow to keep the bow headed into the wind and reduce 
drifting while you ride out the storm. In an emergency, a 
bucket will work as a sea anchor. 

• If the sea anchor is not sufficient, anchor using your 
conventional anchor to prevent your boat from drifting 
into dangerous areas.

VHF Frequencies Broadcasting NOAA Weather Reports

162.400 MHz
162.425 MHz

162.450 MHz
162.475 MHz

162.500 MHz
162.525 MHz

162.550 MHz

These are the most commonly used VHF channels on United 
States waters.
Channel 6 Intership safety communications.
Channel 9 Communications between vessels (commercial and 
recreational), and ship to coast (calling channel in designated 
USCG Districts).
Channel 13 Navigational use by commercial, military, and 
recreational vessels at bridges, locks, and harbors.
Channel 16 Distress and safety calls to U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) 
and others, and to initiate calls to other vessels; often called 
the “hailing” channel. (Some regions use other channels as 
the hailing channel.) When hailing, contact the other vessel, 
quickly agree to another channel, and then switch to that 
channel to continue conversation.
Channel 22 Communications between the USCG and the 
maritime public, both recreational and commercial. Severe 
weather warnings, hazards to navigation, and other safety 
warnings are broadcast on this channel.
Channels 24–28 Public telephone calls (to marine operator).
Channels 68, 69, and 71 Recreational vessel radio channels and 
ship to coast.
Channel 70 Digital selective calling “alert channel.”
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Other Boating Emergencies
A safe boater knows how to prevent and respond to other 
boating emergencies.

Falling Overboard 
 ■ To prevent persons from falling overboard:

• Don’t sit on the gunwale, bow, seat backs, motor cover, or 
any other area not designed for seating.

• Don’t sit on pedestal seats when underway at greater than 
idle speed.

• Don’t stand up in or lean out from the boat.
• Don’t move about the boat when underway.

 ■ If someone on your boat falls overboard:
• Reduce speed and toss the victim a throwable device.
• Turn your boat around and slowly pull alongside the 

victim, approaching the victim from downwind or into 
the current, whichever is stronger.

• Turn off the engine. Pull the victim on board over the 
stern, keeping the weight in the boat balanced.

Capsizing or Swamping 
 ■ To reduce the risk of capsizing or swamping:

• Don’t overload your boat. Balance the load.
• Slow your boat appropriately when turning.
• Secure the anchor line to the bow, never to the stern.
• Don’t boat in rough water or in bad weather.

 ■ If you capsize or swamp your boat, or if you have fallen 
overboard and can’t get back in:
• Stay with the boat. 
• Try to reboard or climb onto it in order to get as much of 

your body out of the cold water as possible.
 ■ If the boat sinks or floats away, don’t panic.

• If wearing a PFD, remain calm and await help.
• If you aren’t wearing a PFD, look around for one or for 

other buoyant items to use as a flotation device. 
• In cold water, float rather than tread. 
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Hypothermia 
 ■ If you are boating in cold water:

• Dress in several layers of clothing under your PFD or wear 
a wetsuit or drysuit.

• Learn to recognize the symptoms of hypothermia. 
Symptoms begin with shivering and bluish lips and nails, 
and progress to a coma and, ultimately, death.

 ■ To reduce the effects of hypothermia:
• Put on a PFD if not wearing one. It helps you to float 

without excessive movement and insulates your body. 
• Get as much of your body out of the water as possible. 
• Don’t take your clothes off unless necessary—clothes can 

help you float and provide insulation.
• Don’t thrash or move about. Excess motion consumes 

energy and increases loss of body heat.
• Draw your knees to your chest and your arms to your 

sides, protecting the major areas of heat loss.
• If others are in the water with you, huddle together with 

your arms around their shoulders. 

Carbon Monoxide Poisoning
Carbon monoxide is an invisible, odorless, tasteless gas that 
can be deadly. To prevent carbon monoxide poisoning, keep 
air flowing through the boat and take extreme caution when 
running a generator at a dock or at anchor.

 ■ Whenever people are using a swim platform or are in 
the water close to the stern, turn off all gasoline-powered 
generators with transom exhaust ports.

 ■ Swimmers should never enter the cavity between the swim 
platform and the stern of the boat.

 ■ When boating, be careful 
running downwind as exhaust 
gases may blow back on 
board. On cabin cruisers, be 
aware that exhaust gases can 
blow back into the stern when 
traveling into the wind.
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Although a PWC is considered an inboard vessel and comes 
under the same rules and requirements of any other vessel, there 
are specific considerations for the PWC operator.

Steering and Stopping a PWC
 ■ PWC are propelled by drawing water into 

a pump and then forcing it out under 
pressure through a steering nozzle at the 
back of the unit. This “jet” of pressurized 
water is directed by the steering control—
when the steering control is turned, the 
steering nozzle turns in the same direction. 
For example, if the steering control is 
turned right, the nozzle turns right and the 
jet of water pushes the back of the vessel 
to the left, which causes the PWC to turn 
right.

 ■ Most PWC do not have brakes. Always allow plenty of 
room for stopping. Just because you release the throttle or 
shut off the engine does not mean you will stop immediately. 
Even PWC that have a braking system do not stop 
immediately.

Engine Cut-Off Switch (ECOS)
 ■ Most PWC and powerboats come equipped by the 

manufacturer with an important device called an emergency 
engine cut-off switch (ECOS). If properly worn, this is a 
safety device that is designed to shut off the engine if the 
operator is thrown from the proper operating position. The 
USCG requires that operators of vessels equipped with an 
ECOS use the device at all times.

Remember—no power means no steering control…
Most PWC and other jet-drive vessels must have power in order 
to maintain control. If you allow the engine on a PWC or other 
jet-propelled vessel to return to idle or shut off during operation, 
you may lose all steering control. Many PWC will continue in the 
direction they were headed before the engine was shut off, no matter 
which way the steering control is turned. New PWC allow for off-
throttle steering.

Specifically for PWC 

steering control

steering nozzle
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 ■ A lanyard is attached to the 
ECOS and to the operator’s wrist 
or PFD. The ECOS shuts off the 
engine if the operator falls off the 
PWC or out of the powerboat. 
If your vessel does not come 
equipped with an ECOS, you 
should have one installed.

