
Maximum Total Application Fee Local Governments 
Authorized to Charge for Processing Applications for 

100 Small Wireless Facilities, Under State Law 
State Fee 

Florida  $ 400 
Kansas  $ 2,000 
Virginia  $ 5,750 
Arizona  $ 6,000 
Iowa  $ 6,000 
New Mexico  $ 6,000 
North Carolina  $ 6,000 
Tennessee  $ 6,250 
Arizona  $ 7,025 
Indiana  $ 10,000 
Missouri  $ 10,000 
Utah  $ 10,000 
Oklahoma  $ 12,000 
Ohio  $ 25,000 
Texas  $ 30,000 
Illinois  $ 35,000 

Assumptions: 

• Applicant submits minimum number of applications necessary for 100 small wireless facilities, based on the maximum 
number of facilities that can be included in a single application, under state law. 

• Local government charges maximum fee for processing applications, under state law. 

Additional Notes: 

• Arizona listed twice because formula for calculating fees varies depending on whether application made to cities and 
towns ($6,000) or counties ($7,025). 

• Maximum fees not set in small wireless facility law in Colorado, Minnesota, and Hawaii. 

• Rhode Island's small wireless facility law caps fees at the lesser of the actual cost of processing the application or the fees 
charged for processing permits for new utility poles. 

• If actual cost of processing application is less than allowed maximum, then local government is limited to recovering 
actual cost under state law in Arizona, Oklahoma, and Texas. 

• If fees charged for processing permit applications for similar construction are less than allowed maximum, then local 
government is limited to recovering lower fees under state law in Indiana, Iowa, and Utah. 

• If either actual cost of processing application or fee charged for processing permit applications for similar construction is 
less than allowed maximum, then local government is limited to recovering lower amount under state law in North 
Carolina. 

• Delaware not shown because its law applies only to its state department of transportation. 

• In some states, higher fee caps (not shown here) apply to small wireless facility applications involving requests to 
construct new utility poles or support structures. 

• Other states not listed have not passed small wireless facilities laws. 

Source:  Calculations by TACIR staff, based on TACIR staff research on small wireless facility laws passed in Tennessee and other 
states. 


