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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

2016 Survey:
State Legislative Compensation, Session Per Diem and Mileage

 Salaries
Regular sessions

State or other Per diem Limit Annual Mileage
jurisdiction salary  on days salary cents per mile Session per diem rate

Alabama . . . . . . $42,830 (a) 54/mile. (b)
Alaska . . . . . . $50,400 54/mile. $223 or $249 a day (depending on the time of year). Tied to the federal 

rate. Legislators who reside in the capitol area receive 75% of the federal 
rate. 

Arizona . . . . . . $24,000 44.5/mile. $35 a day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for special 
sessions and $10 a day thereafter; members residing outside Maricopa 
County receive an additional $25 a day for the first 120 days of the regular 
session and for special sessions and an additional $10 a day thereafter (V). 
Set by statute.

Arkansas . . . . . . $39,400 54/mile. $150 a day plus mileage (V). Tied to the federal rate.
California . . . . . . $100,113 53/mile. $176 a day for each day in session.
Colorado . . . . . . $30,000 49/mile. $99 a day for members living outside Denver; $45 a day for members who 

live 50 or fewer miles from the capitol (V). Set by the legislature.
Connecticut . . . . . . $28,000 54/mile. No per diem is paid.
Delaware . . . . . . $44,541 40/mile. No per diem is paid.
Florida . . . . . . $29,697 44.5/mile. $152 a day based on the number of days in Tallahassee (V). 
Georgia . . . . . . $17,342 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $173 a day (U). Set by the Legislative Services Committee.
Hawaii . . . . . . $60,180 (c) $175 a day throughout session for members who do not reside on the 

island of Oahu; $10 a day for members living on Oahu during the 
mandatory five-day recess only.

Idaho . . . . . . $16,684 54/mile. One roundtrip per week $129 a day for members establishing a second residence in Boise; $49 a day 
if no second residence is established and up to $25 a day travel (V). Set by 
the compensation commission.

Illinois . . . . . . $67,836 39/mile $111 a session day.
Indiana . . . . . . $24,671 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $161 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.
Iowa . . . . . . $25,000 39/mile. $160 a day; $120 a day for Polk County legislators (U). Set by the legislature 

to coincide with the federal rate. 
Kansas $88.66 a day (C) . . . . . . 54/mile. $140 a day.
Kentucky $188.22 a day . . . . . . 54/mile. $154 a day.
Louisiana . . . . . . $16,800 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $157 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.

A
ppendix F.  2016 N

ational C
onference of State Legislatures Survey 

R
esults

DRAFT

WWW.TN.GOV/TACIR


W
W

W
.TN

.G
O

V
/TA

C
IR

70

Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

Salaries
Regular sessions

State or other Per diem Limit Annual Mileage
jurisdiction salary  on days salary cents per mile Session per diem rate

Maine . . . . . . $14,074 a year first 
regular session; $9,982 a 
year second regular 
session. (d)

44/mile. $38 a day lodging (or mileage and tolls up to $38 a day in lieu of housing). 
$32 a day meals. Set by statute.

Maryland . . . . . . $46,061 54/mile. (e) $45 a day meals. $101 a day lodging. 
Massachusetts . . . . . . $60,032 (f) (f)
Michigan . . . . . . $71,685 54/mile. $10,800 a year expense allowance for session and interim (V). Set by the 

compensation commission.
Minnesota . . . . . . $31,141 Tied to federal rate. (g) $86 a day for senators; $66 a day for representatives.
Mississippi . . . . . . $10,000 54/mile. $140 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.
Missouri . . . . . . $35,915 37.5/mile. $112 a day (U). Tied to federal rate. 
Montana $82.64 a day (L) . . . . . . 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $112.85 a day (U).
Nebraska . . . . . . $12,000 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $140 a day for members residing 50 miles or more from the capitol; $51 a 

day for members residing inside the 50-mile radius.
Nevada $146.29 a day (C) Up to 60 

days.
. . . 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $140 a day.

New Hampshire . . .  $200 per 2-year term. (h) No per diem is paid.
New Jersey . . . . . . $49,000 None No per diem is paid.
New Mexico . . . . . . . . . 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $163 a day (V). Tied to federal rate.
New York . . . . . . $79,500  54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $174 a day (including overnight) or $59 a day (no overnight).
North Carolina . . . . . . $13,951 29/mile. One roundtrip per week. $104 a day (U). Set by statute. 
North Dakota $172 a day (C) . . . . . . 54/mile. One roundtrip per week. 

Tied to federal rate.
Up to $1,682 a month lodging (V).

Ohio . . . . . . $60,584 52/mile. (i) No per diem is paid.
Oklahoma . . . . . . $38,400 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $157 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.
Oregon . . . . . . $23,568 54/mile. $140 a day.
Pennsylvania . . . . . . $85,339 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $175 a day. Tied to federal rate.
Rhode Island . . . . . . $15,414 57.5/mile. No per diem is paid.
South Carolina . . . . . . $10,400 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $140 a day. Tied to federal rate.
South Dakota  $6,000/session (j) $140 a day (L) (U). 
Tennessee . . . . . . $20,884 47/mile. $204 a day (L) (U). Tied to federal rate.
Texas . . . . . . $7,200 50/mile. $1.24/mile for single, twin 

and turbo engine airplanes. Set by 
general appropriations bill.

$190 a day (U). Set by ethics commission.

Utah $273 a day (C) . . . . . . 56/mile. Up to $100 plus tax a day (C) lodging; up to $39/date meals (V). Tied to in-
state lodging and meal reimbursement rates.  

Vermont . . . . . . $693.74/w during 
session.

54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $115 a day lodging (including overnight) or $74 a day (no overnight).

Virginia . . . . . . $18,000 a year Senate; 
$17,640 a year House.

54/mile. $185 a day senators; $185 a day delegates.

Washington . . . . . . $45,474 a year; 
increases to $46,839 a 
year  eff. 9/1/2016.

54/mile. $120 a day.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

Salaries
Regular sessions

State or other Per diem Limit Annual Mileage
jurisdiction salary  on days salary cents per mile Session per diem rate

West Virginia . . . . . . $20,000 48.5/mile. $131 a day (U). Set by compensation commission.
Wisconsin . . . . . . $50,950 51/mile. One roundtrip per week Senate - up to $88 a day ($44 a day legislators living in Dane County). 

Assembly - up to $138 a day (including overnight) or up to $69 a day (no 
overnight). The maximum number of days per year that per diem can be 
claimed is 80 days. 

Wyoming $150 a day . . . . . . 54/mile. $109 a day (V). Set by legislature.

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016. 
Key:
C — Calendar day
L — Legislative day
(U) — Unvouchered
(V) — Vouchered
. . . — Not applicable

Notes:

(g) Minnesota. Senate: a reasonable allowance. House: range of $100-$1,650 a month for mileage reimbursement for travel in the legislative district during interim. During session, House 
members can request up to one round trip per week if they live more than 50 miles from the capitol. 
(h) New Hampshire. Round trip home to the State House at 38 cents/mile for the first 45 miles and 19 cents/mile thereafter, or members will be reimbursed for actual expenses and mileage will 
be paid at the federal rate.
(i) Ohio. One roundtrip per week from home to the State House for legislators outside Franklin County only.
(j) South Dakota. 42 cents/mile for one roundtrip from capital to home each weekend. One trip is paid at 5 cents/mile. 

(a) Alabama. The State Personnel Board met on Oct. 27, 2015, and set the median annual household income amount at $42,830. This current median annual household amount will begin on 
January 1, 2016 and will continue through December 31, 2016. 
(b) Alabama. Legislators no longer receive a set per diem rate while in session. Legislators are reimbursed for in-state travel expenses which include mileage and per diem in accordance with 
rates and procedures applicable to state employees. All out-of-district reimbursable travel must be for official business and in the interests of the state or in the performance of official duties, as 
approved by the applicable presiding officer.
(c) Hawaii. Members may claim a mileage reimbursement for reasonable and necessary use of a personal automobile in the conduct of official legislative business and discharge of duties when 
meeting certain criteria.
(d) Maine. Annual cost of living adjustments apply. In addition, legislators receive a constituent service allowance ($2,000 a year for senators and $1,500 a year for representatives).

(e) Maryland. $750 annual allowance for in-district travel as taxable income. Members may decline the allowance.
(f) Massachusetts. $10-$100 a day depending on distance from State House (V). Set by the legislature.DRAFT

WWW.TN.GOV/TACIR


W
W

W
.TN

.G
O

V
/TA

C
IR

72

Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

2016 Survey:
Additional Compensation: House/Assembly Leaders

State Presiding Majority Minority
or other jurisdiction officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Alabama $18,000 a year None None None
Alaska $500 a year None None None
Arizona (a) (a) (a) None
Arkansas $5,600 a year None None None
California $15,016 a year  $7,508 a year $15,016 a year Leaders: $7,508 a year second ranking minority leader.