 ■ In many states, it is illegal to ride your PWC without 
attaching the lanyard properly between the switch and 
yourself.

Reboarding a Capsized PWC
After a fall, the PWC could be overturned completely. You 
should be familiar with the proper procedure to right the PWC 
and to reboard from the rear of the craft.

 ■ Most manufacturers have 
placed a decal at the rear 
or bottom of the craft that 
indicates the direction to roll 
your PWC to return it to an 
upright position. If no decal 
exists, check your owner’s 
manual or ask the dealer. If you 
roll it over the wrong way, you could damage your PWC.

 ■ Practice reboarding with someone else around to make sure 
you can handle it alone. Don’t ride your PWC if you are 
very tired because reboarding will be difficult. Also, avoid 
riding where there are strong currents or winds, which could 
hamper your reboarding efforts.

Remember… 
Beginning April 2021, a new federal rule requires operators of 
recreational vessels less than 26 feet in length to use the ECOS 
if the vessel is equipped with such a device. Operators must use 
the ECOS whenever the vessel is operating on plane or above 
displacement speed. 
Be sure to check with the state boating agency where you are boating 
to determine how this new USCG rule applies locally. For more 
information on this requirement, visit www.uscgboating.org/recreational-
boaters/engine-cut-off-switch-faq.php. 
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Courtesy When Encountering Other Vessels
 ■ Jumping the wake of a passing boat, or riding too close to 

another PWC or boat, creates risks and is restricted or even 
prohibited in some states. The vessel making the wake may 
block the PWC operator’s view of oncoming traffic and also 
conceal the PWC operator from approaching vessels.

 ■ Excessive noise from PWC often makes them unwelcome 
with other vessel operators and people on shore. Be a 
courteous PWC operator.
• Vary your operating area, and do not keep repeating the 

same maneuver.
• Avoid congregating with other PWC operators near shore, 

which increases annoying noise levels.
• Avoid making excessive noise near residential and camping 

areas, particularly early in the morning.
• Avoid maneuvers that cause the engine exhaust to lift out 

of the water because that increases noise levels.
• Do not modify your engine exhaust system if it increases 

the noise. Improperly modified exhausts will not make 
your PWC faster and may raise the noise to an illegal level.

Environmental Considerations
When operating your PWC or other jet-propelled watercraft, 
consider the effect you may have on the environment.

 ■ Make sure that the water you operate in is at least 30 inches 
deep. Riding in shallow water can cause bottom sediments 
or aquatic vegetation to be sucked 
into the pump, damaging your 
PWC and the environment.

 ■ Avoid causing erosion by operating 
at slow speed and by not creating a 
wake when operating near shore or 
in narrow streams or rivers.

 ■ Do not dock or beach your PWC 
in reeds and grasses. This could 
damage fragile environments.
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 ■ Take extra care when fueling your PWC in or near the 
water. Oil and gasoline spills are very detrimental to the 
aquatic environment. Fuel on land if possible.

 ■ Never use your PWC to disturb, chase, or harass wildlife.

Other PWC Considerations
 ■ Remember that everyone on board a PWC must wear a 

PFD. 
 ■ Keep hands, feet, loose clothing, and hair away from the 

pump intake area. Before cleaning debris away from the 
pump intake, be sure to shut off the engine.

 ■ Keep everyone clear of the steering nozzle unless the PWC is 
shut off. The water jet can cause severe injuries.

 ■ Frequently inspect your PWC’s electrical systems (e.g., 
starter and engine gauge connections) to ensure there is no 
potential for electrical spark. Gas fumes could collect in the 
engine compartment and an explosion could occur. After 
fueling, sniff the engine compartment for any evidence of 
gas fumes.

 ■ Never exceed the manufacturer’s recommended capacity for 
your PWC.

 ■ Know your limits, and ride according to your abilities.
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All operators are required to obey laws that regulate your vessel’s 
registration and operation.

Registering Your Vessel
 ■ You must have a Tennessee Certificate of Number (registration 

card) and validation decals to operate your vessel legally on 
public waters in Tennessee. The only exceptions are:
• Vessels propelled only by paddles or oars
• Vessels registered in other states and Tennessee has become 

the state of principal use and the vessel has been in 
Tennessee for sixty (60) days

 ■ The Certificate of Number must be 
carried on board and available for 
inspection by an enforcement officer 
whenever the vessel is operated.

 ■ The registration number and 
validation decals must be displayed as follows.
• Number must be painted, applied as a decal, or otherwise 

affixed to both sides of the bow where no other number 
may be displayed.

• Number must read from left to right on both sides of  
the bow. 

• Number must be in at least three-inch-high, plain, vertical 
BLOCK letters.

• Number’s color must contrast with its background.
• Letters must be separated from the numbers by a space or 

hyphen: TN  3717  ZW or TN-3717-ZW.
• Decals may be placed to the left or right of the registration 

number on both sides of the bow.
 ■ If your vessel requires registration, it is illegal to operate it or 

allow others to operate your vessel unless it is registered and 
numbered as described above.

Before Going Out 
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Other Facts About Registration
 ■ The Certificate of Number is valid for one, two, or three 

years, at the option of the owner.
 ■ Vessel registration may be renewed in one of three ways:

• Online at www.GoOutdoorsTennessee.com
• By mail to Boat Registration, TWRA, P.O. Box 41729, 

Nashville, TN 37204-1729
• In person at any business that sells Tennessee Wildlife 

Resources Agency (TWRA) hunting and fishing licenses
 ■ The owner of a numbered vessel can notify at  

www.GoOutdoorsTennessee.com within 15 days if:
• They change their address.
• The vessel is lost, stolen and/or recovered, destroyed, 

abandoned, or sold.
 ■ If you lose or destroy your Certificate of Number or 

validation decals, you can apply for a duplicate online at 
www.GoOutdoorsTennessee.com or visit a license agent. The 
processing fee is $6.00.

 ■ Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens may (at the 
option of the owner) be documented by the U.S. Coast  
Guard (USCG). Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for  
more information.
• Documented vessels must be registered in Tennessee and 

carry the Certificate of Number on board. They are not 
required to display the registration number.

