$\mathbf{O}$ 

N

Agenda Item: I.D.3.

**DATE:** July 15, 2004

**SUBJECT:** Recommendations for appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

**ACTION RECOMMENDED:** Approval

**BACKGROUND INFORMATION:** In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

On June 30, 2004, five appointments to the committee expired. Currently, five (5) positions on the committee are vacant. Therefore, Commission staff are recommending four committee members be reappointed to the Postsecondary Advisory Committee.

1. Reappointment: Ms. Denise D. Bentley

Represents middle Tennessee and has a public interest in postsecondary education with no association to a school under Commission oversight. Ms. Bentley is the Safety Program Manager for the Office of School Safety and Security for Metro Nashville Public Schools. Past experience includes service as Special Projects Administrator for Career and Technical Education, Metro Nashville Public Schools; Director of the Nashville Jobs Partnership, Mills Corporation; Executive Assistant to the CEO of McKissack and McKissack Architects and Engineers; Assistant Professor of Legal Studies in Business at the University of Tennessee, in Knoxville, TN; judicial clerk for the Honorable Matthew J. Sweeney, III.

2. Reappointment: Ms. Vicki Burch

Represents west Tennessee and has an affiliation with a school subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Ms. Burch is institutional director of the West Tennessee Business College in Jackson, Tennessee.

## 3. Reappointment: Mr. Gaylon Hall

This position represents southwest Tennessee and community-based organizations with no association to a school under Commission oversight. Mr. Hall is the Director Emeritus of William R. Moore College of Technology in Memphis. Under the Tennessee statute adopted July 1, 1998, William R. Moore College of Technology is now exempt from postsecondary authorization as a result of being an accredited not-for-profit organization domiciled in the state for more than ten years. Mr. Hall is a former Commissioner and past Chairman with the recognized accrediting agency Council on Occupational Education.

## 4. Reappointment: Mr. Stephen A. South

Represents east Tennessee and has an affiliation with a school subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Mr. South is the president and owner of South College in Knoxville, Tennessee. Mr. South is a former Commissioner for the College Accreditation, Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS).

## 5. TBA:

Represents public interest having no association with a school under Commission oversight

The staff recommends that Ms. Denise Bentley, Ms. Vicki Burch, Mr. Gaylon Hall and Mr. Steve South be reappointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2004 through June 30, 2007. Other members of the committee are:

Joe Brown, Owner/Director, Supplemental Services Incorporated of TN William Faour, Owner/Director, Electronic Computer Programming College Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Comm. Michael Roberts, Executive Director, TN Student Assistance Corporation Joyce Searcy, President and CEO of the Bethlehem Centers of Nashville Richard Venable, Mayor of Sullivan County Lisa York, Attorney, Gideon & Wiseman Law Firm