T Ε N N \mathbf{E} S S \mathbf{E} \mathbf{E} Η T G Η E R Ε D U C Α Т I \mathbf{O} N C \mathbf{O} M

C O M I S S

 \mathbf{O}

N

Agenda Item: __I.A.3.

DATE: July 23, 2009

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

1. Reappointment: Mr. Bill Faour

Mr. Bill Faour represents east Tennessee. He is a representative that holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Faour is the co-owner and director of Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

2. Reappointment: Commissioner John A. Keys

Commissioner Keys represents middle Tennessee. He is a representative of public interest and has no association or relationship to an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Keys currently serves as Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Veterans Affairs and was formerly the Director of Veteran Services for Shelby County Government.

3. Reappointment: Dr. Kittie Myatt

Dr. Myatt represents middle Tennessee. She is a representative that is employed by, holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Dr. Myatt serves as the Campus President for Argosy University.

4. Change of Appointment: Dr. Richard G. Rhoda

The Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

5. Vacant:

A representative of public interest that has no association or relationship to an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

6. Vacant:

A representative of public interest and has no association or relationship to an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

On June 30, 2009, 3 appointments to the committee expired. Currently, 6 positions on the committee are vacant. Commission staff are recommending 1 change of appointment and that 3 committee members be reappointed.

The staff recommends that Mr. Bill Faour, Commissioner John A. Keys, and Dr. Kittie Myatt be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2012. Additionally, Dr. Richard G. Rhoda will be appointed to the committee as the Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation. Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, Tennessee Higher Education Commission Denise Bentley, Attorney, Metro Board of Education Vicki Burch, President, West Tennessee Business College Larry Griffin, President, Mid-South Christian College Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology Ms. Joyce Searcy, President & CEO, Bethlehem Centers of Nashville Steve South, Owner/President, South College