• The validation decals must be placed on both sides of the 
vessel on the windows closest to the main operator station. 
Sailboats may place the decals on both sides of the bottom 
of the main mast.

TN  3717  ZW   ■ 

Spaces or hyphens 
should appear here.

Validation 
Decal
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Where to Register
Before registering your vessel for the first time, you must pay 
the sales tax to the dealer or at your county clerk’s office. You 
then will receive an application that shows the sales tax has 
been paid. After completing the application, submit it to  
the TWRA. There are three ways to submit your application.

 ■ Same day: Take the application directly to your closest 
TWRA regional office. The application processing time is 
one day.

 ■ 14 days: Complete this application and upload it to  
www.GoOutdoorsTennessee.com. (Failure to upload a 
completed copy of this application will result in delaying 
approval.) The application processing time is 14 days.

 ■ 45 days: Mail completed application to:  
TWRA, P.O. Box 41729, Nashville, TN 37204-1729. 
The application processing time is 45 days.

Vessel Registration Fees

Length of Vessel
One-Year 

Registration
Two-Year 

Registration
Three-Year 

Registration

16 feet and under $15 $28 $41
Over 16 feet to less 

than 26 feet $29 $56 $83

26 feet to less than  
40 feet $44 $84 $125

40 feet or longer $59 $113 $166

Hull Identification Number (HIN)
All vessels built after 1972 must have a 12-digit Hull 
Identification Number (HIN). All homemade boats built in 
Tennessee must apply for a new HIN by contacting the TWRA 
Headquarters, Boating and Law Enforcement. If applying for 
the registration and requesting that an HIN be assigned, submit 
a photo along with your registration application received from 
the clerk’s office.  
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If the vessel is already in your 
name, submit photos along 
with the TN number, your 
name, and telephone number 
to HIN.Corrections@tn.gov.

Who May Operate a Vessel
 ■ Those born after January 1, 1989:

• Tennessee residents must successfully complete the 
TWRA Boating Safety Exam and carry on board the 
Boating Safety Education Certificate issued by the TWRA 
when operating a vessel on Tennessee waters. Only the 
TWRA–issued certificate will be accepted as meeting the 
requirements of Tennessee law. This does not apply to 
non-residents.

• Non-residents within this age category must show proof 
of successful completion of a National Association of 
State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA)–approved 
boating safety course.

• Operators of vessels powered by engines of  
8.5 horsepower (hp) or less and operators of sailboats 
under sail alone are not required to possess the Boating 
Safety Education Certificate.

 ■ To operate a motorized vessel of more than 8.5 hp:
• Those less than 12 years old must have a supervisor 

on board who is at least 18 years old and able to take 
immediate control of the vessel. The supervisor, if born 
after January 1, 1989, also must have a Boating Safety 
Education Certificate issued by TWRA.

• Those 12 years old or older operating alone must have a 
Boating Safety Education Certificate issued by TWRA.

 ■ Those less than 16 years of age may not rent a personal 
watercraft (PWC).

 ABC  67689  B6  06

   Hull Serial       Model 
  Number  Year
 Manufacturer’s  Date of 
 Identification   Manufacture
 Code
 (MIC)
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When preparing to go out on a vessel, the operator must check 
that the legally required equipment is on board. 
Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)

 ■ All vessels must have at least one USCG–approved wearable 
(Type I, II, III, or V) personal flotation device (PFD), 
sometimes called life jacket, for each person on board.

 ■ In addition to the above requirement, one USCG–approved 
throwable (Type IV) device must be on board and 
immediately available on vessels 16 feet or longer (except 
canoes and kayaks).

 ■ Children 12 years of age and younger must wear a USCG–
approved PFD at all times while on the open deck of a 
recreational vessel that is not anchored, moored, or aground.

 ■ If a person chooses to wear a PFD that is not USCG approved 
(when not specifically required), a properly fitting USCG–
approved PFD must be carried on board the vessel to meet the 
state and federal carriage requirements. 

 ■ A USCG–approved PFD must be worn by each person on 
board vessels being operated within specifically marked areas 
below dams.

 ■ Each person on board a PWC must wear a USCG–approved 
PFD. 

 ■ Inflatable PFDs are not approved for PWC use, whitewater 
activities, or persons younger than 16 years of age.

 ■ A ski belt may not be counted as one of the required PFDs on 
board your vessel. A ski belt may be worn while skiing, but an 
approved PFD for the skier must be on board the vessel.

 ■ All PFDs must be in good and serviceable condition and 
must be readily accessible. Wearable PFDs must be of the 
proper size for the intended wearer. Sizing for PFDs is based 
on body weight and chest size.

 ■ To be acceptable, all PFDs must be used in accordance with 
their USCG approval label.

PFD Label
Every USCG–approved PFD has a label that contains important 
information. While boating, you may encounter old- or new-style 
PFD labels. 

Required Equipment
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Not all PFDs available are USCG approved. Regardless if the PFD 
label is in the old or new style, there must be a USCG approval 
number, and the PFD must be used in accordance with the labeling 
information to meet the legal requirements.

 ■ The older legacy labels have a type number (Types I to V). 
• The type number indicates the conditions and the intended 

use for which the PFD is designed. 
• PFDs with these labels may still be used in the country where 

they are approved as long as they are in serviceable condition.
 ■ The new labels have a performance level icon that contains a 

number, typically ranging from 50 to 150.
• A lower number means the PFD is intended for near-shore 

activities in calm waters. PFDs designed for near-shore use 
offer greater mobility and comfort. However, they will not 
turn most unconscious persons face up. 

• A higher number means the PFD is intended for offshore 
activities. PFDs designed for offshore use offer greater 
flotation, turning ability, and stability.

• PFDs with these labels are approved for use in both the U.S. 
and Canada.
performance 
level

turn ability

warningsUSCG 
approved

approved for 
use in U.S. and 
Canada

Warnings
Some PFDs are not approved for 
certain activities:

Turn Ability

Water-
skiing

Tubing

PWC or 
wakeboarding

The PFD will turn an 
unconscious person 
face up. Test before use.
The PFD will not turn 
an unconscious person 
face up.Whitewater 

paddling
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Navigation Lights
The required navigation lights must be displayed between 
sunset and sunrise and during periods of restricted visibility. 

