C
O
M
M
I
S
S
I
O

N

Agenda Item: I.A.

DATE: July 25, 2013

Election of Officers SUBJECT:

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: The Commission will elect the 2013-14 officers. Article V of the Commission's rules of procedure provides:

The Commission officers shall consist of a chair, two vice-chairs, and a secretary, each elected by the Commission members from among their own The office of secretary may be combined with that of vice-chair. Officers shall be elected at the summer Commission meeting, and the term of office of all officers shall be one year or until their successors are elected; and their duties shall be those ordinarily performed by such officers.

No member shall serve as chair in excess of three successive one-year terms. Each vice-chair shall reside in one of the grand divisions of the state in which the chair and other vice-chair do not reside.

The current Commission officers are:

Mr. Robert White - Chairman

Mr. Cato Johnson - Vice Chairman

Mr. Evan Cope - Vice Chairman

Mayor A C Wharton – Secretary

Audit Committee Appointments

The THEC/TSAC Audit Committee Charter outlines the requirements for membership on the audit committee. The committee and its chair shall be selected by the Executive Director of THEC/TSAC and confirmed by the Commission/Board of Directors. The audit committee shall consist of five members with representation from both organizations who are generally knowledgeable in financial, management, and auditing matters. The committee chair shall have some accounting or financial management expertise. Each member shall serve for a term not to exceed three years, and may be reappointed. Each member shall be free of any appearance of conflict and of any relationship that would interfere with his or her exercise of independent judgment.

The current composition of the audit committee is:

Claude Presnell, TSAC, Chair Robert White, THEC

Greg Turner, TSAC Sammy Stuard, TSAC Sharon Hayes, THEC

Appointment: Dr. Rhoda recommends the appointment of Jon Kinsey to the Audit Committee for a 3-year term, beginning on July 1, 2013 ending June 30, 2016.