I

 \mathbf{O}

Ν

T Ε N N Ε S S E \mathbf{E} Η G Η E R Ε D U C Α Т \mathbf{O} Ν \mathbf{C} \mathbf{O} M M

Agenda Item: I.F.3.

DATE: July 26, 2007

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

On June 30, 2007, 5 appointments to the committee expired. Currently, 5 positions on the committee are vacant. Therefore, Commission staff are recommending 5 committee members be reappointed.

Reappointment: Ms. Denise D. Bentley 1.

> Represents middle Tennessee and has a public interest in postsecondary education with no association to a school under Commission oversight. Ms. Bentley is Program Director for Safety and Security for Metro Board of Education.

2. Reappointment: Ms. Vicki Burch

> Represents west Tennessee and has an affiliation with a school subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Ms. Burch is President of the West Tennessee Business College in Jackson, Tennessee.

3. Reappointment: Mr. Gaylon Hall

> This position represents southwest Tennessee and community-based organizations with no association to a school under Commission oversight. Mr. Hall is the Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology in Memphis.

4. Reappointment: Mr. Michael Jaeger

Mr. Jaeger represents west Tennessee. He is a representative of public interest and has no association or relationship to an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Jaeger is currently retired from a career in Health Care Sales.

5. Reappointment: Mr. Stephen A. South

Represents east Tennessee and has an affiliation with a school subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Mr. South is the president and owner of South College in Knoxville, Tennessee.

The staff recommends that Ms. Denise Bentley, Ms. Vicki Burch, Mr. Gaylon Hall, Mr. Michael Jaeger and Mr. Steve South be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2007 through June 30, 2010. Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission

Dr. Robert Ruble, Executive Director, TN Student Assistance Corporation

Bill Faour, Co-owner/Director, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental and Technical Careers

Larry Griffin, President, Mid-South Christian College

John Keys, Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs

Dr. Kittie Myatt, Campus President, Argosy University

Jovce Searcy, President & CEO, Bethlehem Centers of Nashville

Debbie Webb, Federal Projects Coordinator, Sullivan County Department of Education