Committee chairs: None.

Colorado (b) (b) (b) (b)
Connecticut $10,689 a year $8,835 a year $8,835 a year Leaders: $6,446 a year each for deputy speaker, deputy majority leaders, minority leaders, 

assistant majority leaders, assistant minority leaders. $4,241 a year each for majority whips, 
minority whips.   
Committee chairs: $4,241 a year.

Delaware $19,893 a year $12,376 a year $12,376 a year Leaders: $7,794 a year each for majority whips, minority whips.
Committee chairs: $11,459 a year joint finance chair. $4,578 a year each for capital 
improvement chair and vice chair, sunset chair.

Florida $11,484 a year None None None
Georgia $6,811 a month $200 a month $200 a month Leaders: $400 a month for speaker pro tem. $200 a month for governor’s floor leader. $100 

a month for assistant floor leader. 
Committee chairs: None.

Hawaii $7,500 a year None None None
Idaho $4,000 a year None None None
Illinois $27,477 a year $23,230 a year $18,067 a year Leaders: $19,792 a year each for deputy majority leaders, deputy minority leaders. $18,067 

a year each for assistant majority leaders, assistant minority leaders. 
Committee chairs: $10,326 a year each for chairs, minority committee spokespersons.DRAFT
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State Presiding Majority Minority
or other jurisdiction officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Indiana $7,000 a year $5,500 a year $5,500 a year Leaders: $5,500 a year majority caucus chair. $5,000 a year speaker pro tem. $4,500 a year 
each for minority floor leader, minority caucus chair. $4,000 a year majority whip. $3,500 a 
year assistant majority floor leaders. $3,000 a year minority whip. $2,000 a year each for 
deputy speaker pro tem, assistant majority caucus chairs, assistant majority whips. $1,500 a 
year each for assistant minority leader, assistant minority floor leader, assistant minority 
caucus chair, assistant minority whip. (Ind. P.L. 213—2015)
Committee chairs: $5,500 a year ways and means chair. $4,000 a year ways and means vice 
chair. $3,500 a year ways and means committee ranking minority member. $3,000 a year 
ways and means budget subcommittee chair. $1,500 a year each for ways and means k-12 
subcommittee chair, ways and means higher ed. subcommittee chair. $1,000 a year each 
for 22 other committee chairs. If an officer fills more than one (1) leadership position, the 
officer may be paid for each of the paid positions. (Ind. P.L. 213—2015).

Iowa $11,593 a year $11,593 a year $11,593 a year Leaders: $1,243 a year speaker pro tem. 
Committee chairs: None.  

Kansas $14,039 a year $12,665 a year $12,665 a year Leaders: $7,165 a year each for speaker pro tem, assistant majority leaders, assistant 
minority leaders. 
Committee chairs: $11,290 a year appropriation chair.

Kentucky $47.35 a day $37.40 a day $37.40 a day Leaders: $28.66 a day each for majority caucus chairs & whips, minority caucus chairs & 
whips.  
Committee chairs: $18.71 a day for standing committees only.

Louisiana $15,200 a year None None Leaders: $7,700 a year speaker pro tem. 
Committee chairs: None

Maine 50% of base salary 25% of base salary 12.5% of base salary None
Maryland $13,766 a year None None None
Massachusetts $35,000 a year $22,500 a year $22,500 a year Leaders: $15,000 a year each for speaker pro tem, assistant majority leaders, assistant 

minority leaders. 
Committee chairs: $25,000 a year ways and means chairs. $7,500-$15,000 a year other 
committee chairs.

Michigan $27,000 a year Position does not exist $22,000 a year Leaders: $12,000 a year majority floor leader. $10,000 a year minority floor leader. $5,513 a 
year speaker pro tem.
Committee chairs: $6,300 a year for apppropriation chairs.

Minnesota $12,455 a year $12,455 a year $12,455 a year None
Mississippi $50,000 a year None None Leaders: $5,000 a year speaker pro tem.   

Committee chairs: None.
Missouri $208.34 a month $125 a month $125 a month None
Montana $5 a day during session None None None
Nebraska N/A—Unicameral legislature ----------------------------------------------
Nevada $2 a day None None None
New Hampshire $50 a 2-year term. None None None
New Jersey 1/3 above annual base salary None None None
New Mexico None None None None
New York $41,500 a year $34,500 a year $34,500 a year Leaders: $9,000–$25,000 a year for 31 leaders.  Set in statute.

Committee chairs: $9,000-$34,000 a year for chairs and ranking minority members of 
committees. No member may receive more than one allowance for leaders or committee 
chairs and ranking minority members. Set in statute.

North Carolina $24,200 a year $3,097 a year $3,097 a year Leaders: $7,788 a year speaker pro tem. 
Committee chairs: None.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State Presiding Majority Minority
or other jurisdiction officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

North Dakota $10 a day during session $15 a day during session, 
plus $345 a month during 
term of office.

$15 a day during session, 
plus $345 a month during 
term of office.

Leaders: $10 a day for assistant leaders during session. 
Committee chairs: $10 a day for all substantive standing committees.

Ohio $33,853 a year $20,579 a year majority 
floor leader.

$25,581 a year Leaders: $25,581 a year speaker pro tem. $18,084 a year assistant majority floor leader. 
$10,589 a year majority whip. $5,591 a year assistant majority whip. $2,797 a year assistant 
minority whip.  
Committee chairs: $10,000 a year finance chair. $6,500 a year each for finance ranking 
minority member, finance committee standing subcommittee chair, all other standing 
committee chairs. $5,500 a year finance vice chair. $5,000 a year each for ranking minority 
member finance standing subcommittee, vice chairs, ranking minority members, standing 
subcommittee chairs. $2,500 a year standing subcommittee ranking minority members.

Oklahoma $17,932 a year $12,364 a year $12,364 a year Leaders: $12,364 a year speaker pro tem.  
Committee chairs: $12,364 a year each for app. chair, budget chair.

Oregon $23,568 a year None None None
Pennsylvania $47,880 a year $38,306 a year $38,306 a year Leaders: $29,071 a year each for majority whips, minority whips. $18,126 a year each for 

majority caucus chairs, minority caucus chairs. $11,971 a year each for majority caucus 
secretaries, minority caucus secretaries, majority policy chairs, minority policy chairs, 
majority caucus administrative, minority caucus administrative.  
Committee chairs: None

Rhode Island $15,414 a year None None None
South Carolina $11,000 a year None None Leaders: $3,600 a year speaker pro tem. 

Committee chairs: None.
South Dakota None None None None
Tennessee $41,768 a year None None None
Texas None None None None
Utah $5,000 a year $3,000 a year $3,000 a year Leaders: $3,000 a year each for whips, assistant whips.  

Committee chairs: $2,000 a year executive appropriation chair.
Vermont $11,296 a year. $730.66 a week 

during session. 
None None None

Virginia $18,681 a year None None None
Washington $8,640 a year; increases to 

$8,899 a year eff. 9/1/2016.
None $4,320 a year; increases to 

$4,449 a year eff. 9/1/2016.
None

West Virginia $150 a day during session. $50 a day during session. $50 a day during session Leaders: $150 a day (up to 30 days) for a maximum of six additional persons named by 
presiding officer. 
Committee chairs: $150.00 a day (up to 30 days) finance and judiciary chairs.

Wisconsin $25 a month None None None
Wyoming $3 a day None None None

Source:  National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.

Notes:
(a) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.
(b) Colorado. All leaders receive $99 a day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

2016 Survey:
Additional Compensation: State Senate Leaders

Presiding Majority Minority
State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Alabama Lieutenant governor holds this 
position.  

None None None

Alaska $500 a year None None None
Arizona  (a) (a) (a) None
Arkansas Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 
None None  $5,600 a year president pro tem.

California Lieutenant governor holds this 
position.  

$7,508 a year majority floor leader $15,061 a year $15,016 a year president pro tem. $7,508 a year second ranking minority 
leader.

Colorado (b) (b) (b) (b)
Connecticut Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.
$8,835 a year $8,835 a year Leaders: $10,689 a year president pro tem. $6,446 a year each for deputy 

majority leaders, deputy minority leaders. $4,241 a year each for assistant 
majority leaders, assistant minority leaders, majority whips, minority whips.  
Committee chairs: $4,241 a year.

