N

т
т Т
E
N
N
E
S
S
E
E
نا
Η
Ţ
G
G H
H E
R
11
Ε
D
IJ
_
C
C A
C A T
A T
A T I
A T I
A T
A T I O N
A T I O N
A T I O N C O
A T I O N C O
A T I O N

Agenda Item: I.A.4.

DATE: April 26, 2012

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

Commission staff are recommending that three (3) committee members be reappointed to the Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions.

Reappointment: Mr. Bill Faour, Director/Owner, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers

Mr. Faour represents east Tennessee. He is a representative that holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Faour is the co-owner and director of Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Reappointment: Mr. John Keys, Former Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs

Commissioner Keys represents middle Tennessee. He is a representative of public interest and has no association or relationship to an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Keys is the immediate past Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Veterans Affairs and was formerly the Director of Veteran Services for Shelby County Government.

3. Reappointment: Dr. Kittie Myatt, Department Chair, Counselor Education Programs, Argosy University

Dr. Kittie Myatt represents middle Tennessee. She serves as one employed by, holding an ownership in, or otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the Committee's supervision. Dr. Myatt currently serves as the Department Chair for Counselor Education Programs at Argosy University.

The staff recommends that Mr. Bill Faour, Director/Owner, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers, Mr. John Keys, Former Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs and Dr. Kittie Myatt, Department Chair, Counselor Education Programs, Argosy University be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.

Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission and TN Student Assistance Corporation

Ms. Denise Bentley, Attorney

Ms. Vickie Burch, President, West Tennessee Business College

Miles Burdine, President and CEO, Kingsport Area Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Larry Griffin, President, Mid-South Christian College

Mr. Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology

Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann, Vice President & Loan Administrator for the Nashville Minority Business Development Loan Fund, Inc.

Mr. Steve South, President/Owner, South College

Dr. Earlie Steele, Assistant Professor and Supervisor of Special Education Student Teachers, Fisk University.