\mathbf{O}

N

Agenda Item: I.D.3.

DATE: July 27, 2006

SUBJECT: Recommendations for appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

ACTION RECOMMENDED: Approval

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

On June 30, 2006, 3 appointments to the committee expired. Currently, 3 positions on the committee are vacant. Therefore, Commission staff are recommending 3 committee members be reappointed.

1. Reappointment: Mr. Bill Faour

Mr. Bill Faour represents east Tennessee. He is a representative that holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Faour is the co-owner and director of Electronic Computer Programming College in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

2. Reappointment: Commissioner John A. Keys

Commissioner Keys represents middle Tennessee. He is a representative of public interest and has no association or relationship to an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Keys currently serves as Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Veterans Affairs and was formerly the Director of Veteran Services for Shelby County Government.

3. Reappointment: Mr. Prentis McClain

Mr. Prentis McClain represents west Tennessee. He is a representative that is employed by, holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr.

McClain serves as the Chief Business Officer on New Dimensions Bible College's Board of Directors.

The staff recommends that Mr. Bill Faour, Commissioner John A. Keys and Mr. Prentis McClain be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2009. Other members of the committee are:

Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Commission Denise Bentley, Attorney, Metro Board of Education
Joe Brown, Owner/Director, Supplemental Services Incorporated of TN Vicki Burch, President, West Tennessee Business College
Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore College of Technology Michael Jaeger, Retired, Health Care Sales
Dr. Robert Ruble, Executive Director, TN Student Assistance Corporation Joyce Searcy, President & CEO, Bethlehem Centers of Nashville Steve South, Owner/President, South College
Debbie Webb, Sullivan County Department of Education