**DATE:** April 22, 2015

**SUBJECT:** Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

**BACKGROUND INFORMATION:** In 1992, state law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Education Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

Commission staff is recommending three (3) committee members to be reappointed to the Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2018.

**1. Reappointment:** Mr. Bill Faour, Director/Owner, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers

Representative that is employed by, holds an ownership interest in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

**2. Reappointment:** Dr. Kittie Myatt, Chair of Psychology Department, Argosy University – Nashville

Representative that is employed by, holds an ownership interest in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

**3. Reappointment:** Mr. John A. Keys, Former Commissioner of Veteran Affairs, State of Tennessee

Representative of the public interest having no association or relationship with such institutions.

Other members of the committee are:

## Dr. Russ Deaton, Chair

Interim Executive Director, THEC/TSAC

# Ms. Denise Bentley, Esq., Youth Court Coordinator, Tennessee Bar Association

Representative of the public interest having no association or relationship with such institutions.

### Ms. Vicki Burch, President/Owner, West Tennessee Business College

Representative that is employed by, holds an ownership interest in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

#### Mr. Miles Burdine, President and CEO, Kingsport Chamber of Commerce

Representative of the public interest having no association or relationship with such institutions.

#### Mr. Larry Griffin, President, Mid-South Christian College

Representative that is employed by, holds an ownership interest in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

## Mr. Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology

Representative of a community based organization that has an interest in postsecondary occupational education.

## Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann, Vice President, The One Fund, Nashville Minority Business Center

Representative of a community based organization that has an interest in postsecondary occupational education.

## Mr. Steve South, President/Owner, South College

Representative that is employed by, holds an ownership interest in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

## Dr. Earlie Steele, Retired Assistant Professor of Education, Fisk University

Representative of the public interest having no association or relationship with such institutions.