Power-Driven Vessels When Underway
If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the lights 
as shown in illustration 1. Remember, power-driven vessels 
include sailboats operating under engine power. The required 
lights are:

 ■ Red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least 
two miles away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one 
mile away—on a dark, clear night.

 ■ An all-round white light or both a masthead light and a 
sternlight. These lights must be visible from a distance of at 
least two miles away on a dark, clear night. The all-round 
white light (or the masthead light) must be at least 3.3 feet 
higher than the sidelights.

Unpowered Vessels When Underway 
Unpowered vessels are sailboats or vessels that are paddled, 
poled, or rowed. 

 ■ If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the 
lights as shown in illustration 2. The required lights are:
• Red and green sidelights visible from at least two miles 

away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one mile away.
• A sternlight visible from at least two miles away.

 ■ If less than 23.0 feet long, these vessels should:
• If practical, exhibit the red and green sidelights.
• If not practical:

 - Display an all-round white light or…
 - Have ready at hand a white light as shown in illustration 
3, which must be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent 
a collision.

All Vessels When Not Underway 
All vessels are required to display a white light visible from all 
directions whenever they are moored or anchored outside a 
designated mooring area between sunset and sunrise.
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1. Power-Driven Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

2. Unpowered Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

3. Unpowered Vessels Less Than 23.0 Feet

An alternative 
to the sidelights 
and sternlight is 
a combination 
red, green, and 
white light, which 
must be exhibited 
near the top of 
the mast.

The masthead light and 
sternlight may be combined 
as an all-round white light on 
vessels less than 39.4 feet 
long. Less than 39.4 feet only

Vessel operators should never leave 
shore without a flashlight. Even if you 
plan to return before dark, unforeseen 
developments might delay your return 
past nightfall.
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Fire Extinguishers

 ■

Effective April 20, 2022, any non-rechargeable (disposable) fire 
extinguisher that is older than 12 years should be removed from 
service. Refer to the date of manufacturing stamped on the bottle; 
for example, “05” means “2005.”

All vessels, including PWC, are required to have a Type B fire 
extinguisher on board if any of the following conditions exist.
• Vessel is 26 feet or longer.
• Vessel carries passengers for hire.
• Vessel has closed compartments under thwarts or seats where 

portable fuel tanks may be stored.
• Vessel has double bottoms not sealed to the hull or which are 

not filled completely with flotation material.
• Vessel has closed living spaces.
• Vessel has closed storage compartments where combustible or 

flammable materials may be stored.
• Vessel has permanently installed fuel tanks.

 ■ Approved types of fire extinguishers are identified by the 
following marking on the label—“Marine Type USCG 
Approved”—followed by the type and size symbols and the 
approval number.

 ■ When required by the USCG, fire extinguishers must be on 
board the vessel and readily accessible—where they can be easily 
reached. When deciding on a place to store a fire extinguisher, 
make sure to consider how easy it is to reach in the event of a fire. 
It is recommended that the fire extinguisher be conspicuously 
and securely mounted on its intended hanger or bracket.

The following information is effective April 20, 2022.
 ■ Vessels that have a model year of 2018 and newer may carry only 

5-B or 20-B rated fire extinguishers with date stamp. 
 ■ Vessels with a model year between 1953 and 2017 may carry either:

• Unexpired 5-B or 20-B rated fire extinguishers or…
• B-I or B-II rated fire extinguishers that are in good and 

serviceable condition.
Model Year means the period beginning June 1 of a year and ending 
on July 31 of the following year and being designated by the year in 
which it ends.

Use the chart on the following page to determine the size and 
quantity required for your vessel.
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Length of Vessel Without Fixed System With Fixed System*

Less than 26 ft. one 5-B none

26 ft. to less than 40 ft. two 5-B (or one 20-B) one 5-B

40 ft. to less than 65 ft. three 5-B (or  
one 20-B and one 5-B)

two 5-B (or  
one 20-B)

*refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system

Note: One 20-B portable fire extinguisher may be substituted for 
two 5-B portable fire extinguishers. For vessels with a model year 
between 1953 and 2017, one 20-B/B-II portable fire extinguisher 
may be substituted for two 5-B/B-I portable fire extinguishers. 

 ■ Extinguishers must not be expired or appear to have been 
previously used. They must be maintained in good and 
serviceable condition. Good and serviceable condition means 
that the fire extinguisher on board: 
• Is charged and indicates it is charged if the extinguisher has a 

pressure gauge reading or indicator and…
• Has a pin lock that is firmly in place and…
• Does not show visible signs of significant corrosion or 

damage and…
• Has a discharge nozzle that is clean and free of obstructions.

Ventilation Systems
The purpose of ventilation systems is to avoid explosions by 
removing flammable gases.

 ■ All gasoline-powered vessels, constructed in a way that would 
entrap fumes, must have at least two ventilation ducts fitted 
with cowls to remove the fumes.

 ■ If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, turn 
it on for at least four minutes both after fueling and before 
starting your engine. 

 ■ If your vessel is not equipped with a power ventilation system 
(for example, a PWC), open the engine compartment and sniff 
for gasoline fumes before starting the engine.

Backfire Flame Arrestors
Because vessel engines may backfire, all powerboats (except outboards) 
that are fueled with gasoline must have a USCG–approved (comply 
with SAE J-1928 or UL 1111 standards) backfire flame arrestor on 
each carburetor. 
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Mufflers and Noise Level Limits
Vessel operators may not hear sound signals or voices if the engine 
is not adequately muffled.

 ■ The noise level of any motorized vessel must not exceed  
86 decibels at a distance of 50 feet or more from the vessel.

 ■ The use of cutouts is prohibited.
 ■ It is illegal to modify the muffling system if it results in a noise 

level greater than the legal limit.

Requirements for Paddlecraft
The USCG classifies paddlecraft as vessels. All navigation rules apply 
to paddlecraft. Paddlecraft must have:

 ■ A wearable PFD for each person on board
 ■ A white navigation light ready at hand, which must be exhibited 

in sufficient time to prevent collision
 ■ Visual distress signals when used on federally controlled waters 

(not required in Tennessee)

Sound-Producing Devices
Here are some sound signals that you should be familiar with.

