Н

Ι

N

Agenda Item: I.A.

DATE: January 29, 2015

SUBJECT: Selection of New Chair

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Article IV of the Commission's rules of procedure provides:

Any Commission vacancy shall be filled by the appointment of the Governor. Vacancies, except for expiration of term, shall be filled for the unexpired term only. The place of any Commission member shall be vacated at such time as he/she may cease to reside in the congressional district in which he/she resided at the time of his/her appointment. No Commission member shall be an elected or appointed official of the public institution of higher learning in Tennessee while a Commission member. Members shall receive no compensation for their services.

Article V of the Commission's rules of procedure provides:

The Commission officers shall consist of a chair, two vice-chairs, and a secretary, each elected by the Commission members from among their own number. The office of secretary may be combined with that of vice-chair. Officers shall be elected at the summer Commission meeting, and the term of office of all officers shall be one year or until their successors are elected; and their duties shall be those ordinarily performed by such officers.

No member shall serve as chair in excess of three successive one-year terms. Each vice-chair shall reside in one of the grand divisions of the state in which the chair and other vice-chair do not reside.

Due to the recent vacancy, the Commission is required to elect a new chair.

The current Commission officers are:

Vacant – Chairman

Mr. Evan Cope – Vice Chairman

Ms. Sharon Hayes - Vice Chairman

Mayor A C Wharton – Secretary