T Ε N N Ε S S \mathbf{E} \mathbf{E} Η T G Η E R Ε D U C Α Т I O N C \mathbf{O} M

N C O M M I S S I O

N

Agenda Item: I.D.4.

DATE: July 28, 2011

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

Currently, two (2) positions on the committee are vacant. Commission staff are recommending that two (2) committee members be reappointed to the Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions.

1. Reappointment: Mr. Larry Griffin

Mr. Griffin represents west Tennessee. He is a representative that is employed by, holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Griffin serves as the President for Mid-South Christian College.

2. Reappointment: Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann

Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann represents Middle Tennessee. She is a representative of a community based organization that has an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann is the Vice President & Loan Administrator for the Nashville Minority Business Development Loan Fund, Inc.

The staff recommends that Mr. Larry Griffin, President, Mid-South Christian College and Mrs. Lethia Swett Mann, Vice President & Loan Administrator for the Nashville Minority Business Development Loan Fund, Inc. be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2014.

Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission and TN Student Assistance Corporation

Denise Bentley, Attorney

Vickie Burch, President, West Tennessee Business College

Miles Burdine, President and CEO, Kingsport Area Chamber of Commerce

Bill Faour, Director/Owner, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers

Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology

John Keys, Former Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs

Dr. Kittie Myatt, Department Chair, Counselor Education Programs, Argosy University

Steve South, President/Owner, South College

Dr. Earlie Steele, Assistant Professor and Supervisor of Special Education Student Teachers, Fisk University.