

226 Anne Dallas Dudley Blvd., Suite 508 Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0760 Phone: (615) 741-3012

Fax: (615) 532-2443 www.tn.gov/tacir

MEMORANDUM

TO: Commission Members

FROM: Cliff Lippard

Executive Director

DATE: 6 September 2018

SUBJECT: Staff and Commission Updates

Commission Update

Two of our local government members, former Rutherford County Mayor Ernest Burgess and former Carroll County Mayor Kenny McBride, rolled off the Commission when their terms as county mayors expired on August 31, 2018. Mayor Burgess was a commission member since 2010, and Mayor McBride was a member since 2008. Both contributed greatly to the Commission, and their participation will be missed. Resolutions honoring their service are attached. Please join me in thanking Mayor Burgess and Mayor McBride for their service to TACIR, the state, and their local communities.

Staff Update

This summer, we welcomed two new research associates to the Commission staff. Rabia Chaudhry comes to us from Tennessee State University, where she was a graduate assistant while completing her Master of Public Administration degree. She also holds a Bachelor of Science degree in economics and finance from the Lahore School of Economics and a Master of Science in Economics degree from the Lahore University of Management and Sciences. Emma Johnson comes to us from the Texas Legislative Council, where she served as a policy research specialist. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from Coastal Carolina University and a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Maryland. Please join me in welcoming Rabia and Emma.