T
E
N
N
E
S S
E
E E
H
I
G ப
H E
R
E
D U C
C
A
T
I
Ō
N
\mathcal{C}
C O
M

M I S S I O N **Agenda Item:** I. F.

DATE: January 27, 2011

SUBJECT: Confirmation of New Audit Committee Member

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: The THEC/TSAC Audit Committee Charter outlines the requirements for membership on the audit committee. The committee and its chair shall be selected by the Executive Director of THEC/TSAC and confirmed by the Commission/Board of Directors. The audit committee shall consist of five members with representation from both organizations who are generally knowledgeable in financial, management, and auditing matters. The committee chair shall have some accounting or financial management expertise. Each member shall serve for a term not to exceed three years, and may be reappointed. Each member shall be free of any appearance of conflict and of any relationship that would interfere with his or her exercise of independent judgment.

The current composition of the audit committee is:

Robert White, THEC Claude Presnell, TSAC Cathy Pierce, TSAC Sammy Stuard, TSAC

New appointment: Ms. Sharon Hayes has been selected by Dr. Rhoda to serve as the fifth member on the audit committee, representing THEC.