O N **Agenda Item:** I.B.4.

DATE: April 24, 2014

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

**ACTION RECOMMENDED:** Approval

**BACKGROUND INFORMATION:** In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

Commission staff is recommending three (3) committee members to be reappointed to the Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2017.

## 1. **Reappointment:** Mr. Miles Burdine

Mr. Miles Burdine is President and CEO for the Kingsport Chamber of Commerce. His membership represents public interest having no association with such institutions.

## Reappointment: Mr. Larry Griffin

Mr. Larry Griffin is President of the Mid-South Christian College. His membership represents one employed by, holding an ownership in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the Committee's supervision and oversight.

## 3. **Reappointment:** Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann

Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann is Vice President of the Loan Administration at Nashville Minority Business Development Loan Fund, Inc. Her membership represents community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education.

Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission and TN Student Assistance Corporation

Ms. Denise Bentley, Statewide Coordinator, Tennessee Youth Court Program at the Tennessee Bar Association

Ms. Vicki Burch, President/Owner, West Tennessee Business College

Mr. Bill Faour, Director/Owner, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers

Mr. Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology

Commissioner John A. Keys, Former Commissioner of Veteran Affairs, State of Tennessee.

Dr. Kittie Myatt, Chair of Psychology Department, Argosy University - Nashville

Mr. Steve South, President/Owner, South College

Dr. Earlie Steele, Former Assistant Professor and Supervisor of Special Education for Student Teachers, Fisk University.