O

N

Agenda Item: _	I.E.3.

**DATE:** July 24, 2008

**SUBJECT:** Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

**ACTION RECOMMENDED:** Approval

**BACKGROUND INFORMATION:** In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

On June 30, 2008, three (3) appointments to the committee expired; and one (1) member, who served on the Committee by virtue of his position as Executive Director of TSAC, no longer holds that position. Currently, four (4) positions on the committee are vacant. Commission staff recommends two (2) committee members be reappointed to the Committee on Postsecondary Educational Institutions.

## 1. Reappointment: Mr. Larry Griffin

Mr. Griffin represents west Tennessee. He is a representative that is employed by, holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Griffin serves as the President for Mid-South Christian College.

## 2. Reappointment: Mrs. Joyce Searcy

Mrs. Searcy represents middle Tennessee. She is a representative of a community-based organization that has an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Mrs. Searcy is the President and CEO of the Bethlehem Centers of Nashville in Nashville, Tennessee.

## 3. Vacant:

A representative of public interest that has no association or relationship to an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight.

## 4. Vacant:

Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

The staff recommends that Mr. Larry Griffin and Mrs. Joyce Searcy be appointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2010. Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission Denise Bentley, Attorney, Metro Board of Education Vicki Burch, President, West Tennessee Business College Bill Faour, Owner/Director, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental & Technical Careers Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology Michael Jaeger, Retired, Health Care Sales Commissioner John A. Keys, Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs Dr. Kittie Myatt, Campus President, Argosy University Steve South, Owner/President, South College