 ■ Restricted Visibility
• One prolonged blast at intervals of not more than two minutes 

is the signal used by power-driven vessels when underway.
• One prolonged blast plus two short blasts at intervals of not 

more than two minutes is the signal used by sailboats under 
sail.

 ■ Warning
• One prolonged blast is a warning signal (for example, used 

when coming around a bend or exiting a slip).
• Five (or more) short, rapid blasts signal danger or signal that 

you do not understand or that you disagree with the other 
boater’s intentions.

If on State Waters
Less than 39.4 feet long  
(includes PWC)

Some means to make an efficient sound signal 
required

39.4 feet long or longer Whistle and a bell required

If on Federally Controlled Waters
Less than 39.4 feet long 
(includes PWC)

Some way of making an efficient sound signal, 
such as handheld air horn, athletic whistle, an 
installed horn, etc.

39.4 feet long or longer
Device that can make an efficient sound signal 
that is audible for one-half mile and lasts for 4 
to 6 seconds
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Visual Distress Signals (VDSs)
 ■ Visual distress signals (VDSs) are not required on vessels on 

Tennessee waters.
 ■ Vessels on federally controlled waters must be equipped with 

VDSs that are USCG approved, in serviceable condition, and 
readily accessible.
• All vessels, regardless of length or type, are required to carry 

night signals when operating between sunset and sunrise.
• Most vessels must carry day signals also; exceptions to the 

requirement for day signals are:
 - Recreational vessels that are less than 16 feet in length
 - Non-motorized open sailboats that are less than 26 feet in 
length

 - Manually propelled vessels
 ■ If pyrotechnic VDSs are used, they must be dated. Expired VDSs 

may be carried on board, but a minimum of three unexpired 
VDSs must be carried in the vessel.

 ■ The following examples satisfy USCG requirements:
• Three handheld red flares (day and night)
• Three orange smoke signals (day only) and one electric light 

(night only)

Federally Controlled Waters
Vessels must observe federal 
requirements on these waters:

 ■ Coastal waters
 ■ The Great Lakes
 ■ Territorial seas
 ■ Waters that are two miles 

wide or wider and are 
connected directly to one of 
the above

Arm Signal
Although this signal does not 
meet VDS equipment 
requirements, wave your arms 
to summon help if you do not 
have other distress signals on 
board.

Day
Handheld Orange Smoke (Pyrotechnic)
Floating Orange Smoke (Pyrotechnic)
Orange Flag (Non-Pyrotechnic)

Night
Electric Light (Non-Pyrotechnic)

Day and Night
Red Meteor (Pyrotechnic)
Red Flare (Pyrotechnic)
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Other Equipment
Diver-Down Flag

 ■ Tennessee law requires that scuba divers and snorkelers 
display a diver-down flag to mark the diving area.
• Scuba divers or snorkelers should not place a flag where it 

will obstruct traffic or create a hazard to navigation on a 
river, inlet, or navigation channel.

• Vessel operators must not operate within 50 feet of a 
displayed diver-down flag and must reduce speed to idle 
speed when within 200 feet of the flag.

• Divers and snorkelers must stay within 50 feet of their 
diver-down flag. After dusk, the flag must be illuminated so 
that it can be seen at a distance of 300 feet or more.

 ■ Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity.

 ■ Any vessel used in the diving operation must display from 
its mast both a divers flag and an Alfa flag visible from all 
directions. After dusk, these flags must be illuminated so 
that they can be seen at a distance of 300 feet or more.

A rectangular red flag with a 
white diagonal stripe is used 
to mark the diving area and 
also must be displayed on 
vessels on state waters.  
When flown from a vessel, 
the flag must be at least  
20 x 24 inches. 

A blue-and-white 
International Code Flag 
A (or Alfa flag) must be 
displayed on vessels on 
state or federally controlled 
waters. The flag must be at 
least 3.3 feet (one meter) 
high and visible from all 
directions.

Divers Flag Alfa Flag
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Unlawful Operation
Tennessee law states that it is unlawful to operate a watercraft 
in a reckless, negligent, or dangerous manner. Violations are 
punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to six months in 
jail. Specifically, the following operating practices are illegal.

 ■ Reckless Operation of a vessel is any act that endangers the 
life, limb, or property of another person. Examples of illegal, 
reckless operation are:
• Operating a vessel in a swimming area
• Weaving your vessel through congested waterway traffic
• Steering toward another object or person in the water and 

swerving at the last possible moment in order to avoid 
collision or spray others nearby

• Jumping the wake of another vessel in a way that 
endangers another’s life, safety, or property

• Chasing, harassing, or disturbing wildlife with your vessel
 ■ Improper Speed or Distance is not maintaining a proper 

speed and distance while operating a vessel. Examples are:
• Operating at an excessive rate of speed in crowded or 

dangerous areas or during periods of restricted visibility
• Operating a vessel at greater than “slow, no wake speed” 

in any areas marked as “No Wake”
• Operating within 300 feet of a commercial vessel dock at 

greater than “idle speed”
• Jumping the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of that 

vessel

 ■ Riding on the Bow, Gunwales, or Transom is allowing 
passengers to ride on a vessel in places where there may be a 
chance of falling overboard while underway. 

“Slow, No Wake Speed” or “Idle Speed” means the slowest 
speed at which it is still possible to maintain steering. The vessel 
should not produce a wake at this speed.

On the Water
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 ■ Unsafe Condition is operating a vessel in a condition that 
causes a hazard to the occupants or others on the waterways. 
For any of these problems, an enforcement officer may 
instruct the operator to immediately take corrective action 
or return to the nearest mooring.
• There are insufficient PFDs, fire extinguishers, backfire 

flame arrestors, ventilation, or navigation lights.
• The vessel is overloaded or overpowered.
• Any other unsafe condition exists.

