
Appendix D.  Tennessee Court Fees

Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

6-54-136(b) Both

Archives and records 
management per 

public record filed to 
initiate a legal 

proceeding

up to $5.00 Statewide Municipal courts Optional Courts Maintaining records

8-21-402 Criminal

Entering pretrial 
diversion or a plea of 
guility or no contest, 

violating a court 
order, or having the 

matter adjudicated at 
trial

$75.00
 Williamson 

County

Juvenile court or 
general sessions 
courts handling 
juvenile cases 

Optional Courts Juvenile court facilities

8-21-408 Civil

Computer searches 
for any public record 
having a commercial 

value

up to $5.00
Knox and 

Shelby counties

Chancery, circuit, 
general sessions, 

juvenile, and 
probate courts

Optional N/A N/A

10-7-408(b)(1)(C) Both

Archives and records 
management per 

public record filed to 
initiate a legal 

proceeding

up to $5.00 Statewide
Chancery, circuit 

and general sessions 
courts

Optional Courts County records commission
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

16-22-109(a) Criminal
  Tennessee Drug 

Control Act conviction

$75.00 
($130.00 in 

counties with 
a veterans 
treatment 

court)

Statewide

General sessions, 
municipal exercising 

general sessions 
court jurisdiction, 

circuit, and criminal 
courts

Mandatory Courts

$5.00 for the state drug court treatment program; 
the remainder to be retained by the county for 

creation and maintenance of the state court drug 
treatment program, and if no program in county, 

the revenue shall be sent to state for the state drug 
court treatment program; for counties establishing 
or operating a veterans treatment court, $10 to the 

state for drug court treatment and veterans 
treatment court programs administration; $70.00 to 
county for the creation and maintenance of state 
drug court treatment programs, and if no program 

in county, the revenue shall be sent to state for the 
state drug court treatment program; $50.00 to 
county for operation and maintenance of the 
veterans court program, and if no program in 

county, the revenue shall be sent to state for the 
veterans treatment court programs

16-22-109(c) Criminal

Violation of a 
suspended sentence 

imposed for any 
criminal conviction in 
which the violation is 

premised upon a 
positive drug screen

$75.00 
($130.00 in 

counties with 
a veterans 
treatment 

court)

Statewide

General sessions, 
municipal exercising 

general sessions 
court jurisdiction, 

circuit, and criminal 
courts

Mandatory Courts

$5.00 for the state drug court treatment program; 
the remainder to be retained by the county for 

creation and maintenance of the state court drug 
treatment program, and if no program in county, 

the revenue shall be sent to state for the state drug 
court treatment program; for counties establishing 
or operating a veterans treatment court, $10 to the 

state for drug court treatment and veterans 
treatment court programs administration; $70.00 to 
county for the creation and maintenance of state 
drug court treatment programs, and if no program 

in county, the revenue shall be sent to state for the 
state drug court treatment program; $50.00 to 
county for operation and maintenance of the 
veterans court program, and if no program in 

county, the revenue shall be sent to state for the 
veterans treatment court programs

29-22-103 Civil Filing a hospital lien $10.00 Statewide Circuit courts Mandatory N/A N/A
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

29-22-105 Civil
Releasing a hospital 

lien
$2.00 Statewide Circuit courts Mandatory N/A N/A

32-1-112 Civil Deposit of will $5.00 Statewide
Courts handling 
probate cases

Mandatory N/A N/A

37-1-126(c) Both
Counsel appointed by 

court

$50.00 may be 
increased to 
$200.00 by 

court 

Statewide
Courts handling 
juvenile cases

Mandatory N/A N/A

38-6-103(d)(1)(A)(i) Criminal
Drug offense 
conviction

$20.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory
Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation
95% to Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

38-6-
103(d)(1)(A)(ii)

Criminal
Driving under the 

influence conviction
$17.50 Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Mandatory

Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation
95% to Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

38-6-
103(d)(1)(A)(iii)

Criminal
Certification of 
criminal history

Set by the 
Federal 

Bureau of 
Investigation

Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory
Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation
95% to Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

38-6-
103(d)(1)(A)(iv)

Criminal
Forfeiture of cash 
bond in municipal 

traffic citation case
$13.75 Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Mandatory

Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation
95% to Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

39-17-420(d) Criminal
 Drug test for drug 

conviction
$20.00

Bradley and 
Shelby counties

Various county 
courts

Mandatory
Testing 

laboratories
Publicly funded forensic laboratory

39-17-420(h) Criminal

 Drug test for pre-
trial or judicial 

diversion in drug 
cases

$250.00 Statewide
Various county 

courts
Mandatory

Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation
TBI drug chemistry unit drug testing fund

39-17-439 Criminal
Drug offense 
conviction

$100.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute
Mandatory

Substance 
abuse 

prevention and 
treatment

State alcohol and drug addiction treatment fund

39-17-1352(g) Criminal
Reinstatement of 
handgun permit

$25.00 Statewide
Court with original 

jurisdiction
Mandatory

Courts and 
state 

department of 
safety

50% to state department of safety, 50% to court that 
suspended permit

40-3-204(b)(1) Criminal
Worthless check 

conviction

$5.00-$75.00 
depends on 

the amount of 
the check

Statewide
Not specified in 

statute
Mandatory N/A N/A

TACIR 81

DRAFT



Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

40-3-204(b)(2) Criminal  Forgery conviction

$5.00-$75.00 
depends on 

the amount of 
the forgery

Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory N/A N/A

40-3-204(b)(3) Criminal
Theft or computer 
fraud conviction

$75.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory N/A N/A

40-14-103 Criminal
Counsel appointed by 

court

$50.00 may be 
increased to 
$200.00 by 

court 

Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory N/A N/A

40-14-210(a)(1) Criminal
Counsel represents 
indigent defendant

$12.50
Davidson and 

Shelby counties
Courts handling 
criminal cases

Mandatory Courts
Representation and support services to indigent 

defendants in criminal proceedings

40-14-210(a)(2) and 
(3)

Criminal
Counsel represents 
indigent defendant

$12.50 Statewide
Courts handling 
criminal cases

Optional Courts
Representation and support services to indigent 

defendants in criminal proceedings

40-24-109(c) Criminal

Convictions (excludes 
crimes with a 

maximum punishment 
of less than $500 or 
motor vehicle law 

violations except DUI 
or reckless driving)

$45.00 Statewide

General sessions, 
municipal exercising 

general sessions 
court jurisdiction, 

circuit, and criminal 
courts

Mandatory if 
county has 

victims 
assistance 
program

Courts and 
victims 

assistance 
programs

$42.00 to victims assistance program, $3.00 to court 
clerk

40-25-107 Criminal

Driving under the 
influence or carrying 
a deadly weapon with 

the intent to be 
armed conviction

$5.00 Statewide
Circuit, criminal 

and general sessions 
courts

Mandatory County County expense fee

40-32-101(d) Criminal

Expungement of 
records after 

successful completion 
of pretrial diversion 

program 

$350.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory
Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation
Tennessee Bureau of Investigation
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

40-32-101(g)(10) Criminal
Expungement of 

records after 
conviction

$350.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory

Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation, 
courts, and 

state general 
fund

$50.00 to TBI; $10.00 to clerk and remainder will be 
split among the following: funds public defenders 

expungement fund (5%), district attorneys 
expungement fund(45%), and state general fund 

(50%)

40-35-313(a) Criminal Probation 
$10.00-$35.00 

per month 
Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Mandatory Probation Entity supervising probation

40-35-313(d) Criminal

Expungement of 
records after 

successful completion 
of post-trial diversion 

program 

$350.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory
Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation
Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

41-21-105 Criminal

Copies of 
indictments, 

judgment, and 
commitment papers 
sent to warden and 

department of 
corrections

$1.25 Statewide
Circuit and criminal 

courts
Mandatory N/A N/A

55-10-207(e)(1) Criminal

Electronic citation for 
traffic violation 
resulting in a 

conviction

$5.00 Statewide
Courts handling 
criminal matters 

Optional 
(expires five 
years after 

being 
approved by 

the local 
legislature)

Courts and local 
law 

enforcement 

$4 to law enforcement agency that issued citation 
for electronic citation system expenditures, $1 to 

the clerk for computer hardware expenses

55-10-413(a) Criminal
Ignition interlock fee 
for driving under the 
influence conviction

$40.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Mandatory N/A N/A

55-10-413(b) Criminal
Driving under the 

influence conviction
$5.00 Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Mandatory

Victims 
assistance 
programs

State impaired drivers trust fund

55-10-413(c) Criminal
Driving under the 

influence conviction
$100.00 Statewide

Not specified in 
statute

Mandatory

Substance 
abuse 

prevention and 
treatment

State alcohol and drug addiction treatment fund
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

55-10-413(d)(1) Criminal

Blood alcohol 
concentration test if 

test is taken for 
driving while 

intoxicated conviction

$17.50
Knox and 

Shelby counties
Various county 

courts
Mandatory

Testing 
laboratories

County law enforcement testing unit if a breath 
alcohol test used, publicly funded forensic 

laboratory if a blood alcohol test used

55-10-413(d)(2) Criminal

Blood alcohol 
concentration test if 

test is taken for 
driving while 

intoxicated conviction

up to $50.00
Davidson 
County

Various county 
courts

Mandatory
Testing 

laboratories

$17.50 to county law enforcement testing unit if a 
breath alcohol test used, $17.50 to publicly funded 

forensic laboratory if a blood alcohol test used, 
remainder to county general fund

55-10-413(e) Criminal

Blood alcohol 
concentration test if 

test is taken for 
driving while 

intoxicated conviction

up to $50.00
Hamilton 
County 

Not specified in 
statute Mandatory N/A N/A

55-10-413(f) Criminal

Blood alcohol or drug 
concentration test if 

test is taken for 
vehicular assault or 

homicide, possession 
of controlled 

substance, reckless 
driving, or driving 

under the influence 
conviction

$250.00 Statewide
Various county 

courts
Mandatory

Tennessee 
Bureau of 

Investigation

Tennessee Bureau of Investigation toxicology unit 
intoxicant testing fund 

55-10-413(g) Criminal

Blood alcohol or drug 
concentration test if 

sample is analyzed for 
vehicular assault or 

homicide, possession 
of controlled 

substance, reckless 
driving, or driving 

under the influence 
conviction

$100.00 Bradley County
Various county 

courts
Mandatory

Testing 
laboratories

Publicly funded forensic laboratory
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

66-5-108(e)(8) Civil
Filing complaint of 
claim of abandoned 

mineral interest
$30.00 Statewide Chancery courts Mandatory N/A N/A

69-9-219(c)(7) Criminal

Blood alcohol 
concentration test if 

test is taken for 
driving under the 
influence while 

boating conviction

$17.50 Statewide
Various county 

courts
Mandatory

Testing 
laboratories

County law enforcement testing unit if a breath 
testing unit,  publicly funded forensic laboratory if 

test was conducted by that laboratory

8-14-105(d)(1)&(2) Criminal

Public defender 
represents indigent 

defendant (defendant 
pays if he or she is 

able to pay)

Varies Statewide
Courts handling 

criminal and 
juvenile cases

Mandatory Courts Public defender pay

8-26-105 Criminal
Jailing misdemeanant 

prisoners
Varies Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Optional

Local law 
enforcement

Cost of housing misdemeanant prisoners

8-26-107 Criminal
Keeping witnesses in 

jail
Same as 

jailers' fee
Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Optional

Local law 
enforcement

Cost of housing witnesses

16-18-304(a) Both Municipal case

To be set by 
municipal 
legislative 

body

Statewide Municipal courts Mandatory Courts

$1.00 from fees shall be allocated to the 
Administrative Office of Courts for municipal judge 

and court clerk training, 50% of these funds 
dedicated to clerk training

8-21-401(b)(1)(A) Civil
Institution of civil 

case
$225.00 Statewide

Circuit and 
chancery courts 

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(b)(1)(B) Civil
Institution of divorce 

case

$200.00 if 
case involves 

minor children 
$125.00 if 

case does not 
minor children

Statewide
Circuit and 

chancery courts 
Mandatory Courts

$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 
of revenue not earmarked
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(b)(1)(C) Civil

                  
Filing of appeals to 

the circuit or 
chancery court from 
lower courts or an 

administrative 
hearing; writs of 

certiorari from lower 
courts; or 

administrative 
hearings

  transfers of cases 
from foreign 

counties;
 requests for writ of 

mandamus; 
condemnations and 

inverse 
condemnations; and

quo warranto 
proceedings

$150.00 Statewide
Circuit and 

chancery courts 
Mandatory Courts

$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 
of revenue not earmarked
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(b)(1)(D) Civil

Filing of adoptions, 
legitimations, 

paternity cases, 
restoration of 
citizenship, 

termination of 
parental rights, other 

domestic relations 
matters not otherwise 

designated, name 
changes, minor 
settlements, 

enforcement of 
foreign judgments, 
civil expungements 

where authorized by 
law, and orders of 

protection

$100.00 Statewide
Circuit and 

chancery courts
Mandatory Courts

$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 
of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(b)(1)( E) Civil
Child support 

commencement and 
modification

$75.00 Statewide
Circuit and 

chancery courts 
Mandatory Courts

$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 
of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(b)(1)( F) Civil
Filing delinquent 

property tax cases

$42.00 per 
parcel $100.00 

for each 
parcel judge 
orders to be 

sold

Statewide
Circuit and 

chancery courts 
Mandatory Courts

$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 
of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(b)(2) Civil
Cross-filings and 

counter complaints
$100.00 Statewide

Circuit and 
chancery courts

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(c)(1) Civil
Opening and closing 

an estate, other than 
a small estate

$230.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(c)(1)(A) Civil

Filing and docketing 
claims, giving notice, 
and filing release on 

each claim for a 
decedent's estate

$11.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(c)(1)(B) Civil

Filing exceptions to 
claims against 

estates, mailing 
notices, and entering 

order

$42.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(c)(2) Civil

Filing small estate 
affidavits and 

providing notice to 
the department of 

revenue

$41.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(c)(3) Civil

Filing a request for 
letters of 

guardianship and 
conservatorship

$160.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(c)(4) Civil

Filing a new request 
for removal of 
disabilities of 
minority, and 

incompetence, filing 
affidavits and 

entering orders; filing 
a new request to 

legitimate a person, 
change a name or 

correct a birth 
certificate and enter 
orders; filing a new 
request for habeas 
corpus, filing cost 

bond, issuing process 
and enter orders, not 
including sheriff's fee

$100.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware and 

remainder of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(c)(5) Civil
Filing requests under 
the mental health law $50.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(c)(6) Civil

Filing and docketing 
any request on an 

existing case, other 
than a request to 

close the case

$18.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(c)(7) Civil

Entering any order on 
an existing case, 

other than closing 
order

$12.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(c)(8) Civil

Issuing summons, 
subpoenas, citations, 

writs, and notices
$6.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(c)(9) Civil

Filing any document 
not otherwise 

provided  in probate 
court

$7.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(c)(10) Civil

Filing, reviewing, 
recording annual or 

interim settlement or 
accounting, and 
entering order 

approving settlement 
only

$40.00 Statewide

Courts 
administering 

estates, 
guardianships, 

conservatorships, 
and other probate 

matters

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(d)(1) Criminal
Institution of criminal 

case 
$300.00 per 
defendant

Statewide Courts of record Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(d)(2) Criminal

Proceedings related 
to a violation of 

probation, any post-
judgment actions, or 

expungements

$100.00 Statewide Courts of record Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(d)(3) Criminal
 Criminal contempt 

action
$75.00 Statewide Courts of record Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(e)(1) Both
Juvenile court 

proceeding
$100.00 Statewide

Courts handling 
juvenile cases

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(e)(2) Civil
Modification of child 
support in juvenile 

court
$75.00 Statewide

Courts handling 
juvenile cases

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(e)(3) Both

Juvenile traffic cases, 
consent orders, 
diversion and 
nonjudicial 

disposition of juvenile 
cases, voluntary 
motions to grant 

custody, marriage 
waivers, attachment 

pro corpus, and bench 
warrants

$42.00 Statewide
Courts handling 
juvenile cases

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(e)(4) Criminal

Restricted licenses, 
drug screenings, 
entering order of 
appeal and taking 

appeal bond, entering 
judgment from 
appellate court, 
entering order 

allowing rehearing, 
and special pleas 

$25.00 Statewide
Courts handling 
juvenile cases

Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(e)(5) Criminal

Delinquency and 
unruly cases, and 

felony and 
misdemeanor cases

$62.00 Statewide
Courts handling 
juvenile cases

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(f)(1) Civil Filing civil case $42.00 Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory Courts

$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 
of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(f)(1) Civil
Orders of protection 

in civil case
$100.00 Statewide

General sessions 
courts

Mandatory Courts
$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 

of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(g)(1) Criminal
Any conviction except 

traffic citation
$62.00 per 
defendant

Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory Courts

$2.00 earmarked for computer hardware, remainder 
of revenue not earmarked

8-21-401(g)(1) Criminal Traffic citation $42.00 Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(g)(2) Criminal Failure to appear $40.00 Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory N/A N/A
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criminal
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Geographic 
Area where 
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Collecting court
Mandatory 
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Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(g)(2) Criminal

Court issues an 
attachment, bench 
warrant, capias or 
other process to 

compel the 
defendant's 

attendance when 
defendant fails to 

appear or pay fines or 
costs

$40.00 in 
addition to 
the $40.00 
failure to 

appear fee

Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(g)(3) Criminal Calling in surety $40.00 Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(g)(4) Criminal

Request for bonding 
company release from 

final forfeiture or 
request to reinstate a 

drivers license

$75.00 Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(g)(5) Criminal
Expungement of 

records after 
conviction

$100.00 Statewide
General sessions 

courts
Mandatory N/A N/A

8-21-401(i)(1) Both
Standard post-

judgment 
$25.00 Statewide

General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(i)(2) Both
Issuing a subpoena or 

or subpoena duces 
tecum

$6.00 Statewide
General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(i)(3)(A) Both
Each requested 

continuance
$5.00 Statewide

General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(i)(3)(B) Both
Each requested 

continuance
$2.00 Statewide

General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional Courts

County general fund for security of the county's 
court facilities
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Statute 
Civil or 
criminal

Purpose  Amount
Geographic 
Area where 
Law Applies 

Collecting court
Mandatory 
or Optional

Earmark 
Category

Earmarks Detail

8-21-401(i)(4) Both

Making copies as 
requested, other than 
for an original filing 
and other than when 
preparing a record 

upon appeal

50 cents per 
page

Statewide
General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(i)(5) Both

Making certification 
and seal, providing a 
copy of an abstract, 
or providing driver 

license certification

$5.00 Statewide
General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(i)(6) Both

Receiving funds paid 
into court on 

confirmation of 
private sales or other 
funds paid into the 
clerk pursuant to 
court order and 

collecting and paying 
out the proceeds

$40.00 Statewide
General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(i)(11) Both

Preparing a record on 
appeal from a court 

of record to an 
appellate court

$300.00 Statewide
General sessions, 
juvenile, probate, 

circuit and chancery
Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(j)(2) Both Filing fee $2.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute
Mandatory Courts Computer hardware

8-21-401(o) Both

Annual subscription 
fee for each 

registered user of the 
electronic filing 

system

up to $300.00 
annually

Statewide

Courts where 
electronic filing, 

signing, or 
verification has 
been authorized

Optional N/A N/A

8-21-401(o) Both
Copy transaction fee 
for electronic filing 

system

up  to $5.00 
per filing and 
up to $50.00 

per case

Statewide

Courts where 
electronic filing, 

signing, or 
verification has 
been authorized

Optional N/A N/A
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8-21-901(a)(1)(A)(i) Both
Service of process in 

person
$40.00 Statewide Any court Optional N/A N/A

8-21-
901(a)(1)(A)(ii)

Both
Service of process by 

mail
$10.00 Statewide Any court Optional N/A N/A

8-21-
901(a)(1)(A)(iii)

Both
Service of process by 

acceptance or 
consent 

$10.00 Statewide Any court Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(1)(B) Both
Service of process for 

summoning jurors
$5.00 Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(1) (C) Both
Service of process 

issued by entity other 
than court

$10.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(1)(D) Both
Returning service of 

process because 
unable to deliver

$10.00-$40.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(2)(A) Both

Levy of an execution 
on property or an 

attachment or other 
process to seize 

property 

$40.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(2)(B) Civil

Collecting money to 
satisfy a judgment in 
civil cases each time 

collection is 
attempted

$20.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(3)(A) Criminal
Making arrests and 

transporting to place 
of incarceration 

$40.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(3)(B) Criminal

Citation in lieu of 
arrest or criminal 

warrant not involving 
physical custody of a 

defendant

$25.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A
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8-21-901(a)(3)(C) Criminal

Each bail bond to be 
paid as cost at the 

time there is a 
disposition of the 

case

$10.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(4)(A)(i) Both
Attending on grand 
jury or waiting in 

court

$75.00 per 
day

Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-
901(a)(4)(A)(ii)

Both
Attending on grand 
jury or waiting in 

court

$100.00 per 
day

Wilson County
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(4)(B) Both
Waiting with a 

sequestered jury
$100.00 per 

day
Statewide

Not specified in 
statute

Optional N/A N/A

8-21-901(a)(5) Both
Data processing 

services
$2.00 Statewide

Not specified in 
statute Optional

Local law 
enforcement

For computerization, information systems, and 
electronic records management costs of the sheriff's 

office

40-7-122 Criminal

Booking and 
processing of each 
person subject to 

arrest or summons, 
except for indigents 

(sheriff collects)

up to $10.00 Statewide
Not specified in 

statute Optional N/A N/A
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