Delaware Lieutenant governor holds this 
position.

$12,376 a year $12,376 a year Leaders: $19,983 a year president pro tem. $7,794 a year each for majority 
whips, minority whips.  
Committee chairs: $11,459 a year joint finance chair. $4,578 a year each for 
capital improvement chair and vice chair, sunset chair.

Florida $11,484 a year None None None
Georgia Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 
$200 a month $200 a month Leaders: $400 a month president pro tem. $200 a month administration 

floor leader. $100 a month assistant administration floor leader.
Committee chairs: None.

Hawaii $7,500 a year None None None
Idaho Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 
None None None

Illinois $27,477 a year $20,650 a year $27,477 a year Leaders: $20,650 a year each for assistant majority leaders, assistant 
minority leaders, majority caucus chairs, minority caucus chairs.  
Committee chairs: $10,326 a year each for all chairs, minority committee 
spokespersons.
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Presiding Majority Minority
State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Indiana Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

$5,500 a year for majority floor 
leader

$6,000 a year minority floor leader Leaders: $7,000 a year president pro tem. $5,500 a year majority caucus 
chair. $5,000 a year each for minority caucus chair, assistant minority floor 
leader $4,000 a year majority whip. $3,500 a year assistant majority floor 
leader. $3,000 a year assistant president pro tem. $2,500 a year majority 
floor leader emeritus. $2,000 a year assistant majority whip, minority whips. 
$1,500 a year each for minority leader emeritus, assistant majority caucus 
chairs. $1,000 a year each for assistant minority whip, assistant minority 
caucus chairs.  (Ind. P.L. 213—2015).
Committee chairs: $5,500 a year each for apppropriation chair, tax & fiscal 
policy chair. $2,000 a year each for appropriation ranking majority member, 
tax & fiscal policy ranking majority member, appropriation ranking minority 
member, tax & fiscal policy ranking minority member. $1,000 a year each 
for 21 other committee chairs. If an officer fills more than one leadership 
position, the officer shall be paid for the higher paid position. (Ind. P.L. 
213—2015).

Iowa $11,593 a year $11,593 a year $11,593 a year Leaders: $1,243 a year president pro tem.  
Committee chairs: None.

Kansas $14,039 a year $12,666 a year  $12,666 a year Leaders: $7,165 a year each for vice president, assistant majority leaders, 
assistant minority leaders  
Committee chairs: $11,290 a year w&m chair.

Kentucky $47.35 a day $37.40 a day $37.40 a day Leaders: $28.66 a day each for majority caucus chairs, minority caucus 
chairs, majority caucus whips, minority caucus whips.  
Committee chairs: $18.71 a day for standing committees only.

Louisiana $15,200 a year None None Leaders: $7,700 a year president pro tem.  
Committee chairs: $11,200 a year each for joint budget chair and vice-chair.

Maine 50% of base salary a year 25% of base salary a year 12.5% of base salary a year None
Maryland $13,766 a year None None None
Massachusetts $35,000 a year $22,500 a year $22,500 a year Leaders: $15,000 a year each for president pro tem, assistant majority 

leaders, assistant minority leaders  
Committee leaders: $25,000 a year w&m chair. $7,500-$15,000 a year each 
for other committee chairs.

Michigan Lieutenant governor holds this 
position.

$23,400 a year $19,800 a year Leaders: $10,800 a year majority floor leader. $9,000 a year minority floor 
leader $4,962 a year president pro tem.   
Committee chairs: $6,300 a year app. chairs.

Minnesota None $12,455 a year $12,455 a year Leaders: $4,151 a year majority whip.  
Committee chairs: $4,151 a year each for tax chair, finance chair.

Mississippi Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

None None $5,000 a year president pro tem

Missouri Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

None None None

Montana $5 a day during session None None None
Nebraska Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 
None None None
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Presiding Majority Minority
State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Nevada Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

None None None

New Hampshire $50 a 2 year term None None None
New Jersey 1/3 above annual base salary None None None
New Mexico Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 
None None None

New York Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

(c) $34,500 a year Leaders: $41,500 a year president pro tem. $34,000 a year each for vice 
president pro tem, deputy majority leader.  $13,000–$27,500 a year for 20 
other leaders. Set in statute.
Committee chairs: $9,000-$34,000 a year each for chairs, ranking minority 
members. No member may receive more than one allowance for leaders or 
committee chairs and ranking minority members. Set in statute.

North Carolina Lieutenant governor holds this 
position.

$17,048 a year $17,048 a year Leaders: $38,151 a year president pro tem. $21,739 a year deputy president 
pro tem.  
Committee chairs: None

North Dakota Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

$15 a day during legislative sessions, 
plus $345 a month during term of 
office.

$15 a day during legislative sessions, 
plus $345 a month during term of 
office.

Leaders: $10 a day during session assistant leaders.  
Committee chairs: $10 a day all substantive standing committees.

Ohio $33,853 a year $20,579 a year majority floor leader $25,581 a year Leaders: $25,581 a year president pro tem. $18,084 a year majority whip. 
$2,797 a year assistant minority whip. 
Committee chairs: $10,000 a year fin. chair. $6,500 a year each for finance 
ranking minority member, finance standing subcommittee chair, all other 
standing committee chairs. $5,500 a year finance vice chair.  $5,000 a year 
each for ranking minority member of finance standing subcommittee, vice-
chairs, ranking minority members, standing subcommittee chairs. $2,500 a 
year standing subcommittee ranking minority members.

Oklahoma Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

$12,364 a year $12,364 a year Leaders: $17,932 a year president pro tem. 
Committee chairs: $12,364 a year each for appropriation chair, budget 
chair.

Oregon $23,568 a year None None None
Pennsylvania Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 
$38,306 a year $38,306 a year Leaders: $47,880 a year president pro tem. $29,071 a year majority whips, 

minority whips. $18,126 a year each for majority caucus chairs, minority 
caucus chairs. $11,971 a year each for majority caucus secretaries, minority 
caucus secretaries, majority policy chairs, minority policy chairs, majority 
caucus administrator, minority caucus administrator.
Committee chairs: $29,071 a year each for majority appropriation chair, 
minority appropriation chair.

Rhode Island $15,414 a year None None None

South Carolina Lieutenant governor holds this 
position

None None Leaders: $11,000 a year president pro tem. 
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pensation:  Com
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Presiding Majority Minority
State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

South Dakota Lieutenant governor holds this 
position. 

None None None

Tennessee $41,768 a year None None None
Texas Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 
None None None

Utah $3,000 a year $2,000 a year $2,000 a year Leaders: $2,000 a year each for majority whips, minority whips, assistant 
majority whips, assistant minority whips.  
Committee leaders: $2,000 a year executive appropriation chair.

Vermont Lieutenant governor holds this 
position.

None None Leaders: $11,296 a year, plus $730.66 a week during session president pro 
tem. 
Committee chairs: None

Virginia None None None None
Washington Lieutenant governor holds this 

position
$8,640 a year increases to $8,899 a 
year eff. 9/1/2016

$4,320 a year increases to $4,449 a 
year eff. 9/1/2016

None

West Virginia $150 a day during session. $50 a day during session $50 a day during session Leaders: $150 a day (up to 30 days) for a maximum of six additional persons 
named by presiding officer. 
Committee chairs: $150 a day (up to 30 days) finance and judiciary chairs.

Wisconsin None None None None
Wyoming $3 a day None None None

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.
Key:
Lieutenant governor - lieutenant governor who is not a member of the Senate.

Notes:
(a) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.
(b) Colorado. All leaders receive $99 a day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters.
(c) New York. This position is combined with the position of president pro tem.DRAFT
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Legislative Compensation:  Comparing Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

2016 Survey - 
Legislative Compensation: Office and Phone 

State or other Legislator's compensation for Phone 
jurisdiction office supplies, district offices and staffing allowance

Alabama None, although annual appropriation to certain positions may be so allocated. Yes O.S.B. 
Alaska Senate—$20,000 a year per senator for postage, stationery and other legislative 

expenses. Staffing allowance determined by rules and presiding officers, 
depending on time of year.
House—$16,000 a year per representative for postage, stationery and other 
legislative expenses. Staffing allowance determined by rules and presiding officers, 
depending on time of year.

Yes O.S.B. 

Arizona None (a)
Arkansas Up to $3,600 a year additional reimbursement for committee chairs, vice chairs 

and standing subcommittee chairs.
No

California Senate—member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the Senate Rules 
Committee. Assembly—$263,000 members' base allowance.  

No

Colorado None Yes O.S.B. 
Connecticut Senate—$5,500 a year per senator. 

House—$4,500 a year per representative.
No

Delaware $7,332 a year expense allowance. No

Florida Senate—$2,921 a month district office expenses. House—$2,482 a month district 
office expenses. 

(b)

Georgia $7,000 a year reimbursable expense account for personal services, office 
equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc. 

No

Hawaii Senate—$350-$500 a day staffing allowance. 
House—$5,000–$7,500 a month allocation for session staffing. 

O.S.B. 

Idaho $2,500 a year for unvouchered constituent expense. No
Illinois Senate—$83,063 a year office expenses, including district offices and staffing.

House—$69,409 a year office expenses, including district offices and staffing.
No

Indiana None No
Iowa $300 a month district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No

Kansas $7,083 a year. Staffing allowances vary for leadership. Yes 
Kentucky $1,789 a year district expenses during interim. No
Louisiana $500 a month expenses in connection with holding office. $1,500 a month 

supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in 
district. $2,000-$3,000 a month staff allowance.

Yes (c)

Maine None. However, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general 
legislative account.

Yes (d)
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Legislative Compensation:  Comparing Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Legislator's compensation for Phone 
jurisdiction office supplies, district offices and staffing allowance

Maryland $18,965 a year normal expenses of a district office with limits on staffing, postage, 
telephone and publications. $6,200-$15,500 a year staff salaries & operating 
expenses. $16,325-$18,325 a year in lieu of institutionally provided administrative 
assistant to House members.

No

Massachusetts $7,200 a year office expenses. No
Michigan Senate—$51,900 a year office budget per senator. 

House—$102,000 a year office allowance per majority member.  $99,000 a year 
office allowance per minority member.

Yes O.S.B. 

Minnesota None Yes (e)
Mississippi $1,500 a month out of session. No
Missouri Up to $700 a month reasonable and necessary business expenses. Yes (f)
Montana None Leaders only
Nebraska None Yes O.S.B. 
Nevada Leaders: $900 each regular session and $64 each special session for postage, 

telephone tolls, and other communications charges for speaker, speaker pro tem, 
majority leader, minority leader president, president pro tem, majority floor 
leader, minority floor leader
Senate and House Committee chairs: $900 each regular session and $64 each 
special session for postage, telephone tolls, and other communications charges. 
Any chair who would otherwise qualify for more than one allowance is entitled 
only to one allowance.

Yes (g)

New Hampshire None No
New Jersey $1,250 office supplies. Equipment and furnishings supplied through a district office 

program. $110,000 a year district office personnel.  State provides stationery for 
each legislator and 10,000 postage stamps.

No

New Mexico None No
New York Allowances are provided for in Senate Rule X, Sec. 8-10 and Assembly Rule V, Sec. 

9. 
No response

North Carolina Leaders: $16,956 a year expense allowance each for president pro tem, speaker.  
$10,032 a year expense allowance each for deputy president pro tem, speaker pro 
tem. $7,992 a year expense allowance each for majority leaders, minority leaders. 
Non-leaders: $6,708 a year any legislative expenses not otherwise provided. 
$2,275 a year postage, stationery and telephone. 

(h)

North Dakota None Yes (i)
Ohio None Yes O.S.B. 
Oklahoma $1,500 a year office expenses and electronic communications such as cell phone 

bills.
(j)

Oregon $69,952 per biennium for interim expenses. $37,662 session staffing. $2,736 
session services and supplies. $450-750 a month interim district allowance, 
depending on geographic size of district.

Yes O.S.B. 

Pennsylvania Staffing is determined by leadership. No
Rhode Island None No
South Carolina $1,000 a month each member district expenses. $650/interim committee chairs 

expense allowance. $3,400 a year Senate postage, stationery and telephone. 
$1,800 a year House telephone. $700 a year House postage.

(k)

South Dakota None Yes (l)
Tennessee $1,000 a month expenses in district. Yes (m)
Texas Allowance for staff salaries, supplies, stationery, postage, district office rental, 

telephone expense, etc. 
No
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Legislative Compensation:  Comparing Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Legislator's compensation for Phone 
jurisdiction office supplies, district offices and staffing allowance

Utah None Yes (n)
Vermont None Yes 
Virginia Leaders: $76,377 a year staffing allowance. $1,750 a month office expense 

allowance. 
Legislators: $56,100 a year staffing allowance. $1,250 a month office expense 
allowance.

No

Washington $7,800 a year for legislative expenses, for which the legislator has not been 
otherwise entitled to reimbursement.  No staffing allowance.

Yes O.S.B. 

West Virginia None Yes
Wisconsin Senate—$214,950 a 2-year period staffing allowance. $55,955 a 2-year period 

office expenses.  
Assembly—$15,000 a 2-year session office expenses.

(o)

Wyoming $750 a quarter through constituent service allowance. No

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.
Key:
(U) — Unvouchered.
(V) — Vouchered.
O.P.— Optional at legislator's expense.
O.S.B.— Official state or legislative business only.
S.A.— Same as state employees. 
S.P. — State pays full amount.
S.P.P.— State pays portion and legislator pays portion.

Notes:
(a) Arizona. Phone cards allowed for certain districts; none used at this time.
(b) Florida. May pay for phone service from district funds.
(c) Louisiana. District office line with one extension.
(d) Maine. Pre-paid phone cards issued and administered by the Senate and House.
(e) Minnesota. $200 a month Senate communication reimbursement. $125 a month House communications allowance. 
(f) Missouri. Up to $50 a month for data plan only.
(g) Nevada. $2,800 a session allowance. $300 each special session.

(m) Tennessee. In-state long distance only.
(n) Utah. State-paid mobile phone or reimbursement for personal phone at same rate as state-paid plan.
(o) Wisconsin. Included in office allowance.

(h) North Carolina. Included in office allowance.
(i) North Dakota. Legislative Council members or committee chairs only.
(j) Oklahoma. Included in office allowance.
(k) South Carolina. Included in office allowance.
(l) South Dakota. Phone cards. DRAFT
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

2016 Survey:
State Legislative Retirement Benefits

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Alabama None available. 
Alaska Optional Four tiers. Varies depending upon tier. 

Detailed information set forth in 
Public Employees' Retirement System 
(PERS) plan comparison chart.

Four tiers. Varies depending upon 
tier. Detailed information set forth 
in Public Employees' Retirement 
System (PERS) plan comparison 
chart.

Four tiers. Varies depending upon tier. Detailed information set forth in 
Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS) plan comparison chart.

Arizona Mandatory except that 
officials subject to term 
limits may opt out for a term 
of office.
AZ SB 1609 of 
2011—Contribution 
requirements affect all 
members; benefit and 
eligibility requirements 
affect those elected after 
January 1, 2012.

Age 65 with 5+ years of service; age 
62 with 10+ years of service; or 20 
years of service; earlier retirement 
with an actuarial reduction of 
benefits. Vesting at 5 years.
AZ SB 1609 of 2011—For those 
elected to office after 1/1/2012. Age 
65 with 5+ years of service; age 62 
with 10+ years of service. Vesting at 5 
years. No provision for retirement 
after 20 years or for early retirement.

7% employee 
AZ SB 1609 of 2011—2011 
legislation increases contribution 
rates in annual steps from the 
present 7% of gross salary to, in FY 
2014, 13% or an actuarially based 
calculation, which can be revised. 
Affects all members. Newly elected 
officials as of 1/1/14 pay a rate of 
8%.

4% x years of credited service x highest 3 year average in the past 10 years 
The benefit is capped at 80% of FAS. An elected official may purchase 
service credit in the plan for service earned in a non-elected position by 
buying it at an actuarially determined amount.
AZ SB 1609 0f 2011—For those elected to office after 1/1/2012: 3% x 
years of credited service x highest 5 year average in the past 10 years. The 
benefit is capped at 75% of FAS.

Arkansas Optional. Those elected 
before 7/1/99 may have 
service covered as a regular 
state employee but must 
have 5 years of regular 
service to do so.

Age 65 with 10 years of service; 
55/12; any age with 28 years of 
service; any age if serving in the 
General Assembly on 7/1/79; any age 
if in elected office on 7/1/79 with 17 
and 1/2 years of service. As a regular 
employee, 65/5 or any age/28 years. 
Members of the contributory plan 
established in 2005 must have a 
minimum of 10 years legislative 
service if they have only legislative 
state employment.

Non-contributory plan in effect for 
those elected before 2006. For those 
elected then and thereafter, a 
contributory plan that requires 5% 
of salary.

For service that began after 7/1/99: 2.07% x FAS x years of service FAS 
based on three highest consecutive years of service. For service that began 
after July 1, 1991, $35 x years of service = monthly benefit. For 
contributory plan, 2% x FAS x years of service.

California  Legislators elected after 
1990 are not eligible for 
retirement benefits for 
legislative service.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Colorado Mandatory PERA: age 65 with 5 years of service; 
age 50 with 30 years of service; when 
age + service equals 80 or more (min. 
age of 55). State Defined Contribution 
Plan (DCP): no age requirement and 
immediate vesting.

Employee: 8% PERA: 2.5% x FAS x years of service, capped at 100% of FAS. DCP benefit 
depends upon contributions and investment return.

Connecticut Mandatory Age 60 with 25 years credited service; 
age 62 with 10-25 years credited 
service; age 62 with 5 years actual 
state service. 
If elected after 2011—age 63 with 25 
years of vesting service or age 65 with 
10-25 years of vesting service. 
Reduced benefit available with earlier 
retirement ages.

Employee 2% (1.33% x average annual salary) + (5% x average salary over "breakpoint”) 
x credited service up to 35 years; 2003—$36,400; 2004—$38,600; 
2005—$40,900; 2006—$43,400; 2007—$46,000; 2008—$48,800; 
2009—$51,700. After 2009—increase breakpoint by 6% per year rounded 
to nearest $100.

Delaware Mandatory. 
DE HB 81 of 
2011—Mandatory for those 
elected after January 1, 
2012.

Age 60 with 5 years of credited 
service; or 55 with 10 years of service. 
DE HB 81 of 2011—65 with 10 years 
of service; or 60 with 20 years of 
service. Vesting at 10 years.

3% of annual compensation in 
excess of $6,000.
DE HB 81 of 2011—5% of annual 
compensation in excess of $6,000.

2% times FAS times years of service before 1997 + 1.85% times FAS times 
years of service from 1997 on. FAS = average of highest 3 years.

Florida Optional. Elected officials 
may opt out or may choose 
between DB and DC plans.
FL SB 2100 of 2011—SB 2100 
affects those enrolled in the 
elected officers’ class on or 
after July 1, 2011, except for 
a contribution requirement 
for all members.

Vesting in DB plan—6 years. Age 62 
with 6 years; 30 years at any age. 
Changed in 2011 to age 62 without a 
service minimum. Vesting in DC 
plan—1 year, any age.
FL SB 2100 of 2011—vesting in DB 
plan, 8 years. Retirement eligibility at 
age 65 or with 33 years of service at 
any age. No changes affecting the DC 
plan.  

Employee contribution is 3%; 
employer contribution is 45.8%

DB plan—3% x years of creditable service x average final compensation 
(average of highest 5 years). DC plan—dependent upon investment 
experience.
FL SB 2100 of 2011—Unchanged for the DB plan except that for those 
enrolled in the system after July 1, 2011, average final compensation will 
be based on the highest 8 years.

Georgia Optional; choice when first 
elected.

Vested after 8 years. Age 62 with 8 
years of service; age 60 with reduction 
for early retirement.

Employee: 3.75% + $7/m. $36/month for each year of service. Post-retirement benefit increases are 
not available to any person who joins the system after July 1, 2009.

Hawaii Mandatory. HI Act 163 of 
2011—Act 163 affects For 
those who enter the plan 
after July 1, 2012.

Vesting at 5 years. Age 55 with 5 years 
of service, any age with 10 years of 
service. 
HI Act 163 of 2011—vesting at 10 
years. Any age with 10 years of 
service.

Main plan is noncontributory; 7.8% 
for elected officials’ plan for annuity.
HI Act 163 of 2011—Contribution 
rate of 9.8%.

3.5% x years of service as elected official x highest average salary plus 
annuity based on contributions as an elected official. Highest average 
salary = average of 3 highest 12-month periods as elected official. Annual 
COLA of 2.5%.
HI Act 163 of 2011—Multiplier for elected officials’ reduced from 3.5% to 
3.0%; COLA reduced from 2.5% annually to 1.5%. 

Idaho Mandatory; same plan as 
public employees (PERSI)

Age 65 with 5 years of service; 
reduced benefit at age 55 with 5 years 
of service.

6.79% paid by member, 11.32% paid 
by employer.

Average monthly salary for highest 42 consecutive months x 2% x months 
of credited service.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Illinois Optional; not the same as 
the State Employees' 
Retirement System. Only 
state senators, 
representatives and 
statewide elected officials 
have the option to 
participate.

Tier 1—age 55 with 8 years of service 
or age 62 with 4 years of service. 
Tier 2—age 67 with 8 years of service 
or age 62 with 8 years of service 
reduced 1/2 of 1% for each month.

Tier 1—11.5% of salary (includes 
contributions for retirement annuity 
and survivors annuity) or 9.5% of 
salary as contributions for just 
retirement annuity (no survivor 
annuity).
Tier 2—the same with the exception 
Tier 2 members only pay 
contributions on their salary up to 
the maximum salary for annuity 
purposes. In 2016 the maximum 
salary for annuity purposes is 
$115,480.89 (currently no legislators 
have salaries that exceed the 
maximum salary).

Tier 1—First 4 years x 3.0% = 12%; next 2 years x 3.5% = 7.0%; next 2 years 
x 4.0% = 8.0%; next 4 years x 4.5% = 18.0%; next 8 years x 5.0% = 40.0%.
Tier 2—3% for each year of service.

Indiana DB plan was mandatory for 
those serving before April 
30, 1989, except that those 
serving on that day could opt 
to transfer to the DC plan. 
Defined contribution has 
been mandatory for those 
elected or appointed since 
4/30/89.

DB plan—vesting at 10 years. Age 65 
with 10 years of legislative service; or, 
if no longer in the legislature, these 
options apply: at least 10 years of 
service; no state salary; at age 55+ 
Rule of 85 applies; or age 60 with 15 
years of service. Early retirement with 
reduced benefit. 
DC plan—immediate vesting. 

DB plan—funded by employer and 
employee contributions.
DC plan—5% employee, 20% state 
(of taxable income) through 2009. At 
present, the contribution is 
recalculated annually not to exceed 
the state contribution to the 
employee retirement plan.

DB plan—monthly benefit: Lesser of (a) $40 x years of General Assembly 
service completed before 11/8/89; or (b) 1/12 of the average of the three 
highest consecutive years of General Assembly service salary.
DC plan—numerous options for withdrawing accumulations in accord with 
IRS regulations. Loans are available. A participant in both plans may 
receive a benefit from both plans.

Iowa Optional Age 65; age 62 with 20 years of 
service; Rule of 88; reduced benefit at 
55 with at least 4 years of service.

5.95 % individual. 2% times FAS. x years of service for first 30 years, + 1% times FAS times 
years in excess of 30 but no more than 5 in excess of 30. FAS is average of 
3 highest years.

Kansas Optional for legislators and 
employees of the legislator 
leadership offices. 
Mandatory for all other 
regular, full time employees.

Age 65; age 62 with 5 years of service, 
or when age plus years of service 
equals 85.

6% (base may include salary, per 
diem, non-session allowance, 
session expenses; or various 
combinations at the legislator's 
option.)

3 highest years x 1.75% x years of. service ÷ 12= monthly benefit.

Kentucky Optional. Those who opt out 
are covered by the state 
employees' plan

Age 65 with 5 years of service; any 
age with 30 years of service, and 
intermediate provisions. Early 
retirement with reduced benefits.

5% of creditable compensation set 
by law at $27,500: not the same as 
actual salary. Revised to be payable 
on compensation reported on W-2 
forms beginning in 2005.
HB 1 of 2008 Special Session—raised 
the contribution level to 6% for 
legislators elected after 7/1/08.

2.75% of FAS (based on creditable compensation) x years of service. FAS is 
the average monthly earnings for the 60 months preceding retirement.
HB 1 of 2008 Special Session—reduced the annual COLA for retired 
legislators from the CPI (capped at 5%) to 1.5% effective on July 1, 2008. 
This applies to current as well as to future retirees. The statutes reserve to 
the legislature the power to make such changes. The amount of the COLA 
may be increased by the legislature if the legislature prefunds the cost of 
the increase.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Louisiana Legislative service for 
legislators elected after 
January 1, 1997, is ineligible 
for State Employee 
Retirement System benefits.  
(LSA-Const. Art. 10, § 29.1)

   

Maine Mandatory Age 60 if 10 years of service on 
7/1/93; age 62 if less than 10 years of 
service on 7/1/93. Reduced benefit 
available for earlier retirement.

7.65% legislators; employer 
contribution is actuarially 
determined.

2% of average final compensation (the average of the 3 high salary years) 
times years of service.

Maryland Optional Age 60 with 8 years; age 50 with 8+ 
years creditable service for early 
reduced retirement.

5% of annual salary. 3% of legislative salary for each year of service up to 22 years 3 months. 
Benefits are recalculated when legislative salaries are changed.

Massachusetts Optional after each election 
or re-election to the General 
Court.

Vesting at 6 years. Age 55 with 6 years 
service; unreduced benefit at 65. 
Reduced benefits for retirement 
before age 65.

9%, although some legislators are 
grandfathered at lower rates.

2.5 times years of service times FAS. FAS = average of highest 36 months. 
Service credit is allowed for membership in other Massachusetts 
retirement plans. 

Michigan Optional Age 55 with 5 years or when age plus 
years of service equal 70. Employee 
contributions are immediately vested. 
Employer contributions are vested as 
follows: Zero after one year; 50% after 
two years; 75% after three years; 
100% after four years.

For legislators elected before 
3/31/97—7-10% for (DB) plan.
Elected after 3/31/97— (DC) plan, 
the state contributes 4% of salary. 
Members may contribute up to 3% 
of salary. The state will match the 
member's contribution in addition to 
the state 4% contribution. 

DB plans—various provisions, depending on when service started. 
DC plan—benefits depend upon contributions and earnings.

Minnesota Mandatory Legislators Retirement Plan (LRP) 
before 7/1/97—62 years with 6 years 
of service and fully vested. LRP 
members do not have Social Security 
coverage.
Defined Contribution Plan (DCP) since 
1997—age 55 and immediate vesting. 
DCP members have Social Security 
coverage.

LRP—9%. 
DCP—5.5% from member, 6% from 
state.

2.7% x high 5 year average salary x years of service. DCP benefits depend 
upon contributions and investment return.

Mississippi Mandatory Age 60 with 4 or more years of 
service, or 25 years of service.

Regular—15.75% state, 9.00% 
member.
Supplemental Legislative Retirement 
Plan—7.40% state, 3.00% member.

Legislators who qualify for regular state retirement benefits also 
automatically qualify for the legislators’ supplemental benefits. 
Regular—2% x average compensation x years of service up to and 
including 25 years of service + 2.5% x average compensation x service in 
excess of 25 years. Average compensation is calculated using the highest 4 
years of compensation. 
Supplement—1% x average compensation x years of legislative service 
through 25 years + 1.25% x average compensation x years of service in 
excess of 25.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Missouri Mandatory. The retirement 
plan for Legislators is 
calculated differently from 
the plan for other state 
employees.  

For those hired on or before 
12/31/2010—vesting at 6 years of 
service. Age 55; service in three full 
biennial assemblies (6 years) or Rule 
of 80. 
For those entering system after 
1/1/2011—vesting at 6 years of 
service. Age 62; service in three full 
biennial assemblies (6 years) or the 
Rule of 90 with a minimum age of 55. 

For those hired on or before 
12/31/2010—non-contributory. 
For those entering system after 
1/1/2011—contribution of 4% of 
salary. 

For those hired on or before 12/31/2010—monthly pay divided by 24 x 
years of creditable service, capped at 100% of salary. Benefit is adjusted 
by the percentage increase in pay for an active legislator. 
For those entering system after 1/1/2011—no change.

Montana Optional Hired before 7/1/11—vesting at 5 
years. Age 60 with at least 5 years 
service; age 65 regardless of years of 
service; or 30 years of service 
regardless of age. 
After 7/1/11—vesting at 5 years. Age 
65 with 5 years service, or age 70.

7.9% employee and 8.37% employer 
for DB and DC plan.

DB plan—Membership Service Factor (see below) x years of Service Credit 
x HAC.
More than 5 years and less than 10 years of membership service—1.5%
Less than 30 years of membership service—1.7857%
30 years or more of membership service—2%

Nebraska None available
Nevada Mandatory, but a legislator, 

within 30 days after he/she 
is first elected or appointed, 
may elect not to participate; 
a decision to terminate 
participation in the plan 
cannot be reversed. The 
legislators' retirement 
system is separate from the 
state employee retirement 
plan.

Must have at least 10 years of service, 
be age 60, and no longer be a 
legislator in order to retire without 
benefit reduction. A legislator who is 
no longer serving, has at least 10 
years of service, but is under the age 
of 60 can elect to wait to receive 
his/her benefit until the age of 60 or 
begin receiving a reduced benefit 
prior to the age of 60.

15% of session salary. Number of years x $25 = monthly allowance.

New Hampshire None available
New Jersey Mandatory Vesting at 8 years. Age 60; no 

minimum service requirement. Early 
retirement with no benefit reduction 
with 25 years of service.

5% of salary 3% x FAS x years of service. FAS = higher of three highest years or three 
final years. Benefit is capped at 2/3 of FAS. Other formulas apply if a 
legislator also has other service covered by the Public Employee 
Retirement System.

New Mexico Optional Plans 1A and 1B—age 65 with 5 years 
of service; 64 with 8 years of service; 
63 with 11 years of service; 60 with 12 
years of service; or any age with 14 
years of service.
Plan 2—age 65 with 5 years of service 
or at any age with 10 years of 
legislative service. 

Plan 1A—$100 per year for service 
after 1959.
Plan 1B—$200 per year (now closed 
to new enrollments).
Plan 2—$500 per year. Increased to 
$600 per year by 2012 legislation.

Plan 1A: $250 per year of service.Plan 1B: $500 per year of service after 
1959.Plan 2: 11 percent of the IRS Legislative per diem rate in effect on 
December 31st of the year a legislator retires x 60 x the years of credited 
service. For a legislator who retired in 2111 the benefit would be $1,129 
per year of credited service. Annual 3% COLA.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

New York Detailed information set 
forth in Your Retirement 
Plan: Legislative and 
Executive Plan , published by 
New York State Office of the 
State Comptroller.

Detailed information set forth in Your 
Retirement Plan: Legislative and 
Executive Plan , published by New 
York State Office of the State 
Comptroller.

Detailed information set forth in 
Your Retirement Plan: Legislative 
and Executive Plan , published by 
New York State Office of the State 
Comptroller.

Detailed information set forth in Your Retirement Plan: Legislative and 
Executive Plan , published by New York State Office of the State 
Comptroller.

North Carolina Mandatory Age 65 with 5 years of service; 
reduced benefit available at earlier 
ages.

7%. Highest annual compensation x 4.02% x years of service.

North Dakota None available.
Ohio Optional. OPERS offers three 

plans for retirement—the 
traditional plan (a defined 
benefit plan); the member 
directed plan (a defined 
contribution plan); and the 
combined plan. Participation 
in the latter two plans is 
limited to new OPERS 
members and OPERS 
members who had less than 
5 years of service on 
12/31/2002.

Varies depending upon plan.  Detailed 
information set forth in Legislative 
Benefits, Privileges, and Restrictions 
of Office .

Varies depending upon plan.  
Detailed information set forth in 
Legislative Benefits, Privileges, and 
Restrictions of Office .

Varies depending upon plan.  Detailed information set forth in Legislative 
Benefits, Privileges, and Restrictions of Office .

Oklahoma Legislators may retain 
membership as regular 
public employees if they 
have that status when 
elected; one time option to 
join elected officials’ plan. 
SB 794 of 2011—new 
provisions affect people 
elected to office after 
11/1/2011.

Elected Officials’ Plan—vesting at 6 
years. Age 65, or age 60 with 6 years’ 
service. 
SB 794 of 2011—vesting at 8 years. 
Age 65 or age 62 with 10 years of 
membership in the plan. Early 
retirement with reduced benefits at 
age 60 with 10 years of service.

Optional contribution levels—4.5%, 
6%, 7.5%, 8.5%, 9% or 10%, of total 
compensation. 
SB 794 of 2011—schedule of options 
was repealed. Required contribution 
of 3.5% of total compensation.

Average participating salary x length of service x computation factor 
depending on optional contributions ranging from 1.9% for a 4.5% 
contribution to 4% for a 10% contribution. 
S.B. 1641 (Chapter 105, Laws of 2008)—people elected to office on or 
after 7/1/2008: formula described here can apply only to years of service 
as an elected official and can be based only on the higher year of salary 
received as an elected official (not on any subsequent salary from a non-
elective post as was possible under the original provisions). Capped 
benefits at 100% of salary as a member of the OPERS (not clear whether 
this is highest salary as an elected official). 
S.B. 1889 (Chapter 435, Laws of 2010)—reduced the menu of options to 
the highest and lowest, which are shown above, for people elected to 
office after 11/1/2010. Those who fail to make a choice within 90 days of 
taking office default to the highest contribution and computation factor. 
SB 794 of 2011—2% of final average salary times years of service. 
SB 2322 of 2012—members may choose a benefit option of 2.5% of final 
average salary, for which members’ contributions will be increased by an 
amount that will equal the actuarial cost of the increased benefit.
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Legislative Com
pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Oregon Optional Normal retirement age for general 
service members is age 65 or age 58 
with 30 years of retirement credit.

OPRSP DC component—employees 
contribute 6% of salary. 
DB component—non-contributory. 
457 plans—members may 
contribute amounts to limits set by 
IRS.

OPRSP individual account component, or DC component—at retirement, 
employees may receive the IAP as a lump-sum payment or in equal 
installments over a 5, 10, 15 or 20-year period. 
DB component—benefit calculation is 1.5 percent x final average salary x 
years of service.

Pennsylvania Optional. Act 120 of 
2010—applies to those who 
become state legislators on 
or after 12/1/2010.

Age 50 with 3 years of service; any 
age with 35 years of service; early 
retirement with reduced benefit. 
Act 120 of 2010—vesting at 10 years. 
Retirement age is 55 with 3 years of 
credited service or according to the 
Rule of 92 with a minimum of 35 
years of service.

6.25%. 
Act 120 of 2010—6.25% or 9.3% 
(member’s choice). Rate will vary 
with actuarial conditions; these are 
minimums.

3% x final average salary x credited years of service (x withdrawal factor if 
under 50), with a maximum benefit of 100% of FAS. 
Act 120 of 2010—new legislators may choose between plans with 
different contribution rates. The multiplier for the lower contribution will 
be 2% and for the higher contribution 2.5%. Cap on benefits is unchanged.

Rhode Island Legislators elected before 
January 1995—eligible for a 
pension of $600 a year for 
each year of legislative 
service, capped at an annual 
retirement benefit of 
$12,000. 
Legislators elected after 
January 1995—ineligible to 
earn credit for public 
retirement benefits. 
Different than state 
employee retirement plan.

South Carolina Mandatory (but not available 
to anyone first elected to the 
General Assembly after 
November 2012). 
Act 278, Laws of 
2012—mandatory choice for 
those elected in or after 
November 2012.

Age 60 with 8 years of service. 30 
years of service regardless of age. 
Act 278, Laws of 2012—SCRS: vesting 
at 8 years; retirement benefits at age 
65 with 8 years of service or in accord 
with the Rule of 90. Reduced benefits 
are available at age 60 with 8 years of 
service. ORP: immediate vesting in 
employer contributions.

10% 11% as of January 1, 2013. 
Act 278, Laws of 2012—SCRS: 7% as 
of July 1, 2012, rising to 8% on July 
1, 2014. ORP: 7% + 5% employer 
contribution, immediately vested.

4.82% x earnable compensation x years of service. “Earnable 
compensation" means 40 x the daily rate of remuneration, plus $12,000, 
of a member of the General Assembly, as from time to time in effect. 
Act 278, Laws of 2012—SCRS: 2.25% x years of service x final average 
compensation, which is the average of the member’s 5 highest years of 
earned compensation. ORP: upon retirement a member may annuitize the 
balance in the account or take a lump sum or partial distribution. Federal 
provisions apply.

South Dakota None available.
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pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Tennessee Optional. Age 55, 4 years of service. Members hired before 7/1/14 
participate in a non-contributory 
plan. 
Members hired after 7/1/14 
participate in a contributory plan. 
State contributes 4% toward defined 
benefit, 5% into 401K Member 
contributes 5% toward defined 
benefit, 2% into 401K (can do more 
if so desired).

$85.21 per month x years of service with a cap 90% of final compensation. 
2006 legislation provides for an annual adjustment in the base amount 
(not an annual COLA to recipients) and provides that a legislator may 
reject the increase in writing. $55.00 for those in the contributory plan.

Texas Optional Vesting at 8 years. Age 60 with 8 years 
of service; or age 50 with 12 years of 
service. 

8% 2.3% x district judge’s salary x length of service, with the monthly benefit 
capped at the level of a district judge’s salary, and adjusted when such 
salaries are increased. Various annuity options are available. Military 
service credit may be purchased to add to elective class service 
membership. In September 2013, a district judge’s salary was set at 
$140,000 a year.

Utah Mandatory Age 62 with 10 years and an actuarial 
reduction; age 65 with 4 years of 
service for full benefits. 
2010 legislation closed the Governors' 
and Legislators' Retirement Plan to 
legislators elected after 7/1/2011 and 
replaced it with the New Public 
Employees’ Tier II Contributory 
Retirement Plan Defined Contribution 
Plan. The new DC plan will be a 401(k) 
with distribution of accumulations 
subject to federal rules.

Non-contributory. 
For the DC plan, employer will 
contribute 10% of compensation, 
which will vest after four years of 
service. Employees may, but are not 
required, to contribute.

$24.80/month (as of July 2004) x years of service; adjusted semi-annually 
according to consumer price index up to a maximum increase of 2%. 
For the DC plan, benefits will be based upon accumulations in the 
employee account.

Vermont None  available.  
Deferred compensation plan 
available.

Virginia Mandatory. Eligibility for 
various plans based on 
membership date. Same as 
state employees plan.

Plan 1—Age 50 with 30 years of 
service (unreduced); age 55 with 5 
years of service; age 50 with 10 years 
(reduced). 
Plan 2—When age and service = 90; or 
normal Social Security retirement age 
with 5 years of service (unreduced); 
age 60 with 5 years of service 
(reduced). 
Hybrid plan—When age and service = 
90; or normal Social Security 
retirement age with 5 years of service 
(unreduced); age 60 with 5 years of 
service (reduced).

Plan 1—members who qualify do 
not make an employee contribution. 
Plan 2—5% of creditable 
compensation. 
Hybrid plan—mandatory and 
voluntary contributions to defined 
benefit and defined contribution 
components.

Plan 1—1.7% of average final compensation x years of service (average 
over highest 36 consecutive months).
Plan 2—1.65% of average final compensation x years of service (average 
over highest 60 consecutive months). 
Hybrid plan—1.65% of average final compensation x years of service 
(average over highest 60 consecutive months).
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pensation:  Com
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution
jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Washington Optional. If before an 
election the legislator 
belonged to a state public 
retirement plan, he or she 
may continue in that plan by 
making contributions. 
Otherwise, new legislators 
may join PERS Plan 2 or Plan 
3.

Plan 2—age 65 with 5 years of service 
credit. 
Plan 3—age 65 with 10 years of 
service credit for the DB side of the 
plan; immediate benefits (subject to 
federal restrictions) on the DC side of 
the plan. The member may choose 
various options for investment of 
contributions to the DC plan.

Plan 2—employee contribution of 
2.43% for 2002. Estimated at 3.33% 
for 2005-2007. 
Plan 3—no required member 
contribution for the DB component. 
The member may contribute from 
5% to 15% of salary to the DC 
component.

Plan 2—2% x years of service credit x average final compensation. 
Plan 3—DB is 1% x service credit years x average final compensation. DC 
benefit depends upon the value of accumulations.

West Virginia Optional Age 55, if years of service + age equal 
80.

Before 10/1/87—7%. 
After 10/1/87—5%.

2% x final average salary x years of service. Final average salary is based on 
3 highest years out of last 10 years.

Wisconsin Wisconsin Retirement 
System (WRS)—mandatory. 
Deferred Compensation 457 
Plan—optional.

Minimum retirement age is 55. 
Normal retirement age is 62. Normal 
retirement age with 30 years of WRS 
service is age 57.

2016 contribution rate is 6.6% of the 
legislator’s salary. The employer 
matches this for a total contribution 
of 13.2%.

Retirement benefit is calculated under both "formula" and “money 
purchase” methods and will receive the higher of the two benefit 
calculations. 
Formula—if terminated prior to the year 2000, may not exceed 65% of the 
final average earnings (highest 3 years of salary), or 70% for 2000 or after. 
(2.165% x years of service x salary for service before 2000; 2% x years of 
service x salary for service 2000 and after). 
Money Purchase Calculation—based only on the dollar balance in WRS 
account and exact age (and therefore life expectancy) when annuity 
begins.

Wyoming None available

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, March 2016.

Key: 
COLA—Cost of living adjustment.
CPI—Consumer price index.
DB—Defined Benefit
DC—Defined Contribution.
FAS—Final average salary.
None available—no retirement benefit provided.
OPERS—Ohio Public Employee's Retirement System.
OPERS—Oklahoma Public Employee's Retirement System.
OPSRP—Oregon Public Employee's Retirement System.
ORP—South Carolina State Optional Retirement Program.
PERA—Public employee retirement association.  
PERS—Public Employee's Retirement System.
SCRS—South Carolina Retirement System.
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pensation:  Com

paring Tennessee to Contiguous and Peer States

2016 Survey - 
Legislative Compensation: Health, Dental, Vision, Disability and Life Insurance 

State or other
jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Alabama S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. None None
Alaska S.P.P. S.P.P. O.P., unless included in 

health insurance.
S.A.  Optional; if selected is included 
in health insurance. 

S.A.  Small policy available. Additional is optional at 
legislator’s expense.

Arizona S.A., S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.P.P. S.P.P.
Arkansas S.P.P. (a) O.P. (b) O.P.—supplemental The state pays for $30,000 as part of the health plan. 

Additional is optional at legislators’ expense.

California S.P.P. (b) (b) (b) Senators are covered by a long-term 
disability insurance policy. Assembly 
members do not have disability 
insurance coverage.

Senators are eligible for up to $250,000 term coverage: 
members pay 10% of the age-based premium plus the 
taxable value on coverage above $50,000.  $250,000 term 
policy for the Assembly: members pay 18% of the premium 
plus the taxable value on coverage above $50,000. 

Colorado S.P.P.—Amount differs 
according to plan selected

S.P.P.—Amount 
differs according to 
plan selected

None None S.A. State pays full amount for $12,000 policy. Additional is 
optional at legislator's expense.

Connecticut S.P.P. S.P.P. Some health insurance 
plans include discounts on 
eyewear.

S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

Delaware S.P.P. After 3 months, state 
pays entire amount for basic 
plan.

O.P. S.P.P. Only avail. through 
health ins. plan.

None S.A., O.P.

Florida S.A. Legislators pay $50 a 
month for individual 
coverage and $180 a month 
for family coverage.

Dental coverage 
offered to state 
legislators and 
legislative employees.

O.P. S.P. S.A. Basic life insurance is provided for state legislators. 
Additional optional life insurance can be purchased.

Georgia S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

Hawaii S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

Insurance benefits
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State or other
jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Insurance benefits

Idaho S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.
Illinois S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P. S.A., S.P.P.

Indiana S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. None S.A.
Iowa S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A.  Legislator pays entire 

premium. 
S.A., S.P. S.A. State pays first $20,000. Additional at legislator 

expense.
Kansas S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P. Legislator 

pays dependent 
portion.

S.A., O.P. S.A., S.P. S.A. 150% of annual salary if part of KPERS. Additional 
insurance is optional at legislator's expense.

Kentucky S.A. O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. State pays $20,000. Additional is optional at legislator's 
expense.

Louisiana S.P.P.—State pays 50% and 
legislator pays 50%.

S.P.P.—State pays 
50% and legislator 
pays 50%.

O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., S.P.P.—State pays 50% and legislator pays 50%.

Maine S.A.—State pays up to 100% 
of legislator coverage and 
50% of dependent coverage.

S.A., S.P. O.P. None O.P.

Maryland S.A., S.P.P.—The state pays 
85%, legislator pays 15% for 
HMO, legislator pays 17% for 
POS.

S.A., O.P. Covered under the medical 
plan.

None O.P.

Massachusetts S.P.P. (State currently pays 
80%)

S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A. $5,000 policy provided. Additional up to 8 times salary 
at legislator's expense.

Michigan None Offered at different levels as part of cafeteria plan.

Minnesota S.P.P.—The state pays 95% 
for single coverage and 88% 
of family coverage.

S.P.P.—The state 
pays 83% for single 
coverage and 61% for 
family coverage.

S.A. S.A., O.P. S.A. State pays first $35,000. 

Mississippi S.P.—legislator only 
premiums

O.P. None None S.A., S.P.P.—State pays 50% and legislator pays 50%.

Missouri S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P. S.A., S.P.—basic life insurance, 1x annual salary. Additional 
life insurance is optional at legislator’s expense.

Montana S.A., S.P.P.—State pays 
almost full amount for 
individual.

S.A., S.P.P.—State 
pays almost full 
amount for 
individual.

Included in health coverage None State pays $14,000 term policy. Additional at legislator's 
expense.

Nebraska O.P. O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

Health, vision, life, cancer, prescription, offered via cafeteria plan.
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State or other
jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Insurance benefits

Nevada S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

New Hampshire O.P. O.P. None None None
New Jersey S.A.—Members appointed or 

elected after 5/21/10 are not 
eligible for coverage.

S.A.—Members 
appointed or elected 
after 5/21/10 are not 
eligible for coverage.

S.A.—Members appointed 
or elected after 5/21/10 
are not eligible for 
coverage.

Temporary disability 
insurance—none. Permanent 
disability—if enrolled in pension 
plan.

Members enrolled in the pension plan—up to three times 
annual salary. Members enrolled in defined contribution 
plan—one and a half times annual salary. Members not 
covered by either plan—no death benefit.

New Mexico None None None None None
New York No response No response No response No response No response

North Carolina S.P. Family coverage optional 
at legislator’s expense.

O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

North Dakota S.P.—if legislator chooses 
state health plan.

O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A. State pays for $3,500 term life policy.

Ohio S.P.P.—The state pays 85%, 
and legislators pay 15%

S.P. (c) S.P. (c) None S.P.—once member has one year or more of continuous 
state service. Policy equal to the member’s annual salary 
(rounded to the next higher multiple of $1,000). 
Supplemental and dependent life insurance is optional at 
legislator’s expense. 

Oklahoma Up to $641 a month 
allowance for all benefits for 
member and up to $1,678 a 
month for member plus 
spouse and children.

S.A. State pays basic life for $20,000. Supplemental life is 
optional at legislator's expense.

Oregon S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. 
Pennsylvania (d) (d) (d) None Group life policy up to amount of salary.
Rhode Island S.A. S.A.  S.A.  S.A., O.P.  S.A., O.P.  

Included in health benefit
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State or other
jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Insurance benefits

South Carolina S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

South Dakota None None None S.P.—accidental 
death/dismemberment ins. only.

None

Tennessee S.P.P.—State pays 80%, 
legislator pays 20%.

O.P. O.P. None S.A. State pays first $20,000 of the basic life insurance; 
remainder paid by legislator. 

Texas S.A., S.P. O.P. Included in health 
coverage.

S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

Utah S.P.P. S.P.P. Optional group discounts. S.A., S.P. S.A., S.P.—State pays full premium for $25,000 basic term 
life coverage.

Vermont None None None None None
Virginia S.A., S.P.P. S.A. S.A. None S.A., S.P.—The state pays for basic group life insurance. 

Optional Life Insurance (up to 4x salary) available at 
legislator's expense. 

Washington S.A. S.A. Included in medical. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.
West Virginia O.P. O.P. O.P. None S.A., O.P.
Wisconsin S.P.P. (e) (e) S.P.P.—depending on legislator's 

accumulative sick leave balance.
S.P.P.—Group term life levels 1 and 2. Accidental death and 
dismemberment insurance (ADDI) are available at 
legislator's expense. 

Wyoming None None None None None

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.
Key:
(U) — Unvouchered.
(V) — Vouchered.
O.P.— Optional at legislator's expense.
O.S.B.— Official state or legislative business only.
S.A.— Same as state employees. 
S.P. — State pays full amount.
S.P.P.— State pays portion and legislator pays portion.

Notes:

(e) Wisconsin. Basic and diagnostic dental coverage is available; major dental coverage is available through supplemental plans, which is optional at legislator’s expense. Diagnostic optical coverage is 
available; eye glass and contact lens coverage is available through supplemental vision plans, which is optional at legislator’s expense.

(d) Pennsylvania. Legislators pay 1% of salary toward medical/hospital, dental, vision and prescription benefits.
(c) Ohio. Vision and dental care coverage are available to a member and dependents after the member has completed one year of continuous state service. 

(b) California. Health: The state pays a portion (20% less than the contribution paid for state managerial employees); legislators pay a portion. Dental: Legislators pay 10% of the basic dental premium; 
enhanced coverage is available at an additional cost to the member. Vision: Legislators pay 10% of the basic vision premium; enhanced coverage is available at an additional cost to the member.

(a) Arkansas: Health: The state pays $410 monthly; legislators pay the balance depending on the plan chosen. Vision: Vision screening with co-pay, once/2-y with health plan; additional coverage optional 
at legislator's expense.
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