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Please find below, a brief overview of substantive updates the Department made to various tax
manuals. These updates are predominately based on new legislation and taxpayer questions or
issues, as well as opportunities for improved clarity or expanded guidance. Changes were not made
to every manual, only those outlined below.

Alcohol Tax Manual

Non-Alcoholic Beers

= Updated page 29 of the Alcohol Tax Manual to state that products or beverages that contain
less than 0.5% of alcohol by weight are not considered “beer” for Tennessee tax purposes.

To-Go Alcohol Sales

= Updated pages 56-57 of the Alcohol Tax Manual to remove the section on to-go alcohol
sales. Public Chapter 451 (2021) allowed properly licensed restaurants, limited-service
restaurants, or wine-only restaurants to offer to-go alcoholic beverages and beer for
consumption off the premises under certain circumstances. This law was repealed, effective
July 1, 2023.

Business Tax Manual

Determining Whether a Taxpayer Meets the $100,000 Threshold

= Updated pages 11 and 19 of the Business Tax Manual to inform taxpayers to use the
amount on Schedule A, Line 1: Total Gross Sales to determine whether a taxpayer meets the
$100,000 threshold.

Eisai v. Gerregano

= Updated the wholesaler-to-wholesaler sales section in Chapter 5 to provide a discussion of a
recent court case, Eisai v. Gerregano.

Remote Employee Home Offices

= Updated Chapter 2 to state that generally - remote employee home offices do not constitute
physical business locations for municipal-level business tax purposes. But compensation
paid to in-state employees must be included when determining if an out-of-state business
has substantial nexus in Tennessee.
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Exempt Sales of Services

= Updated Chapter 8 of the Business Tax Manual to clarify that the Standard Industrial
Classification Index of 1972 (“SIC Index") provides definitions of business activities that are
taxable and business activities that are exempt under the Tennessee Code. The definitions
of the 16 types of services provided in the SIC Index should be used to determine whether a
business's activities qualify as exempt under the Tennessee Code.

County Clerk Sales and Use Tax Manual for Automobiles &
Boats

Relocating to Tennessee

= Updated page 15 to clarify that automobiles and personal effects imported into Tennessee
by new residents relocating from another state or another country are exempt from use tax
under Tenn. Code Ann. 8§ 67-6-210(b).

Farmers, Nursery Operators, and Timber Harvesters Tax
Manual

Address Change and Certificate Renewal

= Updated Chapter 3 to explain that the agricultural exemption must be renewed every four
years and before the Department will renew a certificate, qualifying farmers, nursery
operators, and timber harvesters must verify they still qualify for the exemption. The update
includes a link to the Department’s verification/renewal instructions.

Franchise and Excise Tax Manual

Tennessee Works Tax Act

= Updated the guidance regarding the new, optional apportionment election on pages 24, 184,
362, 561, and 564 to clarify that a taxpayer must look to Schedule ] to determine whether it
has net earnings for purposes of this election.

= Updated pages 184, 187, 362, 561, and 564 to provide guidance regarding the
implementation of apportionment Schedules N1, 170NC1, and 174NC1, which pertain to the
optional apportionment election.

= Updated the apportionment reference charts that begin on page 448 - primarily to reflect
the new apportionment schedules that have been implemented for “qualified
member”/telecom taxpayers and for taxpayers making the optional apportionment election.
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= Updated page 570 to provide notice to captive REIT taxpayers that, for tax years ending on
or after December 31, 2023, these taxpayers will complete both Schedules N and N1 on
Form FAE174 for franchise and excise tax standard apportionment purposes, respectively.

FONCE Exemption

= Updated the guidance regarding the passive investment income test on pages 40 and 41 to
clarify that a taxpayer must include receipts derived from non-passive sources (as defined in
the manual) on a gross basis, rather than a net basis.

Job Tax Credit

= Updated page 491 to clarify that a taxpayer must qualify for the qualified headquarters
facility sales tax credit in order to qualify for the additional annual job tax credit for higher
level investments at the $10 million investment/100 jobs tier.

Sales and Use Tax Manual

Tennessee Works Tax Act

= Provided a high-level overview of the sales and use tax provisions included in the Tennessee
Works Tax Act. The provisions are not effective until July 1, 2024.

Relocating to Tennessee

= Updated page 82 to clarify that automobiles and personal effects imported into Tennessee
by new residents relocating from another state or another country are exempt from use tax
under Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-210(b).

Marketplace Facilitator

= Updated sourcing provisions for physical marketplaces.
Restocking Fees
= Addressed the taxation of dealer restocking fees.

Artwork Used in Advertising Materials

= Added a new section in Chapter 5 to explain the taxability of preliminary and final artwork
used in advertising materials.

Made-to-Order Sales
= Added a new section to Chapter 5 to address made-to-order sales under sales tax rule 41.

Sale for Resale

= Updated page 25 to reiterate that resale certificates are automatically issued to retailers
upon applying for a sales and use tax account.
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