Agenda

Report Item: II. B.

2018 National ESEA Distinguished Schools Recognition

The Background:

The National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators (NAESPA) has been selecting examples of superior Title I schools from all states for national recognition since 1996. Each year, Tennessee selects two schools for recognition – one for excellence in serving special populations of students and one for exceptional student performance.

The schools recognized demonstrate a wide array of strengths, including team approaches to teaching and learning, focused professional development opportunities for staff, individualized programs for student success, and strong partnerships between the school, parents, and the community.

This year's schools were recognized at the NAESPA Conference in Kansas City, Missouri in January 2019. The two schools in Tennessee that have been recognized as National ESEA Distinguished School for 2018 are:

Andrew Johnson Elementary School

Principal Stacey Edwards 1001 Ormond Dr. Kingsport, TN 37664 Kingsport City Schools

This school is recognized for excellence in serving special populations of students.

Grassy Fork Elementary School

Principal Dr. Judy Webb 4120 Big Creek Rd, Hartford, TN 37753 Cocke County Schools

This school is recognized for exceptional student performance.

The Recommendation:

For information purposes only; no action required.