Paddlesports
Hazards can change from day to day and sometimes within 
hours due to weather and water conditions. Prepare for 
changing conditions. Check weather information and 
communicate with local people about what local hazards exist. 
Rainstorms can lead to rapid rises in river water levels, cause 
debris to accumulate, and create strong currents and large 
waves. Boaters should always be careful around any kind of 
debris or man-made structure. Debris or downed trees in the 
water can create an entrapment hazard, a leading cause of death 
among human-propelled boaters.
Low-head dams, often called drowning machines, can cause 
very strong currents above and below the dam and strong 
recirculating current at the downstream base of the structure. 
Once swept over the dam, a victim can become trapped and 
forced underwater, pushed away from the dam, then circulated 
to the top. This strong hydraulic motion makes it nearly 
impossible to escape. If trapped in a low-head dam situation, 
tuck your chin into your chest, draw your knees up, and wrap 
your arms around them. Conditions may push you out of and 
away from the hydraulic current, along the streambed. It is 
always best to portage around dams on any river or stream.

For river streamflow conditions in Tennessee, go to  
waterwatch.usgs.gov/?m=real&r=tn. 
For additional skills training in paddlesports, visit the Tennessee 
Scenic Rivers Association at paddletsra.org.
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Boating Near Dams—Beware!
 ■ Fishing and boating immediately above and below any dam 

may be dangerous and should be avoided.
• Above the dam may pose fast moving water and current 

due to flood control or recent weather conditions.
• Large volumes of water can be discharged within a matter 

of seconds through hydroelectric dams due to the demand 
for electricity or flood control.

• Many upstream and downstream areas around dams are 
designated as restricted areas, and boaters should refrain 
from entering those areas.

• Cold water released through tributary dams may be a 
hazard, even during the summer. Cold-water temperatures 
(below 77°F) can cause cold shock, short-term swim 
failure, or hypothermia.

 ■ To protect yourself and your passengers:
• Take special precautions when boating/fishing above and 

below a dam. Always wear and buckle a PFD, and leave 
the big motor in good mechanical order and running, 
even if drift fishing. 

• Never anchor your boat in the area below a dam, and 
never anchor your boat from the stern.

• Immediately move to a safer area if a siren sounds or 
strobe lights flash. These are warnings that the water 
conditions are about to change drastically.

To check planned generation releases for TVA reservoirs, visit  
www.tva.com/Environment/Lake-Levels.
To check planned generation releases for Corps of Engineers 
reservoirs, visit www.lrn-wc.usace.army.mil/preschedule.shtml.

Copyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com

https://www.tva.com/environment/lake-levels
https://www.lrn-wc.usace.army.mil/preschedule.shtml


40  It’s the Law!

Obstructing Navigation
It is illegal to:

 ■ Operate any vessel in such a way that it will interfere 
unnecessarily with the safe navigation of other vessels.

 ■ Anchor a vessel in the traveled portion of a river or channel 
in a way that will prevent or interfere with any other vessel 
passing through the same area.

 ■ Moor or attach a vessel to a buoy (other than a mooring 
buoy), beacon, light, or any other navigational aid placed on 
public waters by proper authorities.

 ■ Move, displace, tamper with, damage, or destroy any 
navigational aid.

 ■ Obstruct a pier, wharf, boat ramp, or access to any facility.

Homeland Security Restrictions 
 ■ Do not approach within 100 yards and slow to minimum 

speed within 500 yards of any U.S. Naval vessel. If you 
need to pass within 100 yards of a U.S. Naval vessel for safe 
passage, you must contact the vessel or the USCG escort 
vessel on VHF-FM channel 16. 

 ■ Observe and avoid all security zones. Avoid commercial port 
operation areas, especially those that involve military, cruise 
line, or petroleum facilities.

 ■ Observe and avoid other restricted areas near dams, power 
plants, etc. Do not stop or anchor beneath bridges or in  
the channel. 

 ■ Keep a sharp eye out for anything out of the ordinary and 
report it to the closest authority. 
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Alcohol and Drugs
 ■ Tennessee law prohibits anyone from boating under the 

influence (BUI)—that is, operating any vessel propelled by 
a motor or sail while under the influence of alcohol or any 
combination of alcohol, a controlled substance, or drugs.

 ■ Alcohol and drugs cause impaired balance, blurred vision, 
poor coordination, impaired judgment, and slower reaction 
times. Alcohol is a major contributor to boating accidents 
and fatalities.

 ■ Tennessee law states that a person is presumed to be under 
the influence if the concentration of alcohol in his or her 
blood is 0.08% or greater.

 ■ Tennessee law establishes the following penalties.
• Those convicted of boating under the influence will 

be sentenced to serve at least 48 consecutive hours in a 
county jail or workhouse for first offense. If the blood 
alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.20% or more on first 
offense, then a minimum of seven consecutive days shall 
be served. For a second offense, the sentence will be at 
least 45 consecutive days, and for a third offense, the 
sentence will be at least 120 consecutive days.

• Those convicted a fourth or subsequent time will be 
sentenced as a felon and subject to punishment as such.

• In addition, those convicted of BUI may lose operating 
privileges for one to ten years.

• Federal penalties also may be imposed.
 ■ By operating a vessel 

on Tennessee waters, 
you have consented to a 
sobriety test if requested 
by a law enforcement 
officer. Refusal to be 
tested is a separate offense 
and may result in loss of 
operating privileges for 
up to six months.

Just remember this simple rule:  
Don’t Drink and Boat!
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Marine Events
Permits from the TWRA are required for tournaments, regattas, 
races, parades, and exhibitions that may restrict waterway 
navigation or require additional patrol by wildlife officers. The 
free permit may be requested by applying to TWRA at least  
30 days before the event.

TWRA Access Areas
These additional restrictions apply in TWRA Access Areas.

 ■ Disorderly conduct and use of intoxicants or other behavior-
modifying substances are prohibited.

 ■ The use of firearms is prohibited except during regular 
hunting season. Target shooting is prohibited at all times.

 ■ Swimming from or near boat ramps or in a way that 
interferes with the launching or removal of vessels  
is prohibited.

Boating Accidents
 ■ An operator involved in a boating accident must:

• Stop their vessel immediately at the scene of the 
accident and…

• Assist anyone injured in the accident, unless doing so 
would endanger his or her own vessel or passengers.

