C O M M I S S I O

N

Agenda Item: I.B.4.

DATE: April 25, 2013

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

Commission staff is recommending five (5) committee members be reappointed to the Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions.

1. Reappointment: Ms. Denise D. Bentley

Ms. Bentley is Statewide Coordinator for the Tennessee Youth Court Program at the Tennessee Bar Association. Her membership represents public interest having no association with such institutions.

2. Reappointment: Ms. Vicki Burch

Ms. Burch is President of West Tennessee Business College. Her membership represents one employed by, holding an ownership in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the Committee's supervision and oversight.

3. Reappointment: Mr. Gaylon Hall

Mr. Hall is Director Emeritus of the William R. Moore College of Technology. He serves as a representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education.

4. Reappointment: Mr. Stephen A. South

Mr. South is the President/Owner of South College. He serves as one employed by, holding an ownership in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the Committee's supervision and oversight.

5. Reappointment: Dr. Earlie Steele

Dr. Earlie Steele, is a former Assistant Professor & Supervisor of Special Education for Student Teachers. Her membership represents public interest having no association with such institutions. Represents Middle Tennessee.

The staff recommends that, Ms. Denise D. Bentley, Statewide Coordinator, Tennessee Youth Court Program at Tennessee Bar Association, Ms.Vicki Burch, President, West Tennessee Business College, Mr. Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology, Mr. Steve South, President/Owner, South College and Dr. Earlie Steele, former Assistant Professor & Supervisor of Special Education for Student Teachers, be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.

Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission and TN Student Assistance Corporation

Mr. Miles Burdine, President and CEO, Kingsport Area Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Bill Faour, Director/Owner, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers

Mr. Larry Griffin, President, Mid-South Christian College

Mr. John Keys, Former Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs

Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann, Vice President & Loan Administrator for the Nashville Minority Business Development Loan Fund, Inc.

Dr. Kittie Myatt, Department Chair, Counselor Education Programs, Argosy University