



226 Capitol Boulevard Bldg., Suite 508 Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0760 Phone: (615) 741-3012 Fax: (615) 532-2443 www.tn.gov/tacir

MEMORANDUM

TO: Commission Members FROM: Jun Lynnisse Roehrich-Patrick Executive Director

DATE: 21 October 2015

SUBJECT: Broadband Internet Deployment, Availability, and Adoption in Tennessee—Panel Discussion

A panel of experts will provide information on the current status of broadband availability, deployment, and adoption in Tennessee, as part of the research process for the Commission's report on that topic. The commission report will include information about the extent and quality of coverage, factors that affect the cost of deploying broadband (including incentives to increase deployment), tax policy, and barriers to expansion (including pole attachment rates and governmental requirements) by public and private providers. It will also evaluate best practices in other states for increasing availability, deployment, and adoption, and it will recommend ways that Tennessee can increase access to broadband in the future.

There will be two panels, one representing the interests of broadband providers and the other the interests of users and the broader community.

On behalf of broadband providers:

- Levoy Knowles, executive director, Tennessee Telecommunications Association
- Daniel Hayes, public affairs director, AT&T, Tennessee
- John Farris, legal counsel, Tennessee Cable Telecommunications Association
- Ken Webb, president and CEO, Cleveland Utilities
- Ben Lovins, senior vice president, telecommunications division, Jackson Energy Authority
- Mike Knotts, director of government affairs, Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association

On behalf of communities and broadband users:

- Amy New, assistant commissioner of rural development, Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
- Cliff Lloyd, chief information officer, Tennessee Department of Education
- Steve Mallard, computer information technology master instructor, Tennessee College of Applied Technology at Shelbyville
- Sgt. Ehrin Ehlert, Tennessee Highway Patrol, Department of Safety and Homeland Security
- Shaun Lawson, mayor, Hickman County
- Rhedona Rose, executive vice president, Tennessee Farm Bureau