 ■ Every vessel operator involved in a reportable accident must 
notify the TWRA immediately. The operator also must file a 
written accident report form with TWRA.
• The accident report form must be filed within 48 hours if:

 - A person dies or disappears or… 
 - Someone is injured requiring medical treatment beyond 
first aid.

• The accident report form must be filed within 10 days if 
damage exceeds $2,000.

 ■ Failure to report a boating accident is a criminal offense and 
may result in prosecution by TWRA.
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Enforcement
The TWRA enforces and administers the provisions of the 
Tennessee Boating Safety Act.

 ■ TWRA enforcement officers assist boaters as well as enforce 
laws and provide control when necessary.

 ■ Every TWRA officer has the authority to stop and board 
any vessel. They may issue citations. When necessary, they 
may arrest, on sight and without warrant, any person they 
see violating a provision of the Boating Safety Act.

 ■ The USCG has enforcement authority on federally 
controlled waters.

Discharge of Waste 
 ■ If you have a recreational vessel with installed toilet facilities, 

it must have an operable marine sanitation device (MSD) 
on board.

 ■ It is illegal to discharge raw (untreated) sewage into any 
public waters.

 ■ Public waters are classified as either “discharge” (capable 
of accepting treated sewage) or “no discharge” (waste must 
be retained in a holding tank and properly discharged on 
shore).
• Discharge into public waters is restricted to Type I or II 

MSDs and only on those waters classified as “discharge.”
• The discharge and no discharge reservoirs are listed toward 

the end of this handbook.
 ■ All installed MSDs must be USCG certified.
 ■ Marinas and docks operating on public waters must provide 

a sewage removal service.

Encountering Law Enforcement Vessels 
In Tennessee, if you encounter a law enforcement vessel 
displaying flashing blue lights, slow to “no wake speed” within 
100 feet of that vessel.
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Tennessee’s Reservoirs

Discharge and No-Discharge Reservoirs

1. Reelfoot Lake
2. Pickwick Lake
3. Kentucky Lake
4. Lake Barkley
5. Cheatham Lake
6. J. Percy Priest Lake
7. Old Hickory Lake
8. Tims Ford Lake
9. Cordell Hull Lake
10. Center Hill Lake
11. Nickajack Lake

12. Dale Hollow Lake
13. Chickamauga Lake
14. Watts Bar Lake
15. Fort Loudoun Lake
16. Tellico Lake 
17. Norris Lake
18. Cherokee Lake
19. Douglas Lake
20. Boone Lake
21. South Holston Lake
22. Watauga Lake 

A
B

CMississippi River System Cumberland River System

Tennessee River System

Barkley
Caulderwood
Cheatham
Chickamauga
Cordell Hull
Cumberland River
Ft. Loudon
Kentucky
McKeller
Melton Hill

Mississippi River
Nickajack
Old Hickory
Pickwick
Reelfoot
South Holston
Tellico
Tennessee River
Watts Barr

Beech River Lakes
Boone
Center Hill
Cherokee
Chilhowee
Dale Hollow
Douglas
Ft. Patrick Henry
Great Falls
J. Percy Priest

Lake Graham
Nolichucky
Normandy
Norris
Ocoee 1, 2, 3
Tims Ford
Watauga
Wilbur
Woods

Discharge Reservoirs No-Discharge Reservoirs
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Discharge of Oil and Other Hazardous 
Substances

 ■ You are not allowed to discharge oil or hazardous substances 
into the water.

 ■ You are not allowed to dump oil into the bilge of the vessel 
without means for proper disposal. 

 ■ You must dispose of oil waste at an approved reception 
facility. On recreational vessels, a bucket or bailer is adequate 
for temporary storage prior to disposing of the oil waste at 
an approved facility.

 ■ If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel is  
26 feet or longer, you must display a 5 x 8-inch placard 
made of durable material, fixed in a conspicuous place in the 
machinery spaces or at the bilge pump control station, 
stating the Federal Water Pollution Control Act’s law.

Discharge of Trash
It is illegal to dump refuse, garbage, or plastics into any state or 
federally controlled waters. Many forms of litter can kill birds, 
fish, and marine mammals.

 ■ You must store trash in a container while on board and place 
it in a proper receptacle after returning to shore. 

 ■ If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel is  
26 feet or longer, you must display a Garbage Disposal 
Placard that is at least 4 x 9 inches and notifies passengers 
and crew about discharge restrictions. 

If your vessel discharges oil or hazardous substances 
into the water:

 ■ Immediately call the National Response Center at 
1-800-424-8802. 

 ■ Also call the TWRA.
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Tennessee law defines a personal watercraft (PWC) as “a 
mechanically propelled vessel that is designed to be operated 
by a person sitting, standing, or kneeling on the vessel rather 
than being operated in a conventional manner by a person 
sitting, standing, or kneeling inside the vessel.” PWC operators 
must obey the laws that apply to other vessels as well as obey 
additional requirements that apply specifically to the operation 
of personal watercraft. 

Requirements Specific to PWC
 ■ Everyone on board a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard 

(USCG)–approved personal flotation device (PFD), at all 
times. Inflatable PFDs are not approved for use on PWC.

 ■ There are age and education requirements for operators of 
personal watercraft. See “Who May Operate a Vessel.”

 ■ PWC must be equipped with an engine cut-off switch 
(ECOS), and the operator must attach the lanyard of the 
switch to his or her wrist or PFD.

 ■ PWC may be operated only during daylight hours (between 
sunrise and sunset).

 ■ PWC must be operated in a safe and responsible manner. It 
is illegal to:
• Jump the immediate wake (within 100 feet) of another 

vessel.
• Weave your PWC through congested waterway traffic.
• Steer toward another object or person in the water and 

swerve at the last possible moment in order to avoid 
collision or spray others nearby.

• Operate the PWC close to boat ramps, docks, or the 
shoreline at more than idle speed.

• Chase, harass, or disturb wildlife with your PWC.
 ■ Persons who allow an underage operator to use a PWC may 

be prosecuted. 

Specifically for PWC 
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Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard, 
or any other device have additional laws.

Requirements for Towing Skiers
 ■ It is illegal for vessels to tow persons on water skis, a 

surfboard, or any other device between sunset and sunrise or 
during inclement weather.

 ■ The towing vessel must be able to observe the towed 
person(s). The towing vessel must have either: 
• A person at least 12 years old, in addition to the boat 

operator, on board observing the towed person(s) or…
• The required number of wide-angle (170-degree field of 

vision) rearview mirror(s).
 - If the towing vessel is a personal watercraft (PWC), the 
PWC must be equipped with two wide-angle rearview 
mirrors.

 - If the towing vessel is a boat (other than a PWC), the 
boat must be equipped with at least one wide-angle 
rearview mirror.

 ■ All persons being towed behind a vessel on water skis or 
any other device must wear an adequate and effective life 
preserver, buoyant vest, or life belt. If the device worn by 
the skier is not U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) approved, an 
approved wearable personal flotation device (PFD) must be 
on board the towing vessel.

 ■ The operator of the towing vessel and the skier must not 
operate in a manner that endangers the safety of persons 
or property. A safe speed and distance from other vessels, 
persons in the water, docks, piers, and shorelines must be 
maintained.

Wakeboarding and Wakesurfing
It is unlawful to engage in wakeboarding or wakesurfing in the 
waters of Tennessee:

 ■ Between sunset and sunrise
 ■ On a body of water that is less than 50 acres in size
 ■ On a portion of a body of water with a width of less than 

400 feet when measured from the nearest shoreline to the 
second nearest shoreline

Specifically for Skiing 
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Protecting Tennessee’s 
Waterways
Aquatic Nuisance Species
Introducing non-native species 
into Tennessee waters can upset 
the balance of the ecosystem, harming 
the environment. Aquatic nuisance species, such as bighead 
and silver carp, Eurasian watermilfoil, hydrilla, New Zealand 
mudsnail, purple loosestrife, round goby, quagga mussel, 
and zebra mussel, are most often spread between waterways 
by hitching a ride on vessels and trailers. When transplanted 
into new waters, these organisms proliferate, displacing native 
species and damaging the water resource and your vessel.
To prevent spreading aquatic nuisance species:

 ■ Inspect your vessel, motor, live wells, and trailer; and 
remove any aquatic nuisance species you see before 
leaving the area. 

 ■ Drain water from your boat, motor, bilge, live wells, and 
bait containers before leaving the area.

 ■ Dispose of unwanted bait and other animals or aquatic 
plants in the trash.

 ■ To remove or kill species that were not visible when 
leaving the area, either wash your boat and equipment 
with hot water or air-dry them for at least five days.

Outboard Emissions
New federal emission standards for marine engines are 
being phased in gradually. Many manufacturers are meeting 
these requirements now with clean-burning engines already 
available. The new technology provides easier starting, 
faster acceleration, quicker throttle response, improved fuel 
economy, and reduction of fumes and noise.

 ■ Within 200 feet of a shoreline, dock, pier, boathouse, or 
other structure located completely or partly on the water

 ■ Without wearing a USCG–approved PFD
A person shall not engage in wakesurfing if using a motorboat 
that has a propulsion system that extends beyond the 
motorboat’s boarding or swim platform.
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1. Not required for vessels propelled only by paddles or oars.
2. Each person on board a PWC must wear a USCG–approved wearable PFD 

at all times.
3. Children 12 years of age and younger must wear a USCG–approved PFD at 

all times while on the open deck of a recreational vessel that is not anchored, 
moored, or aground.

4. Each person on board vessels being operated within specifically marked areas 
below dams must wear a USCG–approved wearable PFD at all times.

5. Required on boats with inboard engines or stern drives.
6. Not required on Tennessee state waters.
7. Certain items do not apply to PWC because they are not allowed to operate 

between sunset and sunrise.
8. An electric light is required between sunset and sunrise and during times of 

restricted visibility.

Tennessee’s Required Equipment Checklist

PWC

Boat 
Less 

Than 16 
Ft.

Boat  
16 Ft. to 

Less Than 
26 Ft.

Paddlecraft 
Including 

SUP

Certificate of Number on Board ✓ ✓1  ✓1

Registration Number Displayed ✓ ✓1  ✓1

Validation Decals Displayed ✓ ✓1  ✓1

Wearable PFDs  
(Type I, II, III, or V)  ✓2   ✓3,4    ✓3,4   ✓3,4

Throwable Device (Type IV) ✓

Type B Fire Extinguisher ✓ ✓ ✓

Backfire Flame Arrestor ✓  ✓5  ✓5

Ventilation System ✓ ✓ ✓

Muffler ✓ ✓ ✓

Sound Signaling Ability ✓ ✓ ✓

Daytime VDSs 6

Nighttime VDSs 7 6 6

Navigation Lights 7 ✓ ✓  ✓8
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Tennessee Wildlife 
ResouRces Agency

Central Office  —Nashville
5107 Edmondson Pike, Nashville, TN 37211
Boating Safety. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 615-781-6682
Boat Registration. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 615-532-0476
TDD (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf) . . . . . . . . . . . 615-781-6691

Region I
200 Lowell Thomas Drive, Jackson, TN 38301
West Tennessee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 731-423-5725
Toll-Free (In-State) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1-800-372-3928

Region II
Ellington Agricultural Center, 
P.O. Box 41489, Nashville, TN 37204
Middle Tennessee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 615-781-6622
Toll-Free (In-State) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1-800-624-7406

Region III
464 Industrial Boulevard, Crossville, TN 38555
Cumberland Plateau . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 931-484-9571
Toll-Free (In-State) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1-833-402-4699

Region IV
3030 Wildlife Way, Morristown, TN 37814
East Tennessee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 423-587-7037
Toll-Free (In-State) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1-800-332-0900

U.S. Coast Guard Marine Safety
229 Great Circle Road, Suite 148, Nashville, TN 37228
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 615-736-5421

For emergencies, contact your nearest TWRA office.  
Local Sheriff’s departments also can contact TWRA officers or call:
Tennessee Emergency Management Agency . . . . . . . . . . . . . 615-741-0001
Toll-Free (In-State) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1-800-262-3300

www.tnwildlife.org
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