T Ε N N \mathbf{E} S S \mathbf{E} E Η T G Η E R Ε D U C Α Т I O Ν C O M M Ι S S

I

O

N

Agenda Item: I.D.4.

DATE: April 26, 2007

SUBJECT: Recommendations for appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

1. New Appointment: Mr. Larry Griffin

Mr. Griffin represents west Tennessee. He is a representative that is employed by, holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Griffin serves as the President for Mid-South Christian College.

2. New Appointment: Dr. Kittie Myatt

Dr. Myatt represents middle Tennessee. She is a representative that is employed by, holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Dr. Myatt serves as the Campus President for Argosy University.

The staff recommends that Mr. Larry Griffin be appointed to the Committee to complete a previous member's appointment ending on June 30, 2008 and Dr. Kittie Myatt be appointed to the Committee to complete a previous member's appointment ending on June 30, 2009. Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission Denise Bentley, Attorney, Metro Board of Education Vicki Burch, President, West Tennessee Business College Bill Faour, Owner/Director, Chattanooga College Medical, Dental & Technical Careers Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology

Michael Jaeger, Retired, Health Care Sales Commissioner John A. Keys, Commissioner, TN Department of Veterans Affairs Dr. Robert Ruble, Executive Director, TN Student Assistance Corporation Joyce Searcy, President & CEO, Bethlehem Centers of Nashville Steve South, Owner/President, South College Debbie Webb, Sullivan County Department of Education