Agenda

Report Item: II. A.

The Background:

The U.S. Department of Education annually recognizes schools that demonstrate outstanding student achievement results. This prestigious program is the *Blue Ribbon Schools Program*.

Blue Ribbon Schools Recognition

Blue Ribbon Schools must be first nominated by the chief state school officer as eligible. The nominated schools must then successfully complete an intensive application process which is reviewed by the U.S. Department of Education.

The program identifies and disseminates knowledge about effective school leadership and instructional practices. The Award is both a high aspiration and a potent resource of practitioner knowledge. It is a symbol of educational excellence recognized by everyone from parents to policy-makers in thousands of communities.

Tennessee had three public schools recognized as Blue Ribbon Schools for 2013. These schools were recognized with the other national Blue Ribbon Schools for 2013 in Washington, D.C., in November 2013.

Tennessee's 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools are:

1. McFadden School of Excellence

221 Bridge Avenue Murfreesboro, TN 37129-3503 Principal: Dr. Clark Blair

School District: Rutherford County Schools

2. Meigs Middle Magnet School

713 Ramsey Street Nashville, TN 37206-4015

Principal: Dr. Samuel Underwood

School District: Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools

3. Thomas Magnet School

515 Tate Avenue Shelbyville, TN 37160-3288 Principal: Ms. Janice Womble

School District: Bedford County Schools

The Recommendation:

For information purposes only; no action required.