T
Е
N N
E
S
S
E E
Η
I G
Н
\mathbf{E}
R
Ε
D
U
C
A T
Ī

I O N C O M M I S S I O N

Agenda Item: I.F.

DATE: July 26, 2012

SUBJECT: Election of Officers

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: The Commission will elect the 2012-13 officers. Article V of the Commission's rules of procedure provides:

The Commission officers shall consist of a chair, two vice-chairs, and a secretary, each elected by the Commission members from among their own number. The office of secretary may be combined with that of vice-chair. Officers shall be elected at the summer Commission meeting, and the term of office of all officers shall be one year or until their successors are elected; and their duties shall be those ordinarily performed by such officers.

No member shall serve as chair in excess of three successive one-year terms. Each vice-chair shall reside in one of the grand divisions of the state in which the chair and other vice-chair do not reside.

The current Commission officers are:

Mr. Robert White - Chairman

Mr. Cato Johnson - Vice Chairman

Mr. Charles Mann-Vice Chairman

Mayor A C Wharton - Secretary