

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Dealer's Compressed Natural Gas Tax Return

PET 386	Filing Period Account Number	Due Date FEIN/SSN		Check if applicable: Amended return		
Legal Name				Taxpayers should submit their return and payment from Line 7 by visiting the Department's website at		
Mailing Address						
City St		State	ZIP Code	https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices.		

Note: A diesel gallon equivalent of five and sixty-six one-hundredths pounds (5.66 lbs.) per gallon should be used.

1. Total gallons of product available for sale (see instructions)	(1)
2. Total gallons sold and placed into vehicles (see instructions)	(2)
3. Tax due (multiply Line 2 by applicable rate)	(3)
4. Credit memo balance	(4)
5. Penalty (see instructions)	(5)
6. Interest (see instructions)	(6)

Tax Rate Table	Tax Rate Prior to	Tax Rate	Tax Rate	Tax Rate
	07/01/17	07/01/17 - 06/30/18	07/01/18 - 06/30/19	06/30/19
Compressed Natural Gas Tax Rate	\$0.13	\$0.16	\$0.18	\$0.21

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this report, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.						
Taxpayer's Signature	Date	Title				
Tax Preparer's Signature	Preparer's PTIN	Date		Telephone		
Preparer's Address	City	City		ZIP Code		
Preparer's Email Address						

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY



INSTRUCTIONS: Dealer's Compressed Natural Gas Tax Return

A dealer who delivers compressed natural gas into a vehicle is required by Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-3-1119 and Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-3-1120 to obtain a dealer's permit and to file a monthly return and remit the taxes on or before the twenty-fifth day of the month following the month of activity.

Complete the information at the top of the return including filing period, account number, FEIN/SSN, legal name and mailing address.

A diesel gallon equivalent of five and sixty-six one-hundredths pounds (5.66 lbs.) per gallon should be used. Gallons should be rounded to the nearest gallon.

Taxpayers should submit online their fully completed return, along with the amount from Line 7, by visiting the Department's website at <u>https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices</u>. Alternatively, they may mail the return and payment to the address below. Checks should be made out to the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

Tennessee Department of Revenue Andrew Jackson State Office Building 500 Deaderick Street Nashville, TN 37242

If this is an amended return, please indicate "Filing Period" and check the appropriate box on the front of this return.

Calculation of Tax

- Line 1: Total gallons of product available. Add the total of prior month's ending inventory plus all receipts of compressed natural gas received during the reporting period.
- Line 2: Total gallons sold and placed into vehicles on which the Tennessee compressed natural gas tax must be collected and remitted. Enter the total number of gallons delivered into a licensed vehicle during the reporting period.
- Line 3: Tax Due. Multiply Line 2 by the compressed natural gas tax rate (see tax rate table below.)
- Line 4: Credit memo balance. If your account has a credit balance from an overpayment on a prior return, enter the amount on this line.
- Line 5: Penalty. If filed late, compute penalty at **5%** of the tax due (Line 3 minus Line 4) for each 30 day period or portion thereof for which the tax is delinquent, up to a maximum of **25%** of the delinquent amount. The minimum penalty is **\$15** for the delinquent filing of a return
- Line 6: Interest. Interest is due on any amount of tax that is paid after the statutory due date of the return. The interest rate is determined in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-801. The current interest rate can be found at <u>www.tn.gov/revenue</u>. If the payment is late, apply the interest rate to the total tax due (Line 4 minus Line 5).
- Line 7: Total amount due. Add Lines 3, 5, and 6; subtract Line 4.

Tax Rate Table	Tax Rate Prior to	Tax Rate	Tax Rate	Tax Rate
	07/01/17	07/01/17 - 06/30/18	07/01/18 - 06/30/19	06/30/19
Compressed Natural Gas Tax Rate	\$0.13	\$0.16	\$0.18	\$0.21