N

Agenda Item: \_\_III.C.\_

**DATE:** November 20, 2003

**SUBJECT:** Recommendations for appointments to the Committee on

Postsecondary Educational Institutions

**ACTION RECOMMENDED:** Approval

**BACKGROUND INFORMATION:** In 1992, State law created under the auspices of the Commission an advisory committee for recommendations and the review of issues relative to institutions subject to the Postsecondary Authorization Act. Persons appointed shall be broadly representative of the geographical characteristics of Tennessee. Five (5) members of the Committee shall be employed by, hold an ownership in, or otherwise be affiliated with an institution or other entity subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Four (4) members shall be representative of the public interest and shall have no association or relationship with such institutions. Two (2) members shall be representative of community based organizations that have an interest in postsecondary occupational education. Of the thirteen (13) members, eleven (11) are appointed with the remaining two (2) serving by virtue of their position as Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and as Executive Director of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

On June 30, 2003, three appointments to the committee expired. Currently, three (3) positions on the committee are vacant. Therefore, Commission staff are recommending three committee members be reappointed to the Postsecondary Advisory Committee.

1. Reappointment: Mr. Bill Faour

Mr. Faour represents east Tennessee. He is a representative that holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Mr. Faour is the co-owner and director of Electronic Computer Programming College in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

2. Reappointment: Dr. Barkev Trachian

Dr. Trachian represents east Tennessee. He is a representative that holds an ownership in, or is otherwise affiliated with an institution that is subject to the committee's supervision and oversight. Dr. Trachian is the president of Temple Baptist Seminary in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

3. Reappointment: Ms. Lisa York

Ms. York represents middle Tennessee. She is a representative with no association to a school. Ms. York is an attorney with Gideon & Wiseman

Law Firm in Nashville, Tennessee. She does litigation in the area of medical malpractice in state and federal court.

The staff recommends that Mr. William Faour, Dr. Barkev Trachian and Ms. Lisa York be appointed to the Committee for a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2003 through June 30, 2006. Other members of the committee are:

Denise Bentley, Attorney, Metro Board of Education
Joe Brown, Owner/Director, Supplemental Services Incorporated of TN
Vickie Burch, Director, West Tennessee Business College
Gaylon Hall, Director Emeritus, William R. Moore
Leland McNabb, Attorney, McNabb, Bragorgos & Burgess PLLC.
Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director, TN Higher Education Comm.
Michael Roberts, Executive Director, TN Student Assistance Corporation
Joyce Searcy, President and CEO of the Bethlehem Centers of Nashville
Steve South, Owner/Director, South College
Richard Venable, Mayor